Win 1.5 SBDs in VDux's Haiku Contest About Horror (just in time for Valentine's Day)

in #contest5 years ago


Source

Welcome to the VDUX Valentines Day Haiku Horror Contest!!!

Valentine's Day is for lovers. This contest is not! It's for HORROR.

Yes, horror. Violent dread and fear. Alfred Hitchcock stuff.

Read below for more about the contest instructions, how to participate, awards, and how I'll select a winner. As always, every haiku you write could get you the 1.5 SBD winner's prize. Look at the Hall of Champions!

Contest Instructions

Write a haiku about horror. You can make it funny, dark, tongue-in-cheek, or anything in between.

This must be a one-stanza, traditional 5-7-5 haiku like the ones described here: http://www.kidzone.ws/poetry/haiku.htm . Here’s an example:

Birthday wishes done.

Next morning, one year older.

No leftover cake!

Obviously your horror will be different than mine!

You may submit multiple haikus, but PLEASE make each haiku its own reply. Each one will be considered a separate entry.

This theme comes from @jacobtothe, who's getting .005 SBDs from me just for the idea.

How to Participate

  1. Reply below with your haiku. Deadine: 11:59 pm UTC, February 16, 2019.
  2. Upvote this post. Deadline: 11:59 pm UTC, February 16, 2019.

That's it! But...

You should also resteem this post to increase the winner's prize and give yourself some free exposure! You can participate without resteeming -- I don't give preference -- but if you do resteem, it helps all of us.

Also, post your entry on your own blog! Mention @vdux and I'll give you an upvote and resteem your post.

And, collect a bonus point for each person you tag in your contest entry. More players, more prizes, more fun!

Awards

Winner gets:

  • 1.5 SBD
  • One free resteem from me for any post. (You choose the post. There's no time limit but I reserve the right to refuse resteem any post I consider offensive or indecent -- I'll simply ask you for a different, non-offensive post.)

One runner-up gets:

  • One free resteem from me for any post. (You choose the post. There's no time limit but I reserve the right to refuse to resteem any post I consider offensive or indecent -- I'll simply ask you for a different, non-offensive post.)

How I Will Select the Winner

Within 2 days after the deadline, I will read all entries and choose a winner and runner-up. While I'll take upvotes into consideration, my selection will reflect my personal preference based on the entries you submit.

Feel free to reuse a haiku from the past and write as many as you want!

Also, give congrats to all who've participated in my previous contests -- the list keeps growing!

@tristancarax, @jenel, @giddyupngo, @chrislyr, @mineopoly, @puppetmaster1111, @calluna, @yidneth, @creatr, @acousticsteveo, @blackant, @rlt47, @viking-ventures, @steemotion, @foxfiction, @lologirl, @creyestxsa94, @yahialababidi, @jadams2k18, @doughtaker, @ladyrai, @impending.doom, @andysantics48, @felixgarciap, @godstimetim, @gamsam, @antorchajohnny, @aniketmore1925, @mameh, @tygertyger, @kaelci, @felicitas, @ayyeenn, @dmilliz, @eprolific, @jvanman, @kimberlylane, @phoenixwren, @liverussian, @herbertholmes, @dizzyjay, @emdesan, @markeverlasting, @shawnsporter, @operahoser, @eaglespirit, @tomset, @millennialnow, @preparedwombat, @apeximomen, @melissakellie, @freedomno1, @moneyinfant, @mermaidvampire, @mysearchisover, @yahialababidi, @givonwayne, @pinkgeek, @boxcarblue, @ablaze, @hope-k, @rexdickson, @crescendoofpeace, @digitokash, @theunlimited, @theodora87, @mysecondself01, @pocketmouse, @jacksondavies, @ohkaaay, @lazarus-wist, @dbooster, @janesmy081316, @dc420la, @redheadpei, @whitelite, @olymar248, @nenad-ristic, @trudeehunter, @bananamemos, @iswaldsmoak, @josoft, @onefatindian, @pedroelec, @offgridlife, @daisyphotography, @chadrona, @hazem91, @celsius100, @emergehealthier, @ralk98, @fromage, @four20, @amayphin, @mother2chicks, @jackofcrows, @trumanity, @barge, @evlachsblog, @natepower, @elbrujo, @neenarose, @beatking13, @snowyknight, @alom8, @sidequest, @oclinton, @sarez, @f3nix, @jurich60, @artofwisdom, @zephalexia, @letalis-laetitia, @rentmoney, @olivia08, @myd77, @moofang, @dirge, @cinderz, @moncia90, @rdsmas, @theironfelix, @manoldonchev, @iamthegray, @tiempoyesp, @ccaallvviinn, @alecreed, @lahvista, @binkyprod, @jayna, @mfunbee, @alrahman, @agmoore, @blueeyes8960, @deadmoonwrites, @katrina-ariel, @owasco, @pyemoney, @ifoundnoel, @thaishps, @imagen, @yomismosoy, @adncabrera, @braaiboy, @reinaldoverdu, @naylet, @oscarina, @darthgexe, @vida-blanca, @jacobtothe, @erh.germany

