Healthy Eating | Spirulina Green Smoothie

in #cooking5 years ago

DSC_0022 (2).jpg

The Bird Nest is empty!


Good day my friends! Yes, all of the baby birds have gone, and boy is the house quiet! We had so much fun together, I was able to shower them with all of my Steemit recipes. They all approved and as always they're my biggest fans! They’re such a blessing, I believe everyone had time to relax and enjoy fun time in the sun and walks on the beach.


Now, it’s time for us to rejuvenate! Whew, I’m just a wee bit tired, and the pantry was bare! Today will be spent cleaning and shopping for new fruits and veggies. I have lots of new recipes I’ll be sharing with you so stay tuned.


Before we shop, we needed an energizing, healthy breakfast! How about a Smoothie?


todaysjourney.jpg

Spirulina Green Smoothie

Are you familiar with Spirulina?

DSC_0013 (2).jpg

  • Known as a Bluegreen Algae which grows in both fresh and salt water. Aztecs consumed Spirulina!
  • Contains 4 grams of protein per serving, Vitamins B1, B2, B3 , copper and Iron.
  • Gram for Gram, Spirulina may be the most nutrient dense food on earth!
  • Spirulina helps lower bad LDL as well as Triglicerides while at the same time raising good HDL Cholesterol.
  • The oxidative effects of Spirulina help increase muscle endurance and energy levels

Just what the doctor ordered today, more energy and endurance!


You can really mix and match your favorite fruits and veggies, since I needed to go to the grocery I had to keep it simple!


  • Kale
  • Spinach
  • 2 frozen Bananas
  • Raspberries (garnish)
  • Avocado
  • Cucumber
  • Spirulina Powder
  • Almond Milk

Wash and peel as needed. I made my own Almond Milk and left the pulp in the milk. This will add even more fiber and protein to my smoothie.


DSC_0011 (2).jpg


Place all but the raspberries in your favorite blender and blend, blend, blend until smooth. Isn’t it beautiful?


DSC_0055 (2).jpg


I garnished my smoothie with the last of my favorite homemade granola and fresh raspberries. Notice I included my last carrot cake protein ball too!


What a great way to start the day!


DSC_0046 (2).jpg

Cheers! Off to the grocery, need to make more Granola!


DSC_0054 (2).jpg


This smoothie gave me the energy and endurance to last all day! I hope you'll give it a try!


So glad you stopped in today. I would love to hear about your favorite smoothie recipes!
And as always, blessings to you all!

loveyourself.jpg

steemusa1.png

The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

it's green.......... lot's of green............and just what I need to eat.............

I don't know even with your beautiful photos if I can drink something green.................

Love you so much for trying....and I'll look at it and see.............

It is a beautiful green, lol I have to tell you if I had issues with drinking odd color smoothies and juices I would never drink them. I get some pretty strange color combinations hehe. It was really tasty, especially sitting outside on a sunny morning :) You are too sweet, thank you for your kindness. I do hope you'll try at least one! j

This looks lovely! I can hardly believe it has spirulina in it!
I have to admit I cannot stomach spirulina. I used to run a smoothie café, and I found that if you added spirulina to anything, even just half a teaspoon, it would immediately turn it almost black, or a kind of green that was so deep it would look black. If a customer asked for spirulina, I would ask them if they were really sure they wanted it! And I only ever used a good organic brand. But your smoothie doesn't look black at all. Maybe you've managed to balance the ingredients to mask the spirulina?
I still have two green smoothies every day though. I love them.

Your vibrant green smoothie certainly looks healthy granny bird, I love any combos for smoothie! I can imagine how quiet it must be now the family have gone :(

Do you know of a good substitute for bananas in this?

Thanks to @anouk.nox, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

Thanks so much! I really appreciate being featured! As for the banana substitute, you could always use avocado. It will give you the creamy texture like a banana although if you like sweet you may want to add another fruit to replace the banana sweetness! Hope this helps1 :)

That's very helpful. Thank you!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 300 (11/02/18)

Thank you so much! Truly appreciate being featured with my fellow TSE passengers!

I love both the color of it and the ingredients, the health benefits are amazing of course. This looks like a really complete meal and a perfect breakfast 💚

That is one green smoothie. I love green smoothies. I haven’t actually tried spirulina yet. Does it have distinct taste? The raspberry garnish with homemade granola makes this a breakfast of champions @birdsinparadise.

I don't taste the spirulina and neither does Mr. Bird (and he's my main judge of taste). The granola and berries added such a nice texture and sweet surprise! You'll have to share your smoothies, I would love to hear ;) Thank you my friend!

I’ve been interested in spirulina for some time now so maybe it’s about time I tried it out. My smoothies are taken before I run in the morning. Meaning they usually consist of the usual spinach, berries, hemp, maca, and whatever else I throw in there on a wimb. They aren’t as beautiful as yours :)

What a vibrant and healthy smoothie you have created, looks really appetising. Thanks for introducing me to spirulina :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

This is a classic that never disappoints and it amazingly nutritious and filling!

Thank you for sharing your great recipe!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94