Under A Blood Red Sky - My Entry Into: STACH Short Story Contest #23: 199 words, 5 winners, 15SBD prize pool!

in #contest6 years ago

Under A Blood Red Sky

By: Rickie O. Pauley (a.k.a. @Lymmerik)

"Morgan and Casey, sitting in a tree, k-i-s-s-i-n-g..."

"Stop it, Terry!" Morgan yelled down from a branch in the Cottonwood tree.

"...first comes love, second comes marriage, then comes Morgan with a baby carriage."

Morgan climbed down from the tree and chased Terry through the field. "I'm going to get you!"
Casey laughed at them from his perch in the tree.

Morgan stopped dead in her tracks and pointed to the western sky.

Under a Blood Red Sky.jpg

Image source & Credit

"Terry, come back!" Morgan screeched. "Casey, come down from there. We need to get home, look at the sky."

“What’s is that, Morgan?”

“I’m not sure Casey, I think it might be an asteroid.”

“Look at the beautiful sky, Morgan,” Terry said.

“Run! Run to the cave. There’s no time to make it home.” Morgan instructed.

Morgan ran close behind them and felt the hot wind searing at her back all the way to the cave.

“Keep going. Go all the way to the back.”

“It’s dark in here. I’m scared. I want to go home,” Terry cried.

Morgan held Terry and Casey close and tried not to scream as the blood red sky faded from view and the shockwave struck the mouth of the cave.

Thank you for taking the time to read my ramblings!

@Lymmerik

Lymmerik Atomic.png

Lymmerik-Particles1_1-(Converted) (1).gif

Sort:  

Did they survive?!

@vdux,
If I would have had that 200th word, I could tell you. That is the beauty of a 199 word short story, now isn't it?
I read it to a friend before I posted it and he asked me the same question!
There could be a grim sequel perhaps, or it could be tale of a nightmare or a story of survival. I will let you decide. I really want them to live, at least long enough for the mini series to come out! Lol!
Thanks for the comment.
@Lymmerik

Cruel. Very cruel.

@vdux,
I wrote a sequel to "Under A Blood Red Sky" from this contest.
The new contest from STACH is "All Is Not Lost" I fixed the story just for you! Lol!
Here is a link to All Is Not Lost

Your (this post) was 8 days old, so I will steal onto your last comment to vote. I liked part 2 I ahd to find your part one, Very compelling story.

Oh my gosh!! That went south so fast! It reminded me of the Disney movie "Dinosaur" for some reason :P

@caleblailmusic,
It's hard to pack a punch with just 199 words, but it would be a scene in a feature length movie huh? Lol
Thanks
@Lymmerik

You're welcome! I think you did very well, considering the (oddly specific) word constraint!

@caleblialmusik,
This contest it, in my opinion the best short story contest on Steemit. It is a challenge to fit in all the necessary elements for a story. Thanks again!
@Lymmerik

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59466.22
ETH 2616.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44