Win 1.5 SBDs in VDux's Haiku Contest About Food

in #contest6 years ago


Source: Giphy

Welcome to the VDUX Haiku Food Fest!!!

It's cold here and not snowy but WINTER for sure. Shall we write haikus about this? Or would that be unfair to our friends in the Southern Hemisphere?

Yes, that would. That would be unfair. Let's write about food, instead. BTW Merry Christmas and Feliz Navidad to all who celebrate!

Read below for more about the contest instructions, how to participate, awards, and how I'll select a winner. As always, every haiku you write could get you the 1.5 SBD winner's prize.

Contest Instructions

Write a haiku about food (bonus points for mentioning a food from your local culture).

This must be a one-stanza, traditional 5-7-5 haiku like the ones described here: http://www.kidzone.ws/poetry/haiku.htm . Here’s an example:

Pumpkin season's done.

Frosty mornings kill their vines.

We eat pumpkin pie!

You may submit multiple haikus, but PLEASE make each haiku its own reply. Each one will be considered a separate entry.

This theme comes from @beatking13, who's getting .005 SBDs from me just for the idea. Next contest theme will come from @theironfelix but I'm not telling anybody until after this contest closes.

How to Participate

  1. Reply below with your haiku. Deadine: 11:59 pm UTC, December 29, 2018.
  2. Upvote this post. Deadline: 11:59 pm UTC, December 29, 2018.

That's it! But...

You should also resteem this post to increase the winner's prize and give yourself some free exposure! You can participate without resteeming -- I don't give preference -- but if you do resteem, it helps all of us.

Also, post your entry on your own blog! Mention @vdux and I'll give you an upvote and resteem your post.

And, collect a bonus point for each person you tag in your contest entry. More players, more prizes, more fun!

Awards

Winner gets:

  • 1.5 SBD
  • One free resteem from me for any post. (You choose the post. There's no time limit but I reserve the right to refuse resteem any post I consider offensive or indecent -- I'll simply ask you for a different, non-offensive post.)

One runner-up gets:

  • One free resteem from me for any post. (You choose the post. There's no time limit but I reserve the right to refuse to resteem any post I consider offensive or indecent -- I'll simply ask you for a different, non-offensive post.)

How I Will Select the Winner

Within 2 days after the deadline, I will read all entries and choose a winner and runner-up. While I'll take upvotes into consideration, my selection will reflect my personal preference based on the entries you submit.

Feel free to reuse a haiku from the past and write as many as you want!

Also, give congrats to all who've participated in my previous contests -- the list keeps growing!

@tristancarax, @jenel, @giddyupngo, @chrislyr, @mineopoly, @puppetmaster1111, @calluna, @yidneth, @creatr, @acousticsteveo, @blackant, @rlt47, @viking-ventures, @steemotion, @foxfiction, @lologirl, @creyestxsa94, @yahialababidi, @jadams2k18, @doughtaker, @ladyrai, @impending.doom, @andysantics48, @felixgarciap, @godstimetim, @gamsam, @antorchajohnny, @aniketmore1925, @mameh, @tygertyger, @kaelci, @felicitas, @ayyeenn, @dmilliz, @eprolific, @jvanman, @kimberlylane, @phoenixwren, @liverussian, @herbertholmes, @dizzyjay, @emdesan, @markeverlasting, @shawnsporter, @operahoser, @eaglespirit, @tomset, @millennialnow, @preparedwombat, @apeximomen, @melissakellie, @freedomno1, @moneyinfant, @mermaidvampire, @mysearchisover, @yahialababidi, @givonwayne, @pinkgeek, @boxcarblue, @ablaze, @hope-k, @rexdickson, @crescendoofpeace, @digitokash, @theunlimited, @theodora87, @mysecondself01, @pocketmouse, @jacksondavies, @ohkaaay, @lazarus-wist, @dbooster, @janesmy081316, @dc420la, @redheadpei, @whitelite, @olymar248, @nenad-ristic, @trudeehunter, @bananamemos, @iswaldsmoak, @josoft, @onefatindian, @pedroelec, @offgridlife, @daisyphotography, @chadrona, @hazem91, @celsius100, @emergehealthier, @ralk98, @fromage, @four20, @amayphin, @mother2chicks, @jackofcrows, @trumanity, @barge, @evlachsblog, @natepower, @elbrujo, @neenarose, @beatking13, @snowyknight, @alom8, @sidequest, @oclinton, @sarez, @f3nix, @jurich60, @artofwisdom, @zephalexia, @letalis-laetitia, @rentmoney, @olivia08, @myd77, @moofang, @dirge, @cinderz, @moncia90, @rdsmas, @theironfelix, @manoldonchev, @iamthegray, @tiempoyesp, @ccaallvviinn, @alecreed, @lahvista, @binkyprod, @jayna, @mfunbee, @alrahman, @agmoore, @blueeyes8960, @deadmoonwrites, @katrina-ariel, @owasco, @pyemoney, @ifoundnoel, @thaishps, @imagen

FEEL THE HAIKU!!!

Sort:  

Cheerful summertime,
a delicious braai fire,
whilst roasting the meat.

P.S. Braai = BBQ here in South Africa ;-)

Blerrie, nice haiku going on there.

Do you use piri piri?

Hahahaha... lekker... thanks \m/
Are you from SA too... or just picked up some of the slang?

We have a Nando's near us!

No no so lucky, USA all the way.

Oh hell yes! I love it... We call it "Peri-Peri" here in South Africa though (even though the correct Portuguese spelling is Piri-Piri")

I'm assuming you're a fan of it too?

Yes but not sure the kind we have here is "real" peri-peri

Come and celebrate
Sumptuous banquet table
Joyful gathering.

Steak, salad, and chips
Certainly solves my problem
Loud, grumbling stomach.

steak.jpg


My entries are found on this link:
https://steemit.com/haiku/@evlachsblog/food-my-entries-to-vdux-s-haiku-contest

Thanks again @vdux!

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to all of you!!!

Back atcha. Happy Holidays!

Here's my second entry:

I was too hungry
So I ate the fish too quick
There's bone in my throat.

My Entry:
A gloomy grey dawn
What can help the weary soul
But a healing broth ww.jpg

I have a fresh one working on the stove right now!

Happy Holidays!!

Nothing like tasty soup on a cold day, especially when you're under the weather. I'm with you!

Happy Holidays!

So true! My kids love it.

And you, my friend! Stay safe, be well.

Thank you friend.

Wonderful. Makes me happy!

Food is everywhere
How the feeling of the poor
Do they expect more?

Posted using Partiko Android

Interesting and thoughtful haiku. Thank you, it's sometimes easy to forget how privileged we are.

Exactly @vodux
Anyway,Merry Christmas to you.and family

Posted using Partiko Android

Every grain, valued
Don't waste your delicious food
Poor neighbors, hungered

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63248.94
ETH 2576.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85