Squash Sunday. Pumpkin and spaghetti winter squashes.

in #cooking6 years ago

20180121_211913.jpg

Mr.@jbcoin is my inspiration for todays vegetable adventures with his recent bean blog. These squash have been sitting around doing nothing for months, it's high time I took care of them. The pumpkins are easy enough to deal with, they'll get cooked and frozen in 2 cup portions to make pancakes with whenever I want.

20180121_211830.jpg

This one however I'm not so sure about. It was planted from a spaghetti squash seed and instead of ripining to a beautiful yellow colour it has turned almost as orange as a pumpkin. You can see it on the vine still in one of my earlier blogs here

20180121_102952.jpg

See the difference between a regular old spaghetti squash on the left and the pumpkin on the right. So what do I do with these?(there are 3 in total-see first pic) Will they be just like a spaghetti, or like a pumpkin?

The little guy on the left was boiled tonight with potatoes and mashed up for dinner. It was fantastic. I think @tanglebranch gave it to me.

20180121_211807.jpg

Ok on to the pumpkins, these did come from @tanglebranh acres. Chop them up and cook until soft. The skin comes off very easily once cooked.

20180121_211750.jpg

Make sure all of the extras go into the compost if you're not using any of it.

20180121_211734.jpg

Once they've cooled a bit and are draind of any excess moisture you just mash them up and measure out your desired portions. I do 2 cup portions so I can doube my pancke batches on Sunday mornings.

20180121_211709.jpg

So what do I do with the orange spaghetti squashes? No really I don't know, has anyone seen this before? What do they taste like?

DQmPx2rVFZnkZ5CkSetxgnxh7TvjLoKapKEbMpc5Hdzti6S_1680x8400.png
Interested in #thealliance? Find out more in our discord chat

DQmYwzBeLvECTuPXdcvESQYeCewjXYKqAZfCn4rB87Zm6Gy_1680x8400.png

DQmZ3MaPcmTgfe9awXtYfyRHsBQkZknPWK413TFNoNLarTn_1680x8400.png

As always my trusty old Samsung Galaxy S6 took all of these photos.

Sort:  

Soup! Put the spaghetti squash into soup. It will dissolve into orange goodness. Pepper, ginger, some root veggies, some herbs, and bang! You're good to go.

First time I've seen it mashed up with the skins. Probably good for you too. Does it soften up enough to blend in?

I believe he said it was bouled with the skins... Then removed before mashing!! XD

Soup is a great idea, I do enjoy pumpkin soup. Usually we cut a spaghetti in half and bake it with pasta sauce and cheese-yummilicious.
The pumpkin skins were removed after cooking, but I think they are quite healthy though.
Thanks so much for stopping in.

Great post @edthecanadian and what a great idea! i will be doing this next year with my leftover pumpkin , it will last all winter ! upped and resteemed !😀👍😋🎃

Thanks karen, theres so many great uses for pumpkin, some I have yet to explore even!

Are you guys neighbors? You and tanglebranch I mean

She is about 2 hours away from me, my brother married her!

Also upped and resteemed to share with my foodie followers in my @momskitchen blog !🎃😋😀👍

Plenty of vegetable goodness to be enjoyed. I have no idea about the squashes - funny colour though!
c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

Yeah that colour! I just hope it doesn't taste weird.

#edthemasterchef
Awesome post. I am so very inspired to follow your footsteps.
Pumpkin puree can also be used to make sweet dishes too !!!
Thanks, Ed...for sharing such brilliant post.

You could also use the left overs as fertilizer for new plants!!! Just a thought.. banana peels amd coffee grounds work great too!!

Yes'm everything plant based goes into our compost bin. I'll show it off when the snow melts.

Yummy post! I love soup, so I have to agree with the soup idea. You can make cream soup out of just any kind of pumpkin or squash, with a few herbs and spices thrown in to change the flavor!

The soup is getting a lot of support, may just do that. Thanks.

You don’t even need a recipe for soup! Make it up as you go along! 😊

Since switching our diet we eat alot of spaghetti squash so yummy!! Great post!

It is nice. Do you grow any of your food?

Some things inside in tge winter and alot outside in summer

Sweet, I can't wait to get in my garden again. Stay warm skye¤¤¤

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57883.59
ETH 3070.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34