Adventure Reading: "The Silver Chair" and the warmth of my room.

in #adventurereading6 years ago (edited)

photo_2018-01-18_13-27-16.jpg

I have to say I wasn't sure about doing this post since I think I'm actually the first one to do it but, whatever, let's go!

I found this contest while looking out one of my favorite tags (#photography) and I decided to give it a look. I have to say that is one of the best contest ideas I've seen since I join steemit. I feel kinda sad since I could not do an actual adventure but unfortunately where I live It's not the best to take out a nice camera (or a cellphone in my case) in the streets.

So let's begin with this.

The Place: My bed, Maracay, Venezuela.

Guide: How to finish one of your favorite books on you free time.
Elevation Gain: 1.5 mts (My beed it's a bunk bed and my bed is the one above).
My Rating: 100/5.

My beedroom it's basically the place where I spent the most part of my day (either studying or watching something) so there's not much to talk about it.

The good part of picking my own room... My little monster decided to join me in this adventure.

photo_2018-01-05_19-37-35.jpg

I had to admit that taking the pictures was difficult since I don't have a good lighting in my room (at least for taking photos, for reading it's normal), and since I didn't want to show my face, the pictures are mostly what I like the most abot the Narnia books.

photo_2018-01-18_13-37-44.jpg

They all have beatiful and artistic covers, at least to me, they are the best cover I've seen so far.

The book: "The Silver Chair" by C.S. Lewis.

Goodreads: The Silver Chair (The Chronicles of Narnia)
Pages: 299
My Rating: 4.5/5
Blurb:

NARNIA...where owls are wise, where some of the giants like to snack on humans, where a prince is put under an evil spell...and where the adventure begins.
Eustace and Jill escape from the bullies at school through a strange door in the wall, which, for once, is unlocked. It leads to the open moor...or does it? Once again Aslan has a task for the children, and Narnia needs them. Through dangers untold and caverns deep and dark, they pursue the quest that brings them face to face with the evil Witch. She must be defeated if Prince Rillian is to be saved.

Since I saw this book at my favorite bookstore, I have to admit that what made me pick up the books were the covers, they all look fascinating, and after reading the synopsis I decided to bought two of them (The Magician's Nephew and The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe). It only took me one week to read both of them. Narnia and John Katzebach's "What Comes Next" have been one of the few books that I've read in less than two days (I read What Comes Next in like 6 hours). The Silver Chair, along with The Voyage of the Dawn Treader are my favorites in all the Narnia Series, and since I was rereading The Silver, I thought of using this one to this contest.

What I like the most about The Silver Chair is the ways the story goes, the fact it's a quest story. when I firts read it I never thought that the knight would be actually Rillian, the missing prince. The characters were as lovable as always and the story is full of fantasy and moments that easily catch you.

photo_2018-01-18_13-37-46.jpg

If you want to start a new book series you should check out The Chronicles of Narnia, you will love it.

The little monster also accompanied me while writing this

photo_2018-01-18_14-40-38.jpg

Thank you @therovingreader for creating this contest, I actually loved writing all these :) Good luck with everything else regarding this contest. Looking forward to another one!.


Sort:  

Your room looks so cozy!

What a coincidence that it's already got a lion, and, (depending on your magical powers) might have a witch. Does it also have a wardrobe?

(Making a joke about this book, of course. Not implying in any way that you're a witch.)

It's the coziest place in mi house :)

I wish I have a wardrobe XD (and I wish I was a witch too)

Thanks for being brave enough to be the first one to submit! And also thank you for not going out with a camera in Venezuela - I definitely don't want anyone to have a terrifying adventure.

Your room looks so cozy, especially with your "little monster". :) And you're reading the series that introduced me to fantasy! (Los leí en español tambien.)

The picture of the map made me want to explore Narnia all over again, and I haven't seen them with such beautiful covers before. My favorite was The Horse and His Boy, even though it didn't fit in as well with the rest of the series. I also enjoyed The Silver Chair - especially Puddleglum haha.

Also, the bunk bed elevation gain was so clever! Great job on this, it makes me so happy to hear from other people who love books!

Narnia also introduced me to fantasy. Eventhough it's not my favorite genre, it's the only genre where I have two complete series (Trylle trilogy is the other one)

The Horse and His Boy... Finding that happens while the Pevensie are in Narnia as kings got me like o.o I wasn't expecting that.

For the covers, I noticed on goodreads that are other versions, all the places I've seen the books here in Venezuela have covers with the same style as The Silver Chair.

Congratulations @awhsarada! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
You published 4 posts in one day
Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Narnia, this series is great. I remember re-reading the entire series four times since the first time I read it. It's a classic, and the flow of the story just captures your imagination!

You have read them more times than I XD But yeah, they are really good classics, C. S. Lewis did a great work.

C.S. Lewis is a really great writer, his Narnia series is a hit for all ages. (Btw, your cat is really cute!)

Yeah, they definitely do... Thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94