Who do you vote? #Let’s ask some question! - Steem Bounty of 5 STEEM-

in #contest6 years ago

I'm revealing myself today, or better said, I would like to talk about what and whom I vote regularly.


First of all there are already some (still few) Steemians I already know personally, so I got to know them face to face. This mostly positive personal experience has of course determined my voting behaviour.

Then there are also people, with whom I somehow imagine to have something in common.

That could include a lot, for example:

  • the basic attitude towards life
    -the skin colour plays no role here

  • plays of living or origin
    -of course I'm checking, reading and using the hashtag #deutsch quite frequently and I'm really interested about everything that is going on in Japan

And then there are also Steemians who have supported and accompanied me so far. Same suffering connects.

I also read and vote for users who I simply find interesting, even if they don't return my votes. Good content needs to be rewarded, unfortunately that is not what is happening here these days.

Last but not least I vote for myself, permanently. To have at least some little ROI. No shame on my side.

And what do I read?


Due to a lack of time, family life takes it's toll so I can't read all the content I'm interested in. Therefor I have to admit that I vote articles without reading, but every curation is done manually. No auto-voting or curation trail used at all, so every vote follows some particular decision. And I stopped checking my voting power, if something deserves a vote it will be done at any time.

But I'm trying to read articles and check out users who I usually not agree with. The reason is simple, I just don't want to live in an echo chamber or bubble, where everyone is having the same opinion as I have. To broaden my mind and to understand what is going on I need and I want to hear other people's thoughts. At least to a certain content.
And probably they won't get any vote of mine at all, and I also avoid to comment there these days. Discussions on social media became kinda pointless. The biggest reason people start to argue is to be right.

I usually check out my news feed, since these are the people I started following in the first place. Reading though here takes my time so often I can't go any further. But I appreciate some interesting resteem to take me to some new places.




I actually intended to make this a German post but @jmhb85 reminded me of Steem-Bounty and his last article (where he set a bounty of 100 STEEM) changed my mind, so I'm writing in English and setting up a bounty of 5 STEEM myself.

-#Let’s ask some question!

The question of the day is as simple as it is straightforward?

Who do you vote?

What kind of comment and what users do you favour?

Do you use auto-voting or curation trails or do you do it the old-fashioned manual way?

How much do you drain your voting power?


Leave me some comments, I think this discussion could also lead to a little more mutual understanding. Everyone is free to use his or her voting power (or mana) in any way he/she likes. Selfvoting included, even though we must understand the consequences if we prefer to stick to a close circle rather then supporting the community.

Looking forward to hearing from you, my dear Steemians.




interested in my other posts?

please come over, leave a comment
and follow.gif
@maxinpower

Love and Respect!!

Sort:  

I only follow around 100 accounts and these authors are usually the ones that I upvote for, except for whales. I have autovote on for some friends, but for the rest I will do manual voting between 30-40% of vp, not more not less. We are particularly interested in Japanese authors and reading their posts on everything Japan. Many of them are still minnows and so it is a good idea to dedicate a significant amount of my vp to support them.

my follower list isn't that big either, I try to keep it clear.
Most people I give a full 100 percent so I am draining out a little faster, but since I don't have to much time to spend here anymore that's not a problem

Dear @maxinpower, thank you to join this wonderful family, we need people like you. Regarding your question, i use most @minnowbooster service for automatic operations, but after HF20 i decided to keep in contact only with @steem-bounty users to keep my low RC because as it is now Steemit do not deserve i spend a cent of my RC for such Elite platform, so as you are member of this family, here i am to interact with human people who have right value of the social platform

Currently, I still curate everything manually and use no autovoter or bot because I like to have the control over my votes and decide on a post by post basis :) But of course I also upvote friends and Steemians who I want to support. But I do it manually at the moment and don't upvote everything a user publish.

Kinda similar here, but somehow I always return to certain people who often get my votes

I just joined the contest as well.

To answer briefly, first I use steemvoter for a couple of friends I already could gain here.
Second, I find good articles by chance via surfing. Mostly, I give 100% votes as my VP is still small. But my votes come directly from my heart, I swear :-)

Hugs and love,

Diana

thanks for your answer. and votes straight from your heart seem to be the best ones! :)

I do not make use of curation trails or auto-voting, I still do it the hard way but I have some users who get my vote rather than others. :)
When @followmikecee announced he needed help getting the money for a new roof together I voted his posts with 100% for about one and half a week.
Then came HF20 and I have not strained my RC since, due to obvious reasons.

Thanks a lot for your help, i appreciate it very much!

War doch kein Problem.
Ist das Dach denn nun finanziert?

