The Old Dog Presents: Spiders As Engineers and Artists. Contest

in #contest5 years ago

They might be the source of one of your phobias, they might give you nightmares  and you might even say that you hate them but you can't deny their amazing feats of engineering!

Yesterday I was stunned to see the length and strength of a tension/stabilizing thread coming off of the main spider's web. It gave me an idea for a new photography contest. Before we take a look at the rules here are a couple of samples.


The strong chord which stabilizes the web is at about 4 meters long (over 12 feet)!



I got this sample from Pixabay.com. Truly an example of artful engineering!

Now It's Your Turn! Get Out There And Take Some Great Photos!

 

  • Please take a picture of a Spider's Web It must be your own photo not one that you find on the internet
  • Show them to me in your comments and I'll make a post rewarding the best ones!
  • There will be a prize of one Steem each for the top five
  • The contest ends seven days
  • There is a limit of two entries per person


Do You Like Contests?


If you like contests and would like to see more of them here   on the Steem Blockchain please consider upvoting my post. Contests   help our community so spread the word!  


Thanks for following me on my blockchain travels and I look forward to sharing my adventures with you.  
 
 

Until next time, 

@kus-knee (The Old Dog) 

Let's Succeed Together!

Sort:  

Here's a 100% upvote from the @contestkings community.

If you run a contest and need support click here to connect with us today!

Thanks for the support

We had a golden orb in the garden for the summer. They have some stunning webs. It's gone now, but not that it matters, because I couldn't get my camera to focus on the web anyway.

Posted using Partiko Android

You'll find another one!

Now this is a tough one! I wish I had some cool spider web shots like the one here from Pixabay or like those @borran posted a few days ago but let me see what I can find in my archive :)

IMG_20171030_163504.jpg

Hopefully, the cool looking spider makes up for the not so cool looking web :D Photo taken in Mexico.

That really Is a cool looking spider!

I saw a monster in Palawan (Philippines once) hiding in a corner of a toilet.

Being from the UK we don't have huge sized ones, and @bingbabe told me to keep well away from it as it's one of the evil ones!

I didn't take a photograph as it was years ago, but the memory sticks.

Philippino monster spider hiding in a corner of a toilet. Too bad you didn´t take a photo. I would love to see it.

Ah I did have a digital camera then but it was early days ('99). I would do of course now, anything interesting gets a photograph!

Haha exactly. Even things and creatures that you should run away from rather than taking photos of :D Happened to me way too many times already, including that mad close-up of the deadly coral snake in Costa Rican jungle :D

I hope that you can find another one......perhaps in an abandoned building! :)

Now that's an idea. We were in 'the land that time forgot' yesterday doing an explore but didn't see any webs. I will look out for one.

Ha ha that big brown fast one 😱

I don't know about 'fast'. He had a large body and legs that stretched out in front of him, that were double the body length. He didn't move at all and I was glad of that.

Entry number 2. I don't mind spiders, as long as long as they stay outdoors where they belong!

hpbm86fmu3.jpg

The problem is that the seldom do!

I try to catch them and take them back outside, but sometimes that just doesn't work!

Have a great day! Let me present you two photos from my collection that show the skill of spiders. Their structures are very stable and able to withstand heavy loads, such as dew drops. But, even if you do not take it into account, it is simple, beautiful))

DSC02720.JPG

DSC02740.JPG

I love these!

I never see something like this... I love it ... Awsome photos... Good luck at the contest..

Here is my first entry @kus-knee i had to do a post on this fella because i found him or her so amazing i called it the "Roman Numeral Web".

The Old Dog Presents: Spiders As Engineers and Artist - St Andrews Cross Spider !!

n1sqd6cc36.jpg

12hvwreqff.jpg

Very nice example!

@ kus-knee hello dear friend, I hope you are having a beautiful Saturday night. I love these contests that you do. That if that is a great spider web.
This is my ticket to accompany your invitation
I wish you a wonderful weekend

Very different!

not a phobia but also not a fan of spiders.

Was still the designated "Get rid of spiders guy" for my ex girlfriend

Similar to me!

@kus-knee You have received a 100% upvote from @intro.bot because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57038.56
ETH 2908.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65