WIN 20 STEEM - 2 Sentence Catch 22 SuperPowers Contest # 1 (Original Contest)

in #contest7 years ago (edited)


WARNING GIF OVERLOAD For this Newly Themed Contest LOL But trust me, it is for a good purpose and will provide inspiration for the writing process



Who doesn't love superpowers? Wouldn't you want to have one? But what if they came with a catch, a controversial aftereffect? Can you come up with a cool superpower with a major setback? I always want to keep Steemit interesting and introduce contests and engaging creative opportunities that I want to see here in our thriving, growing diverse community. I don't have much STEEM to give, but it's always important to give back, whether we have a little or a lot. So let's run, swing, fly and batmobile to it!



RULES

What kind of Catch 22 SuperPower can you describe and write within a two sentence frame? In order to be a valid entrant, please be sure to follow my other profile @peacemaker for more stories and other topics and Submit your 2 sentence Catch 22 SuperPower below in the comments section for it to be a valid entry. I will be now making this a weekly contest, maybe I'll rotate out some different contests as well. The deadline to submit is Sunday June 26th, 2017 at 11:59pm Germany time, so anyone entering on Next Monday will not be a valid entrant. One entry per person so give it your best shot. There are no length restrictions to a sentence as long as your two sentences are grammatically structured and readable. Don't rush, take your time, and check for spelling mistakes as it might ruin my experience reading your Catch 22 SuperPower on the first time through. Winners will be announced Monday. Please resteem this to spread the word and get more participants involved.





That should give you a more than enough time to think up something creative with an unforeseen , detrimental or even funny twist. I look forward to being entertained by your endless and limitless ideas of imaginative super capabilities.




The winner will be announced on Monday, have fun brainstorming



Thank you for reading this post in its entirety, I hope you enjoyed it for what it's worth.





I'll still be continuing accepting donations until I can reach my goal to fly out to america with my children and wife to visit my family as it is very urgent indeed.



I've raised $2244 and .67 cents of Steemit Currency in total from both My Posts and Donations from Steemit Community Members this 2017 forward and $95.00 in US Dollar Donations so far towards my goal of $ 6,000.00 (Six Thousand) US Dollars and will keep everyone updated with every new future post that I submit.
This total amount will not only include donations I've received to the Paypal account I've provided: [email protected], but it will also include the Steemit Currency that I accrue/receive from all of my personal posts starting the 1st of January of 2017 forward calculated after a 48 hour time frame is finished for the payout cycle of each post to avoid miscalculating the fluctuating price of Steemit Currency.



For more information on that, please check my New Year's/Happy Bday Post

Thanks sincerely again in advance for all your help, anything and everything helps.


A SPECIAL THANKS TO ALL GENEROUS AND GIVING DONORS HERE FROM THE STEEMIT COMMUNITY!
@fulltimegeek, @papa-pepper, @scammymcspambot, @prufarchy, @trevor.george, @dreemit, @inphiknit, @hopehuggs, @jedau, @sumsum, @edgarstudio, @the-future, @hanshotfirst, @tincho, @positive-trail, @ogochukwu, @kus-knee, @wakeupsheeps, @soushi888


All Gifs used from Giphy.com

Next Post coming tomorrow

My very own wonderful gif logo provided to me by the generous and kindhearted @papa-pepper Thanks again very much!

Sort:  

My catch 22 super power is you have every super power imaginable, from Anime to Comics, from Goku to any of the X-men. However, when you try to activate or use your power, a random ability is chosen and you have no control over which ability it is or for how long it lasts.

Thank you for your spontaneously all-ability combusting superpower entry. This reminds me of the good ol pokemon days battling it out with togepi and togetic with their metronome skill, it would backfire many many times at the most pivotal moments in the battle.

Yeah, I was thinking Clefairy and metronome. That and my nephews used to watch Ben 10, and I remember he never turned into the alien he wanted.

yeah clefairy and clefable and chancey and blissey, all could do metronome! and Ben 10 was an awesome anime, I remember his troubles so well lol

Also couldn't get the thought of trying to read someones mind (like Proffessor X)and accedently shooting the targets head off with eye lazers (like Superman).

Yeah those are good entries as well, but maybe for the next contest.

I meant that as an example of the wrong/random power activating.

Oh okay yeah my mistake, just a bit tired is all lol Those would be terrible backfiring random superpowers used at those moments

The ability to have a profound insight into life, yourself, and the mathematical intricacies that reign over the universe. However, it only works while furiously petting angry honey badgers.

Haha, that was hilarious, thank you for that good laugh and comedic entry. I couldn't imagine having that ability. They would probably bite my fingers off, all of them

Thanks, verbal-d! Glad you liked it. = )

You're welcome

How would one ever even discover having a power like that? I wouldn't go near a badger, let alone an already angry one. However, if I had that power, (and somehow managed to learn of it) my arms would surely be hamburger meat all the time!

Well, it could be said that with such a degree of insight into life, physical pain would become ultimately superfluous.

It could be said you'd find happiness in spite of all the scars.

