You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Day 48 - Selfie Freewrite Celebration Contest - Prize 114.58 SBD

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

xmormon.png
https://steemit.com/weekendfreewrite/@kimberlylane/leaving-church
I know, a scary selfie of me, but I like the way that it turned out and the symbolism that arises out of the negative (like light-filled within and a blackened witch, a column of windows behind).
Today's prompt just sparked again, me writing about having grown up Mormon and later walking away. It's a difficult subject for me because although I am no longer a member, I tell all it is my culture and there are aspects of the church I love and respect and so most often, I find myself coming to "their," defense.
Socially speaking, there are those early beginnings linked in spirituality, right/wrong, and school too, which prescribe and imbed beliefs and experiences we will carry with us the rest of our lives even if our minds are changed.

Sort:  

I went to college in SLC at U of U!

Cool! So you definitely recognize the LDS buildings :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62832.46
ETH 3374.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48