You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Winner of a real art print!

in #contest7 years ago

I am really glad for you too to have won!! Thanks again for your participation and also for giving your opinion!

About Steemit's effectiveness in promoting, I made an entire post here. Today I see that Steemit mostly have only content creators, curators and then the plethora of others that succeed in getting something from it. I suppose that to really be interesting for making your content and products to reach outside the platform, it'll need to attract "normal" people, who just want to hang out here and not specially get in the race of bankable interaction.
I mean, this was the main difference between myspace and facebook, one reason facebook went mainstream is because it is for everyone.

It's great to interact with other creators to share ideas but it's rare when they order something to another creator.

I am afraid that the way Steemit is built, it might never attract everyone. I hope they integrate something to make it possible. I was thinking of maybe a "free vote" (that wouldn't cost you VP) but which could still contribute in making the content more visible if people like it. I believe there's should be an equilibrium between actions that you do in order to make $ and others where you don't but still rewards you in visibility or reach, so to break a bit the "all for the $" attitude.

Just a BTW:
Do you know if there is any way to suggest ideas to the Steemit devloppers?
Do you know where to see the latest updates, modifications of the platform?

Thanks a lot for spreading my work around! Yes I am on Discord's Steemartists! I didn't know @newbieresteemday, @asapers, @helpie and @ifc.

Sort:  

Just a couple more things while I ma at it, I'd definitely try to get your posts on @artzone because it is probably has the biggest following that I know of, but @chrisaiki also has his weekly Steemit Art gallery post: https://steemit.com/art/@chrisaiki/steemit-art-gallery-show-your-art-week-22

I would also love to see you post on steepshot.io and maybe show time lapse of your work on d.tube or dlive.io because your work is fantastic and there is an audience for it! Unfortunately with social media you do have to spend time connecting with people if you want to spread the word (or hire an agent/manager). But I think having the talent and work ethics is the most important thing for an artist, but if you want to be commercially successful then you have to adopt the business mindset. I read your post and it is worth thinking about how we can further help creative people on Steemit because it will really add value to the platform (a good example is @slothicorn) but also @steemph and @artguildph that are building communities in Philippines for their artists.

I wouldn't count on providing suggestions to Steemit developers, but an alternative is to use busy.org and provide suggestions to @utopian-io where they are closer to the users and actively work to improve the user interface to the Steem blockchain. All you can really do is to follow @steemitblog and try to follower some of the developer's accounts if you want to know what is happening. Most people think that it is better to support the other apps being developed if you want something to happen sooner.

I do think that we should be rewarded for the work that we do and not for posting (and getting people to read them), but another thing you can do is create quality content about your area of expertise, like the trio of artists that started the water art project: https://steemit.com/art/@marty-arts/water-art-project-learn-watercolor-painting-with-us

Lastly, I forgot to mention @greetersguild that is also setting up a Discord group for people to connect and share knowledge with others in order to network and promote each other's work. That's all for now :)

Oh sweet, that's a bunch of very good info!

Yes, filming the process would be great, I just need one of these gopros,...

I have stepped into a pseudo-business mindset for a while, I know it's part of the job. I mean pseudo because I am afraid it won't ever really be my thing, doing it is ok, being excited and efficient at it is another one. And yeah, all these platforms to manage, it's a bit overwehlming.

Thanks a lot for the links. I already know artzone and slothicorn, I also use a bit busy.org and had a peek into utopian.io but I am far from grasping the functionning of all this.

Will check deeper, thanks again!

People keep telling me to just make a video, even if it is just a camera phone because something is still better than nothing? I find it hard to focus while there is a camera watching me though, and I probably shouldn't be giving advice about things I don't do myself :D

They always talk about a critical mass on social media, and I guess with your unique talent and skills it is encouraged that you try and share your work with as many groups as possible because I know there are people looking for talent on Steemit like @steemgigs, @ifc and probably other groups :)

A bad video quality is ok so long you have a good sound. That is the worst (Altough of course maybe not for art videos :D ). To be filmed or film yourself and being fine with it is often a question of getting used to it. And usually if you're concentrated in your art you'll forget it soon.

Haha yeah, got to plan some massive invasion!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62416.00
ETH 2447.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62