ADVENTURE READING CONTEST #1 UPDATE (30 SBD in Rewards and Counting!)

in #contest7 years ago

We're a week into the first Adventure Reading contest, and I want to thank everyone who's supported and shown interest in it so far! There is already over 30 SBD in the rewards pool (that's currently worth around $180 USD), and the SBD value of this post will be added to that!

We also had our first submission, all the way from Venezuela! Go give @awhsarada your support to win points for the community prize! And if you want a giggle, head to @atopy's illustrated analysis of the reading habits of two different types of readers.

I expect more entries will come closer the deadline, and for that reason I will give an extra 24 hours after the deadline for the engagement portion - stay tuned for that announcement with links to everyone's posts. I'm so excited to get a glimpse into the lives of other readers!

AdventureReadingContest1.jpg

What Is Adventure Reading?

Turn your reading into an adventure! For me, this often means shoving a book into my hiking pack and heading to the hills, but you can take your own interpretation. I want to learn all about what you’re reading and where you’re reading it!

Another Example Post:
Adventure Reading: "Trucking in English" at Marmot Pass
(you don't need to follow the post's format, it's just to give you an idea to start with)

The Requirements

  1. Upvote this post to increase the prize pool.
    Resteeming and shouting from the rooftops is encouraged but optional.
  2. Take a picture that shows a book you’re reading and where you’re reading it.
    You do not need to travel to a far-flung place, it can even be in your bed! And the book can be anything from a library book to an article on a tablet.
  3. Tell us about your journey.
    Be sure to incorporate details about both the book and the place, but beyond that there are no rules - creativity is encouraged! The journey here can be literal or metaphorical.
  4. Include the words “Adventure Reading Contest” in the title
    This is so I know it's an entry, and to spread awareness of the contest to others.
  5. Tag your post “adventurereading”
    So myself and others can find it.
  6. Submit your post by Sunday, January 28 at 8 PM UTC.
    Click here to convert to your time zone. There's still almost a week left to create and submit your entry! At the end, there will also be a 24-hour window to engage with others' posts, and the prizes will be given out the following day.

The Prizes

There will be 3 winning categories, each receiving an even 33% of the SBD payout earned from this post and all other posts relating to this contest, currently totaling 30 SBD from the first post and my own contribution.

The SP part of the payout will go into my own coffers and be paid out to all participants in the form of upvotes - hopefully a win-win!

  • Photography Winner
    This will go to my favorite Adventure Reading photo.
  • Storytelling Winner
    This will go to my favorite Adventure Reading description.
  • Community Winner
    This will go to an individual who has given meaningful interaction through comments/upvotes on other Adventure Reading participants’ posts.

It is possible for one person to win all three of these and take 100% of the prize! The judging is entirely subjective, but I will put my heart into choosing the best based on quality and effort.

EVERY valid entry will receive a 100% upvote from myself. I'll also give partial upvotes to my favorite comments and will be honoring ALL my favorites in the winners post.

The idea is that the engagement portion will make this a valuable contest to participate in even if you don’t win! Remember, we are here to SUPPORT EACH OTHER! Voting for others doesn’t hurt your chances, it helps everyone!

Feedback about the contest is always welcome! I know this is quite an involved task, but this means that if you take the time to try you're more likely to win (and you will definitely earn my respect).

- Katie, @therovingreader

Sort:  

You have an interesting nice post, give me new experience and knowing more great things
Thank you for sharing. Hope you will get a positive day, good luck and wish you success.

I have resteem and upvoted this post.

Best Regards
With Respect From Banjarmasin, South Borneo / Kalimantan, Indonesia
azmielbanjary
image

Thank you, although I prefer comments that show you read the content instead of copying and pasting. That said, would love to see an entry from you for this contest so I could see a bit of South Borneo! :)

This contest is fun. It even got me to change my clothes and sit on the other end of a camera lens for once - now that is an adventure!

I wish I will find time to write my entry post before the deadline.

I hope so too! :) Good luck!

Very great idea.. I wanna join but only 4 days left though.. will give it a try :)

I'd absolutely love to see you participate! If you can't make the time for this one, I'm planning on holding it again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56904.92
ETH 2440.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37