Punday Monday #27 on a Tuesday!

in #contest7 years ago

Sorry it's late folks, and a bit sloppily done, but you all deserve something more than nothing.

Here's last week's contest: https://steemit.com/contest/@improv/punday-monday-enter-this-contest-crypto-prizes-read-funny-jokes-this-is-number-26-jump-on-in

And last week's Friday POCKET Choice: https://steemit.com/pocket/@improv/214qnd-pocket-friday-for-punday-monday

All winners, send me a link you'd like me to put an upvote on and to send an @tipu tip!

Winner of the Pocket Choice award is...
@deaconlee! Congrats!

Winner of My Choice award is...
@ecoinstant! punleveleco.JPG

this week's word is

sticks.JPG
Sticks!
As in, "Why will the cinematographer be in pain? Because he'll trip odd." (See, it's funny because a tripod is called "sticks" in the biz, and "trip odd" shares a lot of letters with "tripod")

Sort:  

There is plenty of time left for new puns this weekend so I hope everyone sticks around.

When I was a kid, if I did my chores I got a gold coin. If I did not do my chores, I got whipped with a hickory switch. My parents believed in discipline using the 'karat and stick" method.

Upvote for pun, sad face for child abuse.

Sorry... my parents were truly lovely people but not all were.

What do you call a cod that's been battered and breaded and fried? Fish fingers; I'm a stickler for the Queen's English.

Explanation: there is a lot to unpack here. A cod is a kind of fish, which is often cooked in the form of a kind of fried cake. Different people call this different things: in the UK and the Commonwealth we tend to call them "fish fingers", but as I understand, in the United States they are called "fish sticks". Other countries might even use non-English names altogether. By calling them "fish fingers" we are performing a deliberate undermining of the structure of the pun because they aren't "sticks" at all! We then make a reeling recovery by drawing attention to the language barrier and use the word "stickler", which happens to start with the same letters as the word "stick", but means an entirely different thing, which is "a person who is very particular and cares a lot about something that is not necessarily worth caring about quite so much". By using the word "stickler" instead of "stick", we have broken the very rules that a "stickler" would care so much about!

Ooh, you throw us for a loop there, and then rebound with the pun. Nicely done. Nicely done.

I like this so much. I'm so proud of you. And of my instructions being used. Just proud proud proud.

I'm with you there, improv. btw, I'm back. You should read my recent post. Steemit and I are sticking together for life. We are betrothed.

Shucks, thanks you two!

Why was Spider-Man the director’s favorite superhero to work with? He was the only one that sticks to the script.

The random word generator has really put us in a sticky situation this week.

I agree. The situation is very sticky indeed. So much so (and I'm sticking to my guns on this one), I think we ought to hold a protest and picket.

Yes! Picket!

How's little improv? Are you teaching him any good comedy schtick?

He's a very critical audience.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61123.08
ETH 2628.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46