Who Are You?!

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

That is one of the hardest questions for me to answer. I have tried to answer it, and every time I do I come up with tens of answers. I am a non-writer that writes on steemit, a non-creative guy that creates. I am the handy boy who received the greatest shock of his life literally when at the age of 7 I tried plugging my mom's blender to a socket using the spokes of my bike as a helper. All I wanted then was to impress my mom and thereby be given the "job" of cleaning the blender after mixing the cake with it.



unsplash.com

That is a job that everyone wants to be a part of the team handling it. I have given up in rendering such "help" which would put me in harm's way for a proposed benefit.

Every day I tried to be the best of Green, being Green hasn't been a walk in the park. Life is unfair, anyone who expects it to be fair had already set up himself for failing. I try not to compete with anybody I only compete with myself. This may sound easy but I assure you it is not. I am my own worst critic, so when others bring in their "acidic" criticism which is probably intended to get me down, I laugh. I laugh because I have already told myself a worse version of that.

Growing up, I have been fascinated with the idea of being a celebrated author. Even though, I was struggling with the English language, as it is not my first language. How can I be a celebrated author if I cannot write in English? Translation. Yeah, that is a possibility, I can write in my mother tongue and get translated in every language possible. Chinua Achebe did it in Things Fall Apart and had the single book translated into more than 50 languages.

My world class art

What topic/genre do I write on? Then, I checked and found virtually every topic I wanted to write on has been written by other well-known authors. How then do I become celebrated if all I am is a fraud that copies others works? Amidst all this turmoil, fate was just standing there with its all-knowing smile cooking up a twist that would make sure I never write.

Then there was steemit, suddenly I, