You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Collecting Cast Iron Cookware.

in #cooking7 years ago

Fantastic video. I got my first cast iron pan at an antique store, brought it home and re-seasoned it and it is fantastic. From that day on, we were hooked on cast iron cookwear! Turns out it is one with the ridge on the handle as you show in the video. It's been a fantastic pan and I use it mostly in the oven these days. My only complaint was that it is heavy so a few years ago, my husband found a new cast iron skillet made by Starfrit. He bought it not being sure about it because of the name and it's association with teflon pans but it is AWESOME! It cooks as well as the heavier cast iron, wipes clean and is so much lighter to handle. It's my "go to" skillet unless I am oven roasting.

One other advantage of cast iron that has been awesome for me, is that I am a frequent blood donor here in Canada where we do it for free :) Every few months I have my iron level checked before a donation and my iron count is always fantastic. Surprises the clinic worker that a woman has such a great iron count. I attribute this to my use of cast iron cookwear.

When cooking something acidic like tomato sauces, a tiny bit or the iron is leached out of the pan and becomes available for the body. At least that's my answer for why someone who eats very little red meat and doesn't overload on green veggies is able to keep her iron count so high naturally.

PS - I also have one of those ridged cast iron pans but because it's so hard to clean we rarely use it. Steaks are good cooked in it but the BBQ grill is so much easier :)

Thanks for an awesome post and video. I'm following!

Sort:  

Followed you back, I never ever thought about iron and cast iron!!! Thanks so much for the information!!! We've been looking at Chromium because they tell me I'm borderline type 2 diabetic. Turns out just 200 micro-grams of chromium (About 2 ten thousandths the weight of a small paperclip) per day can cure type 2 diabetes in some people. I'm sure it wouldn't take much iron from your pans to make a difference.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64535.04
ETH 3462.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49