Grandpa Gotta Cook—Steak And Eggs with Fruit

in #cooking6 years ago

Sometimes A Man Has A Hankerin'

A hankerin' for steak. Steak that's prime and juicy. Not so cooked it looks like the remains of a volunteer fire department's burn-to-learn, but not so raw that it still moos and kicks you in the teeth (what's left of 'em). Somewhere in between, I reckon, is where that cooked meat should be.

Having paid no heed to this hankerin' for days, I finally set out on a quest to appease this craving of mine, by going where I always go to find meat—the freezer. In it, I found an assortment of steaks—T-bone, flat steak, and this:

Steak and Pepper.JPG

Steaks with some black pepper and salt, sizzling in a proper skillet.

Prime USDA choice steaks, ready to go. There's four adult mouths to feed around here, so I reckoned I couldn't go wrong with these beauties.

And I was right. Riding out on the dusty trail, herdin' dogies, you get a sense for this kind of thing.

Now, there's an unwritten law when it comes to cookin'. It's not quite like the Code of the West, but nonetheless, this unwritten law must be obeyed. It's the way. And what is the way? If Grandpa's cooking, find the way to incorporate the following ingredients:

Sliced vegetables.JPG

Orange bell pepper, tomatoes, a touch of onion, and mushrooms.

I don't know why it's an unwritten law, it just is. I try not to ask myself why. It gets in the way of the do. Us trail riders are men of action. We leave the worryin' and the whyin' to the townsfolk.

Now, there's many things that go with steak, if done right. Potatoes for one. You can fry 'em, you can bake 'em, you can mash 'em, and you can hash brown 'em. In my head, I'd fully intended to include some kind of potato, but then, someone else stepped in, put their foot down, and demanded something else be included:

The wife.

What did she want? This:

Fruit.JPG

Strawberries, apples, mango, grapes, cantaloupe and pineapple.

Fruit. Now, a real man doesn't mind the sweet taste of a berry here and there, or maybe even a ripe apple plucked fresh from the perturbed farmer's tree, but six bowls plum brimmin' with all kinds of fruit? No sir. That's enough to churn even the most cast ironed belly.

Unfortunately, what the little missus wants, the little missus gets. And since she did all the cuttin' I reckoned no harm done.

Back to the man cookin'.

Aside from the steak and the tasty fixin's, I'd also been hankerin' for another trail riders' trusty dusty companion—fried eggs:

Fried eggs.JPG

Sizzling eggs on an open glass stove top, rife with bacon grease.

A man's got to live on the edge sometimes. Nothin' edgy about fried eggs you say? Well, this t'weren't no mamby pamby continental breakfast barfay I was preparin'. No sir. This was a man's breakfast, for dinner. There's a difference. A big one. If you can't see it, you might need some of them readin' spectacles they sell at the five and dime.

There was one more ingredient that was going to make this manliest of meals complete. And it wasn't going to be more fruit, or yogurt, or whatever else the wife could conjure up. It was going to be bacon.

Bacon and Steak sizzling.JPG

Strips of bacon popping in its own grease, along with pan-seared steak. And bacon.

This was going to be the winning culinary trifecta—steak and eggs with bacon. Yessiree, the combination of heart stoppin', cholesterol cloggiin' artery burstin' ingredients that would make the taste buds dance like summer rain on the thirsty prairie and the stomach sing like a coyote round the campfire.

There was just the matter of the vegetables to get going:

Simmering vegetables.JPG

More fryin'. More sizzlin'.

And this trail rider's dinner delight would be done. As in done did done.

Just a few more things to round out this meal. I believe in the fancy vernacular, they refer to it as garnishment. I call it, stuff I like to eat.

Final dish.JPG

Some dabs of sour cream (to content the little missus) and a few slices of avocado, and the man's man dinner was complete.

This all happened last Sunday night, after spending most of the day contemplating the beauty of the universe, and what I was going to cook.In the end, the hankerin' would not be denied. I'd been wanting steak for days. And I finally got it.

Author's note: Unlike other attempts at meals, this one went off without a hitch. Half, post, or in my git-along.

All images by Glen A. Albrethsen on an iPhone 6s

Sort:  

This post made me smile...and hungry. I thought I was beginning to understand your wife a bit, but this fruit business has thrown me for a loop. For the love of Pete, I thought she was a normal woman! :)

I love the 'hick' persona you wrote this one with Glen; very amusing :)

I'm glad that others are finding it appetizing, too. I'm not sure how much of a hit it was at home. No one really said on their own. It seems forced if I have to interrogate them on it. However, I thoroughly enjoyed it, so whatever. I did ask everyone what they wanted and didn't really get any answers. "Oh, I'll eat whatever." You might eat it, but are you going to enjoy it?

I'm not sure exactly what I was going for with the narratiion, other than with the trail rider references, which made me think of @themanwithnoname. I thought he might like this. :)

Speaking of which, I haven't seen him around in a while. Do you know if he said anything about stepping away or anything? He was kind of out of sorts (for him) the few days before that, as in Steemit overload, so I'm hoping he's enjoying himself instead of done with this place, or dealing with life.

If you're cooking for your family and that's the response you get, I'd be putting a raw potato on their next breakfast plate :)

Funny you mention @themanwithnoname; I've been wondering about him for a few days and actually haven't heard a peep since his qurator post. I'm going to private message him on Discord and see that he's ok.

You called? :)

Remember, if you use the summoning device too often, you're going to break it! It's not magic... wait, yes it is. Carry on!

