You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🌠Eat Like a Superstar! $100 SBD in Prizes!🌠

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

I would love to try this, but not sure if I'll manage time wise. As it is I often just eat cereal or toast when I'm rushed. It could really be beneficial as I'm menopausal and often bloated, but I hate cooking (hence cereal and toast) and work 11 hours a day. Wonder if it will work if I make a whole lot of stuff and freeze it, but that defeats the object a bit - fresh stuff is best. Also I'm quite restricted as far as ingredients are concerned, living in a small village with mostly the basics available. Jeez I sound so full of excuses! As you said, there's a week before it starts .... let me see if I can plan it. I actually have at least 4 vegan families as friends so maybe they can help ... just wish I wasn't so anti the kitchen. Anyway I've upvoted and resteemed it - step 1.

Sort:  

Well, @leighleigh let's start with addressing your concerns :)

Time:

I believe this is a huge problem in our society. We've got all this designed food for quick, on the go meals and they're not very good for us. That being said what we typically think to grab is usually not so healthy but if we change what we associate easy/fast with in our minds, it's much easier.

So this is a huge concern people bring up to me and I say to them, grab some veggies and hummus, that's super easy and couldn't be quicker. Just rinse the veggies and dip. You're good to go.

A lot of people like avocado toast. I don't usually do that because I am gluten free and I don't like avos haha but it's a favorite for my clients.

Cereal is hard for me. I know that some cereal might be vegan but I am not a fan of a lot of the ingredients and it's almost always accompanied with milk. I am betting you're not using orange juice in it, right? ;)

So, in that case you can sub out plant based milks or go with granola instead. You can make some at night and have it in the fridge.

Freezing stuff isn't the end of the world, not ideal but better than nothing, if it's what will help- go for it!

Ingredients:

This is a matter of perspective. I live in a small town in INDONESIA! We don't even have the same type of supermarkets most people are used to and the stores we have are limited in what I might want to put in my body. I only have 1 market a week to get my produce and I make it by so, it really comes down to commitment. Don't be deterred by this point :)

You've started part 1, I hope this helps lead you into part 2 ;)

Good luck <3

Thanks for the advice! I love avos and have 2 trees in my garden, how awesome is that! Although this year they are not producing much (they go through cycles). I also like hummus, and love fruit and veggies. I can go without meat, it's the dairy I battle with. I love cheese and yoghurt! I think I just love food, especially if someone else makes it :) I've gone through so many different stages over the years, following different diets etc. Thanks for the encouragement, I hope I can get my act together this week.

Oh wow! See?! You're already part of the way there! A lot of people would only dream of having a fruit producing tree right in their back yard! I have seedlings of avos but they're a far way off from my plate ;)

OK so, I know you feel rushed for time but if cheese and dairy are a problem, there are tons of premade vegan sources which you can either try to order online or you could check out some recipes, they're super easy and yo just throw them in the fridge and eat them when a craving comes! I have tons of cheese recipes and have one on hand in general at all times in the fridge ;)

I'm hoping you are able to find a way to make it work! I know dairy can be the hardest, most addictive part but it's also proven to be one of the harder things on our bodies and environment so it's incredible if substitutions can take up the slack :)

There's some great vegan recipes just here on steemit, some are super simple. Red lentils are just so quick to make, just require rinsing check this out https://steemit.com/vegan/@celestialcow/rapid-and-fresh-meal-no-hassel-minimal-preparation-one-pot-super-easy-lazy-vegan. For breakfast make warm porridge and Banana or soak your oats the night before to eat them cold. Get your hands on nuts and dried fruits to snack on the go. Having fresh fruits on hand is a great booster. What can you buy in your small village? I was staying in a small village recently the fresh veg was a bit limiting but they did have a health food section in the super, go for alternative and whole grain things, for example pasta is a quick and easy dish u can add veg too. Can you order online? If u are menopausal look into drinking maca or honey Bush tea.

Thanks for jumping in here @celestialcow ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54414.30
ETH 2295.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30