You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Basic Income Giveaway (Emoji....)

in #contest5 years ago

I love emoji. It's like you say: it can give written text an obvious nuance which makes sure something does't come across the wrong way. Just add a 😉, or a 😛 and people know not to take what you say too serious.
It's a shame I always have to go and look up the codes when i'musing my laptop. It's so much easier to implement them when using your phone.

I use the non-smiley ones mostly to make something stand out, like the 🌺 for the garden challenge, the 💡 to mark something important or a 🏆 in a contest title.

It shouldn't be overdone, though. I've seen posts with so any emojis in it that I did not have a single idea what the post was about, lol.

I think you never have enough emojis... Often I'm looking for one, and then it appears it simply does not exist...

However, it needs to be obvious for everyone where an emoji stands for. I use the upside down smiley pretty often on Discord. Not so long ago, one of my fellow @teampossible members asked about the meaning of the smiley. It appeared everyone had his own interpretation, and on top of that, it was hard to explain what I meant by using it.

Sort:  

I think you do bring up an important point. Once you get off the really obvious ones and the literal ones... then it can be quite subjective as to what they mean... and from that point, they really lose their usefulness. After all, a language is only as good as long as the two communicating parties agree on the meaning... Plus, then you have the problem of the "literal" emoji sometimes having extra meanings...

The winners of the SBI Giveaway and the new question (Anyone out there?....) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/aliens/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawayanyoneoutthere-etcwr49a4g

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65800.35
ETH 3464.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68