Free puns! Get your free puns! Punday Monday 39! A FreeWriteHouse project! Prizes!

in #contest6 years ago

Welcome to Punday 39!

DSC05867.JPG
If you haven't heard of freewriting, well, I'm surprised. It's something I learned about in college, and I began posting my daily freewrites here shortly after joining Steemit, and when @Mariannewest asked if she could make it a bigger thing on Steemit, why, of course, she didn't need to ask my permission, since it's not a thing that belongs to anyone, but I'd never say no to community building, and I couldn't even imagine that it would become what it has under her guidance, but it has!! (I win the prize for most run-on run-on sentence) Anywhoodles, we're a whole community now that welcomes everyone with open arms and virtual pads of paper. The account @freewritehouse has been created as a home base, administrated by the most eager and active freewriters. My only claim to fame is that I haven't missed a day since before her counting of days began. Otherwise, it is the active building of community by all the members that should be lauded and famous to the end of times... I'm gushing. The point is, go find out for yourself if @freewritehouse is a place you will feel a sense of belonging. Punday Monday has an official, mutual admiration society, working relationship with the freewrite community.

Do you want to know who won last week's Punday?

Here's the link to the punnericks and all the St. Paddy's Day puns: https://steemit.com/contest/@improv/punday-monday-38-st-patrick-s-day-celebration-limericks-and-puns-and-fun-and-funds-prizes-galore

The first prize we award is the POCKET Choice Awards

The voting post appears on a Friday, and here was this week's: https://steemit.com/pocket/@improv/leprechaun-pocket-friday-for-shillelagh-punday-monday-38-st-patrick-s-day-edition

As you can see, our winner this week was @ChrisRoberts! He wins again!

The folks in the POCKET Choice winner's circle are @miniature-tiger, @lilygolightly, @chrisroberts, @stinawog, @doctorcrypto, @heroic15397, @littlescribe, @diebitch, @acolucky, @ablaze, and @paul.atreides.

The next prize we would award would be the Best Video Pun Award

But there were no entries in this category. Submit your next pun as a video!
Since there were no entries in this category, we shall instead award it to @ablaze for making limericks that are also acrostics!

And finally, we come to the big prize!

Best Overall Pun Award goes to...
Oh, my, I can't not award it also to @ChrisRoberts! Sham-rocked the house?!? Amazing.

The winner winners win an upvote from me on a post of their choice along with a @tipu tip! Include your link with the next pun you post, winners!

Now on to this week's category...

In the interest of dovetailing with @freewritehouse, this week's puns will be on the topic
SIZZLING
As in,
Hey Dad! My soup is sizzling hot!
I'm busy now! Oil deal with that later, Sun!

Yeah. You can do better.

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join the fun

Still leave your puns in the comments below on this post!

Sort:  

While Snap, Crackle, and Pop went on to great fame with the Rice Crispy Company, many cereal lovers do not know about Sizzle.

Early on, the Company struck its bacon flavoring from the recipe, ending the quartet of Snap, Crackle, Pop, and Sizzle, while simultaneously birthing the Snap, Crackle, and Pop trio.

Those who were in the room testified that Sizzle got so angry when told that he began flopping on the floor. He hissed and spit, reddened to a hardened black crisp, and smoked to a stop.

Well, what would you expect? He was fired.

Too bad for Sizzle but at least he didn’t snap Snap, crack Crackle, or pop Pop because then he would have went down in history as a CEREAL killer.

That was excellent!! Sorry my 100% upvote is worth so little.. and it's at 95% as well... Oh well, some day I'll be a whale... But seriously, that was great!

Thanks. It is slow going when you start. It took me two months to have a $.01 upvote.

Yes, definitely a slow journey, but I am on here every day and doing my best to grow, so onwards and upwards! :o)

I asked my vietnamese friend if she would like some soup
She replied "Phở Shizzle"

Haha ha!! That's class... take a bow..

Now over to our music expert Blaise Fry..

"And the top 5 sizzling artists of the week, in no particular order are..."

The Red Hot Chilli Peppers
The Flaming Lips
The Hothouse Flowers
Hot Hot Heat
Arcade Fire

Thiss list is fierly on the money this year, make sure to buy an album though, as burning them means the artists make no Benjamins...

My mom called out to me from the kitchen:
'Help me with the food sizzling ! '

I ran in with a pair of scissors.
I wondered why she wanted her food scissored.

She lovingly smacked me on the head.

"So generous of you to host this neighborhood barbecue," a woman commented as I handed out sizzling chicken to everyone.

"No problem! My boss asked me to help out while he was away," I replied. "I'm only doing as he asked me. You'll have to thank him when he gets back!"

"Does he still raise champion Frizzles?" the woman asked.

"Frizzles???" I asked, confused.

"The breed of chicken he raises."

"Breed of chicken?" I asked, feeling dread washing over me. "I think I may be the one sizzling soon!"

"How hot is she?"
"Mmm. Sizzling"
"Is she from china?"

I don't get it. Like porcelain? What's the pun?

I am going to guess here but Ling sounds like a Chinese name. Let me try one:

"Says who?" Asked the gruff man.
"Sizz Ling," said Ling.

Maybe.

She's ling
This must've been most terrible entry here.
I'm sorry

Oh... ok.. no, now I get it. Trust me, the worst entry here is the one that says: "Great Post! I follow you you follow me?"

Two men were at a gentleman's club, in the early hours of the morning. The man one commented, "Aren't these girls just sizzling!", as his wife walk in. "As will be your "bacon"!", she responded!

Isn't that wonderful said the other guy, "It looks like Anne, is preparing a wonderful breakfast grilling!"

Alllllright! :D I won!

Here's a little re-telling I did yesterday of American folk story John Henry. It's set in the future, in a world where robot drivers are replacing humans across the board. Enjoy!
https://steemit.com/story/@chrisroberts/john-henry-2047-an-original-short-story


I'll think about my sizzling puns while I'm at work today.

When I tried to get the right meaning for sizzling from the dictionary the result was "The bacon began to sizzle in the pan"

Yes. Delicious hot fat. Now pun on it!

I have cooked up another deliciously weak pun for you this week. I wrote this week’s word on a piece of piece of bacon and tossed in the frying pan and started frying it on high heat. A few minutes later I checked back and sure enough, it was still SIZZLING.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58752.84
ETH 3153.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44