Bycoleman writing contest - My takes and thoughts as a Judge

in #contest6 years ago

coffee-2306471_640.jpg
source

I am writing this post to share my thoughts, takes, and review of @bycoleman writing contest which was conducted a while ago. I had the privilege to be a part of the judging panel and review and evaluate many an excellent entries. The contest emphasized on writings that tell you life stories of contestants or their close ones. The response to the entries was overwhelming and a bit more than expected. There were great entries. Some stories were gave a feeling of sadness, some make you laugh and others that make you gasp in awe.

The prizes declared from @bycoleman’s part were substantial. 150$ was given which I think is due good. The judges were also given a reasonable amount of reward for their hard work.

When @bycoleman first posted announcing the competition calling in for participants and judges, I decided to apply for the part of a judge. My motive was to know and experience first-hand how the judging works on steemit contests. I have seen a lot of contests on Steemit and have participated in many of them, so there was a curiosity as to how some of thesse worked.

So I signed up for the contest as a judge and waited for @bycoleman’s instructions. After the instructions came in, that is when I realized that the judging process for this contest was unlike most others; one which I haven’t seen elsewhere. The transparency of the judging process was for me, the peculiarity of the contest. The reviewing, scoring etc. all was transparent that anybody with some doubt could look into the scores, transactions of each one of the judges. The judges did not have any contact with each other, the scores were all sent to @bycoleman in an encrypted memo etc. which I think avoids the judges being influenced by each other’s evaluation. After the final results were posted, all the encrypted memos were screenshotted and made public by @bycoleman so that anyone with any doubt could look into it and see for themselves. This sort of clean and straight forward evaluation process is something which I haven’t seen anywhere else.

Now for what I got from the contest, as I said, the experience of being a part of such a contest. Besides that, there were so many valuable entries which I had the chance to go through and also my reputation score spiked up along with number of followers and also received fairly good amount of SBD from @bycoleman for my work.

All in all, a very much successful competition that helped in bringing out the best from the participants and which must have helped the minnows and others with a decent amount of SBD. I hope that @bycoleman can organize these types of competitions many more in the future.Also congratulations to all the winners and thanks to all the participants and @bycoleman from my part.

Sort:  

Very cool program!

As a friendly reminder, the upvote fee is $0.05 SBD ($0.051 for incognito). Current 300%+ upvote is now $0.15+ SBD.

That being said…

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with a 300% upvote, comment and resteem from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

Not really sure why you would downvote this @bycoleman, I actually think your program is awesome and inspires creativity on the blockchain.

Anyways, have a great Easter.

This was an error on my part, I apologize.

It looked like you were simply trying to sell you services (spamming). I had not realized the author had paid for your upvote on this post. I have removed the downvote.

I have seen many people down vote bot comments to hide them from their post. In this case he should have paid the extra .001 as that is part of your service. It almost seems like he's asking for a downvote.

I would agree. But I digress...if it happens again ill just blacklist as it affects my reputation.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by nihalmaz from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Greetings! I am a minnow exclusive bot that gives a 5X upvote! I recommend this amazing guide on how to be a steemit rockstar! I was made by @EarthNation to make Steemit easier and more rewarding for minnows.

Requested by @nihalmaz

Thank you my friend for the very kind words and nice review of the contest.

I hope we can do it again soon as I really look forward to the great entries and the challenge of making the next one better yet.

Blessings.

Yeah it was an awesome competition by @bycoleman !!

Thank you brother!

Blessings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58211.91
ETH 2476.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38