You came! sigh :)

I just figured you show back up when you wanted to. I'm glad she actually called you, though. It's nice to see you. Glad you're still in one piece. After the gun battle at the qurator corral, I thought maybe you'd been winged for real. :)

It's happened more than a few times now. Like the last four or so. I've made stuffed hamburgers, spaghetti, American tostadas and now the steak and eggs. All four, meh. Now, admittedly, I've probably surpassed myself with earlier versions of the hamburger and spaghetti, and the American tostadas weren't really much more than a variation of American tacos or taco salad, but the steak and eggs were actually really good.

I think it's time for dad to retire from making dinner, personally, but that's not likely to happen.

Okay, so I wasn't the only one who hadn't seen him around. Oh, wait! That's him! I guess that Discord doohickey really works.

Those look really good, man! I just ate some baked tacos, but I could go for some of that steak and bacon too! That's great inspiration. :)

Sorry I haven't been around. @lynncoyle1 hit me up and said you were wondering if I slipped on my tacos and ended up in the hospital. Just kidding. I stepped back for a bit, but should be back soon! I should have given y'all a heads up, so I'm sorry. I'll make more tacos as penance. :D

In the meantime, enjoy some benefits of automation every time you post. :D If I hit 100, I'm counting on you to help me out. Maybe write a post on turtles... or the mighty dung beetle. I liker turtles better though. Maybe that. ;)

@glenalbrethsen! He heard our mournful cries :)

I've gotta run...working on a really cool posts about turtles eating dung beetles. Riveting stuff!

Thanks for making an appearance buddy; it means a lot :) Be well!

I've been noticing the automation. Ginabot dings almost faster than Steemit can show me the post published! That's actually pretty impressive. And rather trusting of you that I haven't really turned to the dark side with all this power I wield and gone on a spamming spree in your absence.

Sigh.

I'm glad you didn't slip on your tacos. I did decree on the Asher's last league update post (Sunday) that we should all go celebrate our rankings by eating Mexican food. So, I'm glad you're doing more of that, but do you have photographic evidence? That's the next step.

Well, I figured you were stepping back, which is a good thing. It's happened to me twice. I've been having too much fun since joining the league and now I'm just busy trying to keep up with the 'comment crew', let alone stay ahead, that I'm actually in a better place for it, despite the multiple ongoing piles of fallout happening all over this site.

I hope you're getting your cowboy zen back. I for one sorely miss it. :)

Oh, wait. I missed this last part. Who's supposed to do what? Lynn's already writing a turtle/dung beetle expose, apparently. What 100 are you maybe going to hit? 100 votes? 100 posts? 100 years old? 100 dalmatians? You really shouldn't hit dogs. And what happened to the other one? :)

That's a nice meal, it got me salivating. I can see how great you are in cooking. Nice post

It was pretty tasty and satisfying if I do say so myself. The images have me salivating all over again, too.

As for the greatness of my cooking, I wouldn't go that far. I do it to avoid a mutiny, mostly, although I don't really mind doing it. It's just time and some imagination, if I had my ruthers, I'd spend on other things.

It gives me something to put up here, too, so that's fine, and I do have my moments. As far as I'm concerned, this is one of them. :)

It's nice, I love guys that know their way around the kitchen.

Hey Glen, this is totally unrelated but my friend is running a contest here and is asking for help. If you're interested in reading some of the entries and upvoting those you like, that would be awesome. And the winning is based on the amount of upvotes that an entry receives, so you don't have to give 100% at all. Here's the link if you have the time and/or interest :)

I'll take a look. I could stand to have some posts that are close together. I can get pretty picky though. :)

That's what I'm counting on! Thank you :)

You've sufficiently excited my appetite for lunch.

May I suggest exploded potatoes? We chanced upon them last week by accident. You bake a potato until it explodes.

True story.

Good work on frying with grease!

That's bizarre. I was boiling some eggs one time and fell asleep. I woke up to what at first I thought was gunfire. I didn't realize eggs would explode when the pot boils dry! What a mess haha on the ceiling, cabinets... ...

How did I miss this comment? More exploding food no less! Man, I've been truly missing out.

That's what happens when the wife is the one who does most of the cooking and runs her kitchen like a battleship captain. You'd know about them, right. Tight ship and all? Okay. I'll stop. :)

That sounds hilarious, until the cleanup part. Then, not so funny.

Exploded potatoes? That's AWESOME!!

I was actually hoping for mashed potatoes that were either baked with some cheddar cheese on top (then you could add sour cream and so forth), or mashed and then fried, but not too much. Just to give the outside maybe a little crunch. Anyway, it turned out we had more than enough food and the potato preparation would have added more time and pans. Need a commercial stove with more burners!

Steak, eggs and bacon! That is a real man's meal! Well you gotta do what the little missus wants haha

I so enjoyed this one.

It kind of wrote itself. And it probably shows, since I don't know how consistent I kept the whole cowboy/trail rider theme going, but whatever. That's what came out on this one, so that's what I went with. You also got a pretty look at what I consider to be humor. It's not for everyone. I've learned that the hard way. :)

What about clove hitches? That probably means something different now though. Things aren't like they were when I was tying knots. :/

Based on the Google search I just conducted, it appears that at least it thinks Clove Hitches are still a knot. I knew there were more hitches, but I wasn't trying to remember and list them all, so you know, kind of rode it out to the logical end of the gag. You know. The bit.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 04:38:53
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 43.40/100.00
Total Photos: 8
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61081.38
ETH 2930.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70