Winter is coming. Ed's fall garden roundup with a surprise.

in #gardening7 years ago

There's been some very cool night's lately with frost warnings. So far in the city we've evaded the frost, but my brother on the farm had some almost 2 weeks ago.

Well back to work I guess for this lazy gardener. I've picked all of the tomatoes and pulled the plants out already.

20170916_185750.jpg

I can't remember the variety of this spinach, but it's been producing very well and hasn't gone to seed in the summer heat. Here I've thinned it out a bit and pulled out some of the leaves that my wife won't go near because of bug bites or discoloring.

20170917_143554.jpg

Here is some spinach I planted about 2 weeks ago. Its just an experiment to see what I can grow in September.

20170918_204727.jpg

One little zucchini still growing slowly, I'll leave it as long as I can chance the frost.

20170918_204427.jpg

One little yellow zucchini is still holding on as well.

20170918_204449.jpg

Now onto cleaning up the raspberry patch. Basically all I've done here is cut out the old woody stalks.

20170917_111635.jpg

20170918_204536.jpg

They're still producing berries into September!

20170918_204606.jpg

Now heres the surprise, my spaghetti squash plant that I thought was not making any fruit was hiding it all in the raspberries.

20170918_204643.jpg

There's three of them hiding in here.

20170918_204624.jpg

These were planted from seeds that I kept out of one of last years sauashes(I found it in the back of the pantry this spring and some of the seeds were already germinated inside).

20170918_204710.jpg

Is this one turning orange!? What kind of mutant spaghetti pumpkin sauash have I grown?
I'm kind of excited to see what these turn into now.
Maybe I can make a pumpkin spaghetti pie?

20170918_204402.jpg

How are your winter preparations going? Did your garden perform well this year? Any surprises?

DQmUt5cytksZR4aFgKb7bxxVcKwhGCeN8QQ5RsiRHsFQdmp.png

DQmdMYYPi1ktuYQmZv3nw33rRkQcg5HCdvWTuGJxDd45bWV_1680x8400.png

This has been another gardening adventure with @edthecanadian 🇨🇦

Sort:  

sneaky-ninja-sword-small.jpg
Sneaky Ninja attack!
You have been defended!

3.89...

To help keep my Jōki (蒸気) power strong, I rely on the support of my fellow #thealliance brethren.

When able, please upvote my attacks so that I may stay mighty and continue to defend and protect our beloved team!

woosh

Good for you @edthecanadian love the squash. I am leaving mine till as long as I can. I am still picking green beans, and left my tomatoes till another week i would think. Thanks

Thanks for stopping in, I wish I my beans had done something this year-oh well. I hope all is well with you😁

This post has been resteemed by @msp-canada courtesy of @goldenarms from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

This post received a 20% vote by @msp-canada courtesy of @goldenarms from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Good post showing benefits of hardwork and ensuring you ready for next season of winter... @edthecanadian you did great sharing this.... Keep it up

Hi, thanks for the kind words.

Welcome and do find time to check my blog posts 😋

What a nice garden you have @edthecanadian :). Keep homesteading with awesomeness..

Well, thanks alot-I appreciate it!

its nice to have yourself a garden :) what temperature is right now in your place now? just want to compare to eastern europe.

Hi, well yesterday's High was 21°C and right now as I'm waking up it is 12°C. The last week has dipped down to 2to5°C each night.

This post has received a 0.63 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

berries look great, I was wondering what the zucchini looking thing was...You must be like me plant things and then forget what they are! LOL Great post fellow #thealliance member!
Blessings for a warm winter, at least inside your home!
Melissa from Florida!

Is it the yellow zucchini your looking at?

The big one that you found the seeds in the cabinet for. :)

Thats supposed to be a spaghetti squash. They usually rippen a pale yellow, for some reason it's turning orange!

:) it is special!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16