Healthy Eats on a Budget! | Hearty Humus and Veggie Wafers

in #cooking6 years ago (edited)

DSC_0231 (2).jpg

Good day my Steemian food friends!


Want to eat healthy but not spend a fortune? Having guests over and need a special appetizer? Perhaps a healthy after school snack for the kids?


Then you’ve stopped at the right place!

Today I would love to show you how you can make a healthy, hearty treat so easily you’ll be amazed!
todaysjourney.jpg

Hearty Humus and Veggie Wafers


First we’ll make the wafers! The vegetable and fruit combinations are endless! And for me, the cost is next to ZERO. Yes, you heard right! The base for these crackers is none other than my favorite juice pulp! I know, I know…many of you don’t juice, but you can always shred your own or buy shredded veggies. The juice content will be higher but with longer baking or dehydration you will achieve the same result!


I used

Wafers

  • Juice Pulp ( 2/3 cups) Cost- zero- it’s repurposed!
  • Flax Seed (3 tablespoon)
  • Chia Seeds (2 tablespoons)
  • Pumpkin Seeds (2 tablespoons)
  • Garlic Powder (1/4 teaspoon)
  • Sea Salt (1/2 teaspoon)
  • Paprika (1 teaspoon)
  • Fresh Lemon Juice (1 teaspoon)
  • Filtered water (3/4 cup)

Blend all ingredients together in your favorite blender. Feel free to use fresh garlic cloves, I didn’t have any on hand when I made these so I used Garlic Powder. Oh, and I added the water gradually until everything was fully incorporated.


DSC_0022 (2).jpg


Isn’t it beautiful? So rich in vitamins and nutrients! This pulp included beets, carrots, cucumber, apples, spinach and lemon.


DSC_0025 (2).jpg


You can either dehydrate this on your dehydrator at 120 degrees or bake on a parchment lined baking sheet in your oven at its lowest setting. Spread the mixture 1/4” thick and lightly score squares. I used my dehydrator today. Dehydrate for 6 hours, flip the wafers and dehydrate another 3 hours. Oven time should be about 2-3 hours depending on your oven.


No one likes soggy wafers!


DSC_0029 (2).jpg


Now the Hummus! This is soooo flavorful!

Hearty Hummus!

  • Chickpeas (15 oz)
  • Fresh Garlic Cloves (1)
  • Tahini (4 tablespoons)
  • Walnuts (1/4 cup)
  • Sea Salt (to taste)
  • Cumin (1 teaspoons)
  • Lemon Juice (3 teaspoons)
  • Ground Pepper (to taste)

Rinse and drain the Chickpeas and add all ingredients to your food processor.


DSC_0034 (2).jpg


Blend until smooth, taste and season as you wish! I have found Chickpeas really accept flavors well. This hummus will have a substantial savory flavor. I like to refrigerate my hummus for a couple of hours to allow the flavors to blend.


DSC_0038 (2).jpg

Bring the family and friends together, and Enjoy!

DSC_0242 (2).jpg


The veggie wafer ingredients cost less than $1.00 USD. I don’t think you can buy healthy veggie crackers for under 1 dollar do you? The hummus costs about the same! This is a wonderful budget friendly snack, appetizer, sandwich spread….the sky is the limit! Let me know if you try these, I would love to hear what you think!


And as always, blessings to you all

loveyourself.jpg


steemusa1.png


SS-pansies-EN-edged.jpg


The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

Hummus is way cheaper if you start from dried beans. Additionally, it can taste better, and be a lot smoother, if you cook them just right. Of course, if you overcook them, or leave them in the water too long, it can be not quite as good. But, it saves immensely on the cost if you make hummus regularly. I often make 60 ounces at a time, so cooking from dried beans is a great cost saver, as often the 15 ounce cans can be more than a buck a piece. Still cheaper than buying it in a small container though.