I wanted to wait too, to regain my voting mana but at some point I just started voting as usual. I am at about 70 percent now, so no need to hold back anymore

I have to confess to using an autovoter for authors I like to support, because life can get busy and then I find I've missed voting on a really good post from a great author. If I have them on autovote, then I know they'll get my vote, even if I'm late reading it. I vote manually too for things I find interesting.

I vote for people I've met personally, because they are a kind and generous group of people. I also vote for those I find engaging. I try to upvote those who interact with me, but I don't always have the VP to get them above the dust threshold. So I'd I'm low on VP (or should that be VM now?) I might add a smaller vote to a recent post.

I do self vote, but only if I have enough VM for it and I'll do it later so it adds to the curation pool for earlier voters (not that my vote is worth much anyway). I try to keep VM above 90% because it loses value when it drops below that.

Posted using Partiko Android

My priority is posts that have little rewards and from users with low reputation, but never below. If the post is lgbt-friendly or scientific it gets more options to get upvoted. I also upvote most of the posts that provide @steem-bounty rewards.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, I agree with you mostly. Sometimes I follow people just because I know they will always share photography of plants, trees, nature, delicious food, animals, drawing, or art.

Other people I follow because they write about some controversial topics, and that gives me an opportunity to chime in and agree or disagree. Practicing comments that are constructive in nature, and not hostile or insulting is always a good practice on steemit.

There are a few people I follow just because I consider them a charity case, I have to admit. However, they share their honest stories and make quality posts, so any time I have some extra upvotes to give, I am happy to lend them a free upvote.

Usually I wait for my Voting Power (mana) to reach 100% before I go to bed, and then I upvote all my favorite posts until it reaches 90% or so, because it is recharged by the time I wake up. As long as I am having a day off, I generally allow it to recharge back to 100% before I cast another upvote, and then wait for it to recharge again. I always use 100% on the voting slider, because it makes people feel great to earn my respect and reward as a manual curator. I never trade votes or give up my votes to any service. I only vote for posts that I think deserve it.

Steem Basic Income and Dustsweeper are both great services I think everyone should own a little bit of. It feels great to get that extra pat on the back every time you make a post or comment.

Comments don't often receive an upvote from me, but if they go out of their way to do some research to help me out with a problem, and it is great advice, then I'll give them a 100% upvote.

Another thing I highly recommend to help people out that do a lot of manual curating, is to consider renting out some delegation from Blocktrades. Right now 90 day delegations are 50% off, and that is a super deal they do not offer very often in the year. Last winter I was able to have around 8000 SP for 90 days because delegation was so cheap. You can imagine how many followers that gave me when each of my upvotes were worth about $7 a piece. Usually I save my SBD's for leasing delegation, and all my Steem is used for powering up my Steem Power.

Thank you for your comment.

One thing about Blocktrades.
Their RC is negative so they can't process any delegations or purchases these day. Every delegation seems to be delayed now, so me might be better be careful and double check whether it's working or not.

But yeah, I was thinking about renting some SP too.

I vote a lot. However, my voting falls into three categories

  1. I'm a contest freak. So I upvote posts of contests I participate in.

  2. I automatically upvote random posts at 8% voting weight usually in the first 10 -15 minutes. That way I get at least 0.001 curation reward. Multiply that by 50 and I get something fair for my 390 SP every day

  3. I upvote my friend and folks I follow. Because I'm always applying for contests, I rarely have time to go through my feed. That's why I follow only a select few. Once every two days (or thereabouts) I go through my feed, enjoy the posts there and contribute my upvote.

My VP drains a lot. But I don't mind. If it drains too much, I turn off the automatic voting for a while.

Don't forget to vote after 15 minutes now, if not you won't get any curation reward anymore. One of the changes of HF 20.

thanks for your contribution, always interesting to read how others do it

How do know all the changes due to HF 20.
Any site or wallpaper?

I was just reading some blogs and comments of user Steemians to keep me informed. Just use the hashtag #HF20 and check out some of the posts there.

There's a lot of misinformation around. I'll advise you guys to check the git release notes and avoid reading stuff which is not true. It's easy to read and comes straight from developers. 0.20.2 is the main one.

https://github.com/steemit/steem/releases

@oclinton

thank you. very helpful indeed!

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Since I spend so much time on researching, writing and preparing posts so they can be published, and I can hardly keep up with comments and replies, I don't have a lot of time left to read.

I have a few autovotes set up for usersof which I know they publish quality content that interests me.

Further, I have set up a lot of my friends in Ginabot, so I get a notification when thfy pubish a new post. This doesn't mean I will always upvote those post.

I made a deal with myself to only upvote posts that either interest me or give me some valuable information.

The little time I have left I browse SteemIt tags, looking for undervalued posts made by smaller accounts. I strongly believe in rewarding quality posts from newcomers, since sometimes a little motivation can make the difference betwwen staying and leaving...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63843.45
ETH 2624.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76