It could be said that you'd be paying knowledge with blood, and that’d be alright because...

In the dead of night, when men are sleeping and the terrors of earth walk the cities, the very fabric of cosmos would whisper the name:

Badgerman




badgerman.jpg


Lovin' the picture! Not sure if that guy has enough scratches though. Would the insight gained make you come to the realization that the scars weren't worth it?

He seems pretty dandy to me. Perhaps it has to do with the fact that, besides attaining transcendental knowledge, absolutely nobody messes with a guy fondling an angry badger!

Badgers are nasty enough when they aren't already angry...

That's not fair... Just look at how cute it is! It almost begs to be petted furiously:

badger.png

"Oh it's so cute I just wanna pet him and squeeze him and OUCH!! HE BIT ME!!"

The great catch 22 superpower is immortality. Yes, you get to live forever, but your aging stops as a teenager riddled with hormones, acne and a cracking voice.

Thank you for your everlasting pubescent entry, I would hate to have that superpower lol. However, please read all of the rules and make sure to follow my @peacemaker account to be considered a valid entrant and be eligible to be chosen as a winner.

Talk about worse than death! Forever you say? Is that indestructable immortality, like you can't get hurt? Or can you still die like getting hit by a bus or falling off a cliff, you just don't age?

We'll say it's the indestructible kind, maybe feel all the pain but heal in mins.

So a teenage Logan, sans the claws, for all eternity? Ouch!

Whenever you open your eyes, you would instantly teleport to wherever you looked. So, you couldn't, like, look at the sun, without dying, but you could instantly go nearly anywhere (by looking at a cloud, and then another cloud until you got where you needed to be).

Thank you for your hilarious entry, this is one of the worst superpowers I could've imagined. Especially thinking about how dangerous and embarrassing this superpower could get you into without having control over your eyes. Examples, a married man on Las Vegas strip, a prison guard in a high security prison, a peeping tom, or a spy using binoculars on enemy territory accidentally teleporting in the middle of their camp completely unprepared for the consequences.

But also, immediately at your child's side, in time to save him from a car accident.

Yeah I considered that too, but since it is a catch 22 superpower, I tend to think of worse case scenarios lol

I would read minds, but every time I read someone's mind it would post their thoughts to my facebook and tag them

Oh no, that is truly a horrible superpower lol nobody likes publicising any thoughts on FB, tagging the person is even worse. Thank you for your creative and amusing entry.

All the more reason to dislike facebook! That is a terrible power! Lol!

Please be sure to read all the rules and make sure to follow my @peacemaker account to be considered a valid entrant and be eligible to be chosen as a winner.

My super shoes grant me the power of invisibility. Unfortunately, they are squeaky shoes like the kind little kids wear.

Hahaha, thanks for your funny entry, that genuinely made me laugh, I hate the sound of squeaking shoes, good one.

Here Is An Example Entry I Just Thought Of:

My Catch22 SuperPower is having the ability to fly at any given time. But every time you attempted to do so, it would instantly start hailing ice stones for the duration of your flight.

^^^
I don't know why but to picture this scenario is hilarious to me lol Have fun writing guys, that's my example entry.

Lol isn't it hilarious? What a terrible superpower, you'll need more than a helmet for this one, plus you affect anyone around you in your vicinity

I know, It's crazy man. It made me think of the Hulk a bit

The greatest superhero ability has to be telepathy within a distance of up to 50 feet (15.25 meters). Yet, the thoughts are heard in the voice of Florence Foster Jenkins resulting in immediate panic attacks and states of confusion.

Thank you for your terribly annoying entry, I would have to have some type of protective mind helmet and use that superpower only in emergency cases lol.

Haha. The first time I heard it I thought this has to be a joke in the fact she actually saw that as her job.

yeah completely, no one was honest with her or she was very passionate and wouldn't be stopped by any means lol

Haha to your comment of by any means. I think her friends and family were the beta test trolls for the nonpublic platform that we've come to know as the internet...lol

Oh yeah, indeed, rest in peace to all of their listening ears lol

A Long Time to Think


The motionless monks thought my years of training would provide the willpower required to resist the siren call of stopping and starting time. They didn't see me for the fool child I was, trying to learn how to ride his bike by careening down a mountain without bothering to learn how to use the breaks.

The superpower that I chose is the good old fashioned Time Freeze. Don't turn it on if you don't know how to turn it off.

Dangit, I didn't comprehend the assignment. I thought we were supposed to write a story in 2 sentences.

So uh... yeah, use the second part of my comment if that makes for a better entry :D

that's a good one.

Hopefully there's an irony award in this contest.

Thank you for your amusing entry, if my daughter had this ability I would be completely messed up watching all the things she would destroy as I am frozen helplessly lol

You can leap over tall buildings (like Superman, before they decided he could fly.) However, you don't have the necessary strength to survive the landing.

Thank you for your compromising entry, that's one way to break your legs or more lol. This one of those once and done kind of trial and errors, falling straight to your death.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62471.79
ETH 2621.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56