Jbcoin's 2 Cents: Prepping, Silver, and Community - Friday Night Post

in #steemsilvergold7 years ago (edited)

20170806_214921.jpg

I sit here tonight, thinking. What can I add of any value to the group this evening. I haven't picked up any silver (ok I lied, thanks @underground for the Silver GAW contest).

Originally I thought..."Nothing, that's what I have tonight, nothing".

You know what I am up to? Im sorting soup beans to soak overnight, for tomorrow's dinner with the family.

1516418581871280573313.jpg

Why am I "sorting" soup beans? Well if you have never made them, the most obvious reason is so no one bites down on a small rock (yep)..also some are just broken or generally shitty.

For me, this is therapudic. It's like mowing grass for some people, or like my neurotic buddy at work that sorts screws in his garage when he is stressing a work problem.

It's simple work. It helps you think.

One thing that has crossed my mind during my soup bean sorting therapy tonight. That all of us at #steemsilvergold and #thealliance seem to be very similar. Other than the common thread of silver.

We are good people, we give our silver to others to get them started, we save and plan for the futures of our families, we prep for the unknown or unexpected.

We generally don't give a fuck what other people think about our silver stacking. We prep food, or gold, or silver, or supplies to be prepared. It doesn't matter if we are Americans, or Canadians, or Welsh. These type of values bind us together. Out of the millions of people in the world, we still find each other, to network, to help, and to share ideas and laughs.

As Governments try to find reasons to divide people or countries, "real people" find a way to come together and do what's right to help each other to grow.

It is just amazing to me, because I guess that I haven't really ever just stepped back and realized how similar everyone in our group is, other than the common silver theme.

Why do you stack silver or gold? Do you hope to have a giant stack to sit on one day and become a miser?

No, you do it for security, for insuring the finances of the family and kids when you check out someday, for peace of mind that you are prepared for emergencies or the unknown.

Our group isn't a bunch of sissies who sit back and hope that trouble doesn't hit us where it hurts. We are optimists, who know enough to prepare and "cut our own way"....not be victims of whatever our environment decides to throw at us today.

I sort these soup beans tonight, not because I have to....I could go out for a nice dinner tomorrow. I do it because my mom and my grandma did it. They grew up dirt poor, but they knew the value of family, good times together, and having each other's backs no matter what.

They knew the value of storing away what you have today, to get you through the hard months. Store away what you can now. Whether it's Steem, Silver, or Gold.

I care about everyone in this community and I honestly believe that you can never have too many friends and never be too prepared.

JB

The Aaron Lewis song below has everything but the silver, he almost got it:

U5dr61qgo3LQQKgjUH2XXMso4x6Xd7a_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

@jbcoin Yes silver is why #steemsilvergold boys and gals will continue to get stronger on STEEMIT and we are here to Lead the Way.

Nice reflection of thoughts as the USSA is about to Shutdown, life will go on as our useless politicians fight about dreamers and how we will be trillions more in debt. Our lives will go on and each day that goes by, the PEOPLE will understand how useless the government really is......Glad we have a forum to discuss freely..... Keep stacking for freedom and liberty

Aw, fairly drunk but I liked your post. As an outsider, its kinda represents the mentality of metal holders... that made be want to be a metal holder. Thanks. <3

Those look so much easier than the lentils we sort through! Its a good feeling getting down to the basics of your food.

Oh..lentils are rough...yes...but good! Im going to put some fire to these tomorrow after they soak all night, and add in some ham bones and ham broth. The wood smoke makes it all good. We have a little break from the low temps and I can't wait to get a fire going in the camp.

Oooohh sounds gooood.

Beans beans the magical fruit...

Well said, JB

love that Aaron Lewis track!

I've always thought the '3Bs' should be 4....'beans, bullets, band-aids & bullion!"

I'm surrounded by nurses haha. We got the band-aids and pain meds covered!

Mom, wife, daughter, friends, ssg members, neighbor....nurses everywhere!!🤕

nurses never hurt! Got 1 in the fam along with a FF/EMT

Nice jb! I couldn't figure out went you had to sort the beans but now it makes sense lol

Lol..I have a friend that has maybe 50 pounds of them stored away. We were laughing the other day, when he said that he would have to give someone all his silver dollars to cook them for him, if shtf 😁

We eat alot of beans and lentils as weonly eat whole foods. Great post!

That is a good thing @skye! I wish i had the time to always cook and eat better, whole foods and fresh. I fit a lot of rice in everywhere and sometimes oats. It's tough when you work long hours and commute more than 2 hrs per day.
I tear it up on the weekend though Haha! I love to cook for others 😁

keep on steeming and sorting beans. At first glance I thought you had wrote you were snorting beans and I had to re read that... LOL

Haha....that might be painful the next day!

it could possibly be painful.. haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56554.08
ETH 2343.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41