You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SIAF's Media Contest -WIN SBD - Week 1 / What is your thing?

in #contest7 years ago

I have several things that I've created (art, writing, and short film), however as the starving artist in which I am, I have skirted the Law of 15% on a lot of things which I couldn't produce myself (i.e., music, some images, etc.). I don't plagiarize at all, I merely combine things to suit the creation. If I had infinite resources, I wouldn't have a problem contacting Bear McCreary and having him compose and perform a theme song or fitting musical number to go along with whatever video I may be making (I also wouldn't still be using Windows Movie Maker to do so). So please expand on your warning of usage of images or footage not taken from the free sites (which I looked, and found only one thing out of all those links that would fit anything that I do, possibly in the future). I don't want to make a faux pas here, so any further information would be appreciated.

Sort:  

Hey @tropicalwolf79.
By plagirsm I mean any use of stock images, sound, video, any kind of media etc, that you do not have the permission to reuse. You must have the permission by the original author to use it within your work, either by having asked them, purchasing a license to use it or using media lincensed under creative commons. There is many many resources online for stock media, depending on what you need. there is music librarys, loads of image and video sites etc. For example, you can't just download a video on youtube and include segments of it in short film unless it is stated you can do so an it is licensed under creative commons. I hope this helps :)

Well, for instance, I've written a poem, and I created a background using two images from the show Black Sails (I blended them together, and then put the poem on top of it), since I'm a huge fan of that show. I've posted that poem before, but gave accreditation at the bottom of the post of the sources in which I was using. The poem was the original creation, and I just used my digital art skill to blend the background together and put the poem over it. Now, is that plagiarism? According to the Law of 15%, I've altered the original image more than 15% by the blending and the application of the poem over it. Granted the only thing that could be said would be the actor Toby Stephens' claim of using his likeness, but the artwork has been altered more than 15% from the original image(s) used. And I've perused stock images, and none have fit anything that I would be looking to use. I understood where you were talking about permissions and such, but what I'm asking is, are you going to flag something that is well within the fair use laws and also exceeds the 15% alteration from the original, claiming it as plagiarism? Again, wanting clarification because I'm very interested in entering your contest. I already made a post of one of my art pieces for the contest, but it was about my girlfriend and her discovery of belly dancing. I hadn't read down past the part that told of this week's theme being about 'me'... so, oops... I got a bit excited I suppose.

Ah no worries I see what you mean now!
I don't know all too much about copyright laws, but yeah as you've said and as far as I' aware referencing things like that is absolutely fine. I was talking more about posts which have just copied something else blantly without making any changes, or using something they don't have permission to (something from shutterstock for example), believe it or not I've seen far too many of those on here :(
No that all sounds great, and totally within the law, No issues with that at all :)
I'm glad you want to enter the contest and are excited, thank you! Ah no way! No worries, I will check your post out anyway now. As the weeks go by, the subect will always be changing and I'll be introducing new things so keep an eye out. Thanks again I'm looking forward to seeing your entry!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68331.57
ETH 2650.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69