VDux Haiku Contest - Now Open!

in #contest6 years ago


Source: Giphy

Steemit has many contests, producing some great content. Lots of poetry and writing competitions, too. Follow @moneyinfant to hear about all of them, including this one!

If you have 30 seconds to spare and you can write 17 syllables, you can win 2 SBD, author rewards, and some free publicity.

Read below for more about the contest instructions, how to participate, awards, and how I'll select a winner.

Contest Instructions

Write a haiku about anything.

This must be a one-stanza, traditional 5-7-5 haiku like the ones described here: http://www.kidzone.ws/poetry/haiku.htm . Here’s an example:

Wiggles big red car

Captivates my youngest child

Is that good or bad?

You may submit multiple haikus, but you need to make each haiku its own reply. Each one will be considered a separate entry.

(Guess what? Next week's theme will be a suggestion @millenialnow gave me a while back.)

How to Participate

  1. Reply below with your haiku. Deadine: 11:59 pm UTC, April 20, 2018.
  2. Upvote this post. Deadline: 11:59 pm UTC, April 20, 2018.

That's it! But...

You should also resteem this post to increase the winner's prize and give yourself some free exposure! You can participate without resteeming -- I don't give preference -- but if you do resteem, it only helps you.

Also, post your entry on your own blog! Mention @vdux and I'll give you an upvote and resteem your post.

Awards


Source

Winner gets:

  • 2 SBD
  • Half of this post's author awards
  • One free "shout-out" for winning
  • One free resteem from me for any of the winner's posts. (You choose the post. There's no time limit but I reserve the right to refuse resteem any post I consider offensive or indecent -- I'll simply ask you for a different, non-offensive post.)

One runner-up gets:

  • One free "shout-out" for winning
  • One free resteem from me for any of the winner's posts. (You choose the post. There's no time limit but I reserve the right to refuse to resteem any post I consider offensive or indecent -- I'll simply ask you for a different, non-offensive post.)

How I Will Select the Winner

Within 2 days after the deadline, I will read all entries and choose a winner and runner-up. While I'll take upvotes into consideration, my selection will reflect my personal preference based on the entries you submit. So far, it's been very, very close call with lots of great entries to choose from. Feel free to reuse a haiku from the past and write as many as you want.

I run this haiku contest regularly so if yours doesn't win, try again next time.

Awesome job everybody who entered my previous contests:

@phoenixwren, @liverussian, @acousticsteveo, @herbertholmes, @kaelci, @mineopoly, @dizzyjay, @rlt47, @pocketmouse, @emdesan, @markeverlasting, @shawnsporter, @impending.doom, @operahoser, @jadams2k18, @tygertyger, @eaglespirit, @tomset, @millennialnow, @preparedwombat, @apeximomen, @melissakellie, @freedomno1, @eprolific, @millennialnow, @puppetmaster1111, @mysearchisover, @yahialababidi, @givonwayne, @pinkgeek, @boxcarblue, @ablaze, @hope-k, @rexdickson, @crescendoofpeace, @andysantics48, @digitokash, @theunlimited, @theodora87, @mysecondself01, @viking-ventures, @dmilliz, @jacksondavies, @ohkaaay, @lologirl, @lazarus-wist, @dbooster, @janesmy081316, @felicitas, @mermaidvampire, @caesar2341, @kiwideb, @karenmckersie, @jacksonl, @kimberlylane, @wplymouth, @peacemaker, @robsteady, @dildil7401, @geoffreydemars

Also, follow @firepower for Steemit commentary and occasional contests. And a few other cool contests -- @terrycraft, @dpatcher, @lymmerik.

Feel the Haiku!!!


Source

Sort:  

I told you So
eyes-1284883_1920.png
Image Credit

They laughed at my fears
now I whistle merrily
as zombies eat them

japanese-cherry-3325115_640.jpg

Sleepy flowers wake
A warmer sun arises
New born leaves unfurl

Photo Credit

Beautiful. Thank you for the haiku!

Thank you for the contest!

I loved this haiku but only one could win. Please enter the next contest!!! I'll post it soon.
https://steemit.com/contest/@vdux/amafk-vdux-haiku-contest-winners

Hello @vdux it's been a while. Here's my entry to the contest.

image

Broken

Broken and alone

I search for peace and calm, will

I ever find it?

Thanks! Good to see you again. This haiku makes me feel sad, are you ok?

I'm totally fine @vdux. I just decided to explore some dark themes with this one.

@jacksondavies - Great! Extremely visceral!

The next big thing: now
Go; speak up, create and lead
Steam communityIMG_-mf0sug.jpg

If I am sad, blue

music brings life back to me

Fixing me all up



Cheers my dear @vdux!

A beautiful girl
Such a fearless warrior
Shows the world whose boss

:) Do we need to make a post? Or we can just comment it down here?

All good. Entry accepted! Post if you'd like, I'll resteem you (link to it in a comment or mention my name @vdux so I know, otherwise I won't get notified)

To win is not hard
With a little persistence
Success would be had

Can you tell its my first time?

Haiku, the greatest
format of all poetry,
short and fun to write!

I'm game for one more Haiku. Actually I was thinking of posting several Haiku's in one post and linking it here if that is ok with you?

Loading...

Thanks this is great news. Your contest is starting to get more attention and I think some of my friends will join in this time. When I see your next contest post I will give it a small boost for promotion and resteem.

Great! Do you have a post you want me to resteem?

Oops. I boosted the wrong post. I should have waited for your contest post. I may boost the contest post also. Just give me some time. Feel free to resteem any post you like that is 4 days or less. Thank you.

I kind of like dogs
I grew up with a whole bunch
But now I have kids

Nice haiku. Sorry to hear that! I have kids, too. Next life, I'll stick to dogs!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57684.49
ETH 2343.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36