You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Basic Income Giveaway (Advice to your younger self....)

in #contest6 years ago

I would definitely tell myself to save a bit percentage of every dollar I make. Like at least 25% when I'm in school not fully supporting myself, and maybe 10% when I am supporting myself but it's easy cause my expenses are low.

Thing is, I don't know how I'd make myself believe it. I'm pretty sure I heard this idea back then, but it seemed so unnecessary. It took a job loss, multiple experiences with the random unexpected costs that drain a casual savings dry, and a long period of trying to make ends meet with consistently lower income than expected to finally teach me that saving is not extra, it's necessary.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Oh, now as a freelancer... I really try to set aside money for the future... however, it is difficult to do with all the routine expenses and all of that! However, when you are much younger... it is even more difficult to do! That said, there are is a flip side in spending money for something good and worthwhile!... but it is a constant balancing act...

Well I agree it is difficult, in that I couldn't do it then... But somehow I manage to do it better now when the stakes are higher and my income has gone down. So I think my past self could have done better!

Posted using Partiko Android

The winners and the new SBI Giveaway (Cringe...) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawaycringe-z51ni33tsx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64052.62
ETH 2530.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65