FEEL THE HAIKU!!!

Screen Shot 20190112 at 10.43.46 PM.png

--- --- --- --- ---

See who I'm delegating to: https://steembottracker.com/delegation.html

Sort:  

Red hearts on floor street
kill all people mind and wallet money
Zombies kissing, buying and chilling.

Posted using Partiko Android

Vienen a matar Corro tienen cuchillo Payasos asesinos

Yo acepto!

Gracias, es un placer que te haya gustado!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! Can you revise to fit a normal haiku? 5 syllable first line, 7 syllable second line, 5 syllable third line

67c53c3b3fa4d548e3b095bfe494022c145e093d.jpg

Choose your motel well
and never take a shower
Norman is watching

c6b9eaf662fe54274befe526e4122d71a9319dde.jpg

The girl stole his heart
it looked so nice on the shelf
best Vday ever

Whoa! Nice theme combo, bonus points!

8c347dd4fa207ee693f578368893d423e27aa12b.png

Her last transmission
“ I wish you were here my love “
then zombies ate her

How have you been?

it's been rough but working my way out of it , you ?

Busy but well all in all and glad you're getting back on your feet.

Fix the first line!



Un Tierno Presente

Este día especial
tu hermoso cadáver
será un presente.

This special day
your beautiful corpse
will be a present.

Hi! First and last lines are too long, can you fix?

Ok, I accepted because a syllable counter will fit but I don't know any English dialects that would pronounce those words with the exact proper syllables for the English version. As always GREAT to get your haiku!

Sucking in my breath,
I heard pounding and beating.
The bloody red heart.

Tell-tale heart? (Poe's book)

I never heard of it.

Abridged version:

Man kills his neighbor, dismembers his body, and buries his parts under the floorboards of his house. The neighbor's heart keeps beating from under the floorboards, driving the man goes crazy.

I’m a Poe and don’t know it. 😂

tummy churning fear
every time i see that name
the self hate and shame

call this blood and gore?
so what was the warning for?
there better be more!

You like horror, I suppose?

So very much, recommendations always appreciated ;)

Sadly, no. I have, however, seen some horror-ble movies...!

Broken pieces of my heart,

Lie with me in bed,

Each torn piece still calls your name.

@mermaidvampire welcome! So glad to see you here. You are a shining, steeming star!

We only do traditional haikus, 5 syllable first line, 7 syllable second line, 5 syllable third line. Can you revise?

Hahaha! My bad, I thought the meter is 7-5-7. I kinda felt I was messing it up. Hahaha! Thanks, I will try and revise. This made me a good laugh. Hahahaha!

Hahaha!

Roses are for bees,

Don't even think chocolates,

Hate diabetes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62482.14
ETH 3044.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76