You are right! I usually cook from the dried beans...but I was short on time, family calls! :) Plus I don't like the metal cans....Thanks for your input! Thanks for stopping by @geekpowered!

Yeah...I guess I don't think about the metal cans that much...at least they're recycled. I mostly think about the fact that the food from cans doesn't taste as good...and they're made for like long term storage. It's too bad there aren't more places that refill like jars and stuff. A few are popping up again though.

Even 60 ounces of hummus goes so fast! Because hummus is awesome.

You should try black bean hummus if you haven't as well.

You know, my daughter and I were just talking about that today! I wondered if black bean hummus would be good! She is allergic to chickpeas but wanted to try the veggie wafers on her dehydrator....do you have a special recipe? Or will I just have to experiment, like usual ;) Sounds like a new post to me!! lol

There's also fava beans.

As for the recipe, literally the exact same as chick pea hummus. Just try it with other beans. I usually make the black bean hummus with 1/3rd or 1/4th black beans and the rest chick peas, but you could replace those with fava beans or cannellini beans, or pretty much any other type of beans. I never really use a recipe, and just do it by memory and taste.

Thanks my friend, I'm on it! How fun! :)

Perfect appetizer my friend! I especially love the budget friendly aspect.

Oh well, just having fun with it! Glad you liked it, you're a dear :) Thanks so much @puravidaville!

Mme Bird! These were absolutely stupendous! And not soggy in the least! You are such an excellent chef who makes amazing meals with byproducts! Truly very very cool. I love you!

Thank you @mountainjewel! I'm so blessed to have family members who indulge my experiements! Glad you enjoyed them....come back again and I'll make more :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 298 (10/31/18)

Love this @thesteemengine! You're amazing, thanks for the feaure :)

Looks incredible ☺️ I'll definitely have to try making this!

Thank you! I hope you'll try it and let me know what you think! :)

this looks really good...........

do you do anything with the Keto diet? I was told I need to start that.........why this comment is minus jokes :(

Well, I am not a Keto expert but if I understand correctly it is a very low carbohydrate, high protein diet right? I don't follow any diet...is this because of health issues @snook?I'm so sorry if you are not feeling well Let me know if I can help in any way ...I must say, eating what you see I post has helped me feel amazing, and lose a few pounds!

Wow, I LOVE this idea!! ♥
I recently started dehydrating, and I just purchased those trays! I was planning on making fruit leather, but it never occurred to me that you could make veggie crackers like that. wow!

Oh fantastic @squishysquid! I hope you'll try making these, I don't think you'll be disappointed. Don't be afraid to leave these on the dehydrator until you are sure they're crispy, and then be sure to store them in an air-tight container. The vegetable and spice combinations are endless. Please let me know if you try them, I would love to hear. Thanks so much :)

I will for sure! I made fruit leather the other day, and while yummy, it stuck to the trays really bad... I imagine veggie crackers wouldnt stick like that though.

Making the crackers with juice pulp is amazing - your approach really excites me!

Great recipe and really delicious-looking shots. 💚

I really think you'll like them! Don't be afraid to leave them on the dehydrator...they won't burn ;) Also, store them in an airtight container, this keeps them crispy. You can play around with different veggies and fruits as well as spices! Let me know what you try, I would love to hear. Thanks so much @rawadventuress.

The bigger challenge for me is to get a dehydrator for my last few weeks here in Germany - apparently nobody from my friends and family has one I could borrow. 🙈 So many creative recipes are filling my head, once I have my own dehydrator some day I will probably hide in the kitchen for a whole month putting all those delicious ideas into action. 😄

I am crazy about hummus! I love it with everything and I consider it a healthy treat. Thank you for sharing your lovely recipe 💚

Oh I can see why! Commercial hummus is horrible...this is so much better. It is both a healthy treat and addition to your sandwich or meal! Thank you @zen-art :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you @c-squared! Appreciate the upvote and acknowledgement!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63316.74
ETH 2581.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79