PAPA-PIXEL? - ENTER THE PAW CONTEST THIS WEEK FOR A CHANCE TO WIN SOME STEEM

in #contest7 years ago (edited)

A CONTEST FEATURING ME?

Earlier this week I was approached (digitally) by @jonny-clearwater to see if I would mind being the theme for the PAW (Pixel Art Weekly) contest. Since I love contests and helping out, I though, "Why not?" Now, it is a done deal and the entries are already coming in.

WHAT IS PAW?

Pixel Art Weekly is a weekly contest ran by @jonny-clearwater where entrants get to create their own pixel art. According to his contest post : "Pixel art is a form of digital art, created through the use of software, where images are edited on the pixel level."

If you want to understand pixel art a little better, @jonny-clearwater recommends checking this link: http://pixeljoint.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=11299

Though I have made a lot of images in MS Paint before, I never really tried this yet, until earlier today. @Jonny-clearwater recommended this free online tool : http://www.piskelapp.com/

PAPA-PEPPER GIVES IT A GO!

That image above (well, all three of them actually) was my first attempt. This was an entry level attempt. Please keep in mind that I had never really tried this before.


FROM THE DIGITAL LAND OF PIXELS


It was supposed to be me holding two snakes. Not being completely satisfied with that effort, I played around a little more, and found out how to make color images. After a little playing around, I was able to make a few GIFs out of some of my color pixel images.

That one is @papa-pepper at his gardening finest! He's sporting his steemit shirt and has just picked a pepper that is so hot, it is actually on fire. I may have exaggerated it a bit, but it is pretty close to reality. Since I have other hobbies besides gardening, I thought that I would try my hand at it again.

Now if that is not the wild-man @papa-pepper I don't know what is! Check it out: the camo, the shades, the goatee. Plus, just look at how he reacts to that wriggling serpent. Does he let go? No! Does he flinch? Not even close!

THINK YOU CAN DO BETTER THAN THIS?

The post that you are reading is a promo post. It is only a promo post. To enter the actual contest you must follow the link below to the actual contest post from @jonny-clearwater.

https://steemit.com/pixelartweekly/@jonny-clearwater/3nlmwn-pixel-art-weekly-theme-announcement-win-steem

He has been running this contest for months now, and some of the entries are amazing. Here are a few of the ones already entered this week.


@mynameisbrian


@gre3n


@inertia


@illestbambi


IMPORTANT:

The PAW Contest will begin on Mondays, at which point the theme for the week will be revealed. On Fridays @jonny-clearwater will post the top 3 and allow steemit users to vote for the final winner. Winners will be announced on Sundays and will be rewarded half of all steem raised on that weeks PAW posts. Entries must be placed in the comment section of the contest post from @jonny-clearwater.

OFFICIAL CONTEST LINK HERE

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-pixel-papa-pepper



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

I love how quick you started having fun with those pixels!
I can't wait to see what some of your followers come up with.
Thanks for participating this week brother!
Steem On

haha this is badass reminds me of mario paint.

Yes, I'm hoping that some others give it a try and have some fun like I did. It is not all that difficult and the end results are so cool. Brings me back to video games from my childhood!

Thanks @jonny-clearwater! Excellent contest!

good job spreading the pixel fun! pepper is doing pretty damn good for never doing it b4!

We've got some real artists here on Steemit.

We sure do! I think steemit inspires a lot of us in different ways and gives an outlet! Thanks man!

Thats cool @papa-pepper!
Those pixels and such movements reminds me on my fav game in my childhood - supermario!
I find it difficult to do such pixelated animation but lets give it a try.
Resteemed!

Some of those pixel art are just amazing.

I agree, I was blown away!

Are you going to give it a try?

I'll think about it! Never tried it before

What a beautiful & colored sharing! Thanks for Nice contest sharing. Upvote & Resteemed.

Excellent app :)

@papa-pepper The titles of your topics sound really good, inspiring and helpful for newbies:))

Upvoted and resteemed!

@steemit.global motive is encouraged to steemers from {Resteemed and Upvote}.

It's amazing that how fast you can learn. Now you make pixel art look easy!! Between, the contest entries are really brilliant. I think one entry is on Komodo Dragon. Have you really tamed this beast!! 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66425.17
ETH 3185.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63