You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fractal Writing Contest #3 - winners get to keep their souls! (and a few SBDs); Results of Contest #2

in #contest7 years ago

The scientist scratched his head. It has been known and shown for several days at that point, unbeknownst to the public, but it defied all sorts of probable or plausible laws of physics.

"Dr. Anderson?", his assistant called him, while bringing additional papers regarding the research.

He was worried. He knew the scientist won't turn away easily from the result, yet he felt the urge to move on and find out, how to handle the situation.

"I'm not able to comprehend", the scientist replied. ", whether are we his appendage, or he appeared suddenly. I demand to know the outcome of the upcoming collision."

"Dr. Anderson, the Council voted on putting all our efforts to prevent said collision-"

"HOW?", he shouted, turning towards his assistant. "Even the magnetic field of the entire planet cannot disrupt that field!"

"But the Council-"

"I don't give a damn about the Council! They have no idea what are they playing with!"

Anderson then sighed and turned back. Sweat drops of nerve rolled through his forehead.

"Communication is the only solution I'm capable of thinking about right now. It has to accept its fate. So do we."

And in that very moment, the magnetic scanner image produced a small disruption, about 200 000 km from Earth, shaped like a tear drop, travelling through the already anomalous waves, before dissipating in the edge.

(my first impressions again, spoiler: looks like a giant entity made of magnetic fields, next to Earth)

Sort:  

That's really creative @katamori, very inspiring story! It reminds me of a great Grant Morrison comic, named... well, "Nameless"!

Thanks! I love writing and learnt a lot about tropes and plot design, but sadly I lack the capacity to have writings in length that I want to. I'm too impulsive of a person and hate massive editing later on.

One day I'd like to have an own comics series anyway.

A lot of people started their comics here on steemit, like @drwatson and @la-fumettista. There are many supporters as well, @bryan-imhoff (also a good writer). So, check them out, find your own and see how it works out.
There is also a new fractal contest going on, if you'd like to participate

Ah, thanks for mentioning those names! I'm not too deeply into comics yet, I'm aiming to read "Making comics" by Scott McCloud, because even remotely checking, it seems like a phenomenal source in the matter.

I'm also aware of your newer contests but I was unable to participate. There were tough times for me in the recent weeks which blocked all my creative endeavours.

But if you'd be interested by any chance, I have this. This is what I'd like to "comicify" if you will.

Steemit has been a great place for me to get started with comics!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61342.71
ETH 2389.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56