Nothing Fishy About This Haiku Contest

in #contest5 years ago


Source: Giphy

Welcome to the VDUX Haiku Contest!!!

If you're still steemin' and you can spare 30 seconds, you can earn 1.5 SBDs and have fun doing it, too!

Write a haiku for this contest. Read below for more about the contest instructions, how to participate, awards, and how I'll select a winner.

Contest Instructions

Write a haiku about fishing! Not phishing. Use previous haikus, if you have any!

This must be a one-stanza, traditional 5-7-5 haiku like the ones described here: http://www.kidzone.ws/poetry/haiku.htm . Here’s an example:

Vdux likes to fish --

For cards, clues, and compliments.

Rarely catches one!

You may submit multiple haikus. Please make each haiku its own reply so I can give you an upvote for each entry.

This theme comes from @felixgarciap , who's getting .005 SBDs from me just for the idea. If you have any suggestions, Tell Me!!1

How to Participate

  1. Reply below with your haiku. Deadine: 11:59 pm UTC, November 11, 2018.
  2. Upvote this post. Deadline: 11:59 pm UTC, November 11, 2018.

That's it! But...

You should also resteem this post to increase the winner's prize and give yourself some free exposure! You can participate without resteeming -- I don't give preference -- but if you do resteem, it only helps you.

Also, post your entry on your own blog! Mention @vdux and I'll give you an upvote and resteem your post.

And, collect a bonus point for each person you tag in your contest entry. More players, more prizes, more fun!

Awards

Winner gets:

  • 1.5 SBD
  • One free resteem from me for any post. (You choose the post. There's no time limit but I reserve the right to refuse resteem any post I consider offensive or indecent -- I'll simply ask you for a different, non-offensive post.)

One runner-up gets:

  • One free resteem from me for any post. (You choose the post. There's no time limit but I reserve the right to refuse to resteem any post I consider offensive or indecent -- I'll simply ask you for a different, non-offensive post.)

How I Will Select the Winner

Within 2 days after the deadline, I will read all entries and choose a winner and runner-up. While I'll take upvotes into consideration, my selection will reflect my personal preference based on the entries you submit.

Feel free to reuse a haiku from the past and write as many as you want!

Bonus Tip

Follow @dbooster, @bananafish, @jayna, and @calluna for some other great writing challenges. Highly recommended.

Also, give congrats to all who've participated in my previous contests:

@tristancarax, @jenel, @giddyupngo, @chrislyr, @mineopoly, @puppetmaster1111, @calluna, @yidneth, @creatr, @acousticsteveo, @blackant, @rlt47, @viking-ventures, @steemotion, @foxfiction, @lologirl, @creyestxsa94, @yahialababidi, @jadams2k18, @doughtaker, @ladyrai, @impending.doom, @andysantics48, @felixgarciap, @godstimetim, @gamsam, @antorchajohnny, @aniketmore1925, @mameh, @tygertyger, @kaelci, @felicitas, @ayyeenn, @dmilliz, @eprolific, @jvanman, @kimberlylane, @phoenixwren, @liverussian, @herbertholmes, @dizzyjay, @emdesan, @markeverlasting, @shawnsporter, @operahoser, @eaglespirit, @tomset, @millennialnow, @preparedwombat, @apeximomen, @melissakellie, @freedomno1, @moneyinfant, @mermaidvampire, @mysearchisover, @yahialababidi, @givonwayne, @pinkgeek, @boxcarblue, @ablaze, @hope-k, @rexdickson, @crescendoofpeace, @digitokash, @theunlimited, @theodora87, @mysecondself01, @pocketmouse, @jacksondavies, @ohkaaay, @lazarus-wist, @dbooster, @janesmy081316, @dc420la, @redheadpei, @whitelite, @olymar248, @nenad-ristic, @trudeehunter, @bananamemos, @iswaldsmoak, @josoft, @onefatindian, @pedroelec, @offgridlife, @daisyphotography, @chadrona, @hazem91, @celsius100, @emergehealthier, @ralk98, @fromage, @four20, @amayphin, @mother2chicks, @jackofcrows, @trumanity, @barge, @evlachsblog, @natepower, @elbrujo, @neenarose, @beatking13, @snowyknight, @alom8, @sidequest, @oclinton, @sarez, @f3nix, @jurich60, @artofwisdom, @zephalexia, @letalis-laetitia, @rentmoney, @olivia08, @myd77, @moofang, @dirge, @cinderz, @moncia90, @rdsmas, @theironfelix, @manoldonchev, @iamthegray, @tiempoyesp, @ccaallvviinn, @alecreed, @lahvista

FEEL THE HAIKU!!!

Sort:  

Hook and eye.




Bait luring closer
Dreaming of catching you but
you'll get away


154185534569380385.gif

Welcome to the contest! So glad to have you here. I'll count "you'll" as two syllables.

And a haiku translation of a song in Bulgarian:

All the fish does swim
Only fried fish swims no more
Fried, though, we are not

Thank goodness. We are not fish, either!

Yeah, probably, but that is another matter entirely ;)



This post has been rated by the user-run curation platform CI! In this platform users are able to manually curate content. This is done regardless of Steem Power, for both rewards and vote size calculation.

Join in at our site here!
https://collectiveintelligence.red/

Or join us on discord to interact with the community!
https://discord.gg/sx6dYxt



This post was submitted for curation by: @theironfelix
This post was given a rating of: 0.9977739742688696
This post was voted: 58.82%

Raw fish is good eats
Unless it sits for a week
Death by cheap sushi

EWWWW!!!! Tell me you didn't!

My mama raised no stupid people - never eat sushi from a convenience store

Is that a thing now?

I believe it is. One can not be too sure what's rolled up in the rice

Ew. Thank you for the tip!

Winner announcement: https://steempeak.com/contest/@vdux/who-s-the-big-winner

A little fishy phishing

Discount angling gear
Enter credit card details
To view our offers

A too-good-to-be-true offer from an anonymous email???? Hold on, let me just get my wallet...!

Just a little fishing

My hair is a mess
I look so shit in this dress
I should just go home...

Local idiom? I didn't get the context! I'm a dumb American!

Lol well now I can't tell if you did or didnt!

Fishing for compliments is surely a phrase a man so well informed has encountered before 😉

Pescetarian
Tried it for a couple years
I would recommend

Bonus for one-word line! When I first read it, I thought you talking about a denomination of the Anglican Church!

Fishes on the sea
Small and big, God made them all
Showing His greatness!!! :)

Not just the fishes but actually, everything in nature just makes me realize how great God is :)

The Teacher

The calm glass rippled
By a single gulping gasp
Now, pull back, we cast

Got away? They say:
“Plenty of fish in the sea.”
Too bad, there’s no bait.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99