Pun contest week 5 winners and week 6 announcement!

in #contest7 years ago

Happy Punday!

I just realized I do this on Mondays. Can we start Monday Punday as a thing?

The entries!

As you can see here, we had a bunch of 11th hour entries, and that makes me glad. It ALMOST makes me want to choose one of them just to encourage their further participation, but I have too much of my identity wrapped up in being a fair judge of puns for that. I appreciate your entries. I think you're dang fine punsters, but only one can win.

The winner

As always, everybody wins, because

  • Puns are funs
  • I upvoted everyone's puns
    But only one is declared "the winner" and gets to send me a link to get upvoted. This week that winner is @doctorcrypto
    drivingwinner.JPG

But why?

I hear you cry.
It's complicated. I mean, for my brain. As in, it takes different meanings for both drive and range and combines them into a third meaning that's a thing.
Also, an honorable mention goes to @stinawog for
stinapun.JPG
I cannot keep a secret. This is my wife, and she has an unfair advantage because she knows exactly my sense of humor. That's why she didn't win. Perhaps she will win in the future, but I cannot award this first pun the win because, EVEN THOUGH she not only wrapped in a unique pun with a funny image of our buddy Vinnie getting a pedicure, I have to acknowledge that "driving range" is more to the tastes of the popular imagination, and this is why neither of us is a successful stand-up... yet. Perhaps we will persuade the rest of the nation that these stories are the funniest. Gosh, I'm almost talking myself out of this ruling.
But NO. Let it not be said that the Pun Judge is nepotistic.

I rest my case.

But, my love, I hope you keep punning with us.
I also appreciate the sheer volume of @paul.atreides' puns, and they're good ones. If the award were for overall quantity of laughs, he'd win it hands down. And big shoutout to our final contestant for sneaking one in under the wire, @themadgoat! Glad you're with us!

On to this week's!

stand.JPG
Like this, "When the little mom and pop podium company was being driven out of business by Wal-podium, the international podium mega-conglomerate, Jessie the activist knew she needed to take a stand."

That's not funny, is it?

  • sure it is
  • because activists are always finding something to stand up for
  • because a podium can also be called a stand
  • and if they're going out of business, they're probably on sale
  • sometimes activists stand behind podiums when they're making a stand
  • even though they aren't carpenters...

I'm confusing even myself. I have faith in you, though. You can make good "stand" puns.

Go for IT!

Sort:  

A leg on my step stool broke. I couldn't stand it.

I just bought a rare antique end table that is said to be used by
General Custer and the only one in existence.
It's Custers last stand.

I love a good historical pun! Did you know that at the Battle of Little Bighorn it was the indians that actually had the superior technology. In addition to archery gear, muzzleloaders and single shot rifles the indians had traded to acquire repeating Henry lever-action rifles! Most of Custer's men only had single action rifles since the Army was worried about them wasting ammunition as well as he durability of the repeating rifles. So, when the US government told the great indian chief, Sitting Bull, to keep his people on the reservation lands he didn't have to stand for it.

Thats Bad ASS!

Coming up with puns is way too hard, my brain can't stand the mental strain ;)

I forgot to include the how to! Follow these easy instructions and you'll find no brain strain!
https://steemit.com/contest/@improv/puns-and-prizes-learn-to-pun-easy-fun-anybody-can-be-a-hit-at-parties

yes! monday punday has to be a thing!

And as of this moment, it IS!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98