Our 2018 resolution

in #contest6 years ago


Steemit Homesteading Challenge #7 Entry
The last few years have been a leading up to a simplifying of our lifestyle but nothing prepared us for 2017. If you haven't been following along on my steemit account you can catch up here and here.

The goal of 2018 is simple enough


  • Put our house back together- This should take us the better part of a year. To simplify the list of what has to be done, I will tell you the house is a shell right now. Only siding and studs remain. Everything else related to interior furnishings and walls etc have to be replaced.

  • Clean up and replant the garden- I would imagine this will get accomplished in stages. I will try to get as much done as I can this spring but the majority of the work will be spread through out the year so I can put in some garlic, onions, and potatoes down in the fall.

  • Start the apiary back from nothing- I had made good strides in building my apiary (bee yard) from local feral survivor bees. I would go recover these from trees or peoples walls and bring them into my apiary to work for me. I have until august to get bees into the apiary so they can be good and settled in before the fall dirth.

  • Restock the yard bird population- All our chickens, save one, died either from drowning in the flood or from critters. We lost over 20 but we will probably only build up to 10 or 12 this year.

  • The big goal we have this year is to get the house ready and the land cleaned up to sell! If all I have at the end of the year is one chicken and a few hives but the house is ready to put on the market, I will consider it a successful year as far as the homestead is concerned.

    Thank you @kiaraantonoviche for the challenge and I look forward to getting to know all the homesteaders here on steemit if not in person one day!!
    The water rose another 3 feet in just 24 hours after this pic was taken . Turns out, Bees don't swim so well!😩

Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com

The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

You have been my window into the devastation caused by the flooding. I'm looking forward to seeing all the progress you're going to make this year!

I'm looking forward to progress as well! Thank you for stopping by!

Wow that is some destruction. Yall certainly have your work cut out for you in 2018. I am so sorry for your loss and your struggle. I hope you have a swift recovery. Where are you planning to move when you sell?

Destruction of our "stuff"really sheds perspective on what is really important. The Almighty has been so good to us through all this! Im really getting so much encouragement and love from the steemit community!
We want to be in Southern Missouri or NW Arkansas!
Tangent
(My wife and I perused your etsy store and she has some things on her wish list! Great stuff)

so very true... glad to hear it! and thank you so much!

Oh wow! That's a lot of water! I look forward to seeing the progress! You've been entered into the challenge, thank you!

thank you!

Thank you for participating in the most recent #homesteadingchallenge! This comment is to inform you that the winner and a few honorable mentions have just been announced! I hope to see you in future contests!

Amazing survival story so far! A lot to do...just take one step at a time, if possible!! :-D

Yes. My wife has to keep reminding me to take it slow and if things dont get done when I want them to...they will after all get done! And thanks for dropping by and being an encouragement to us! Steemians are great! I need to make a shirt with that on it!!

There's some hard work ahead of you, but I am sure you'll do it.

Keep updating us with progress and I am sure all the homesteading community here on steemit will be behind you.

The work load is mind numbing at times! The community here helps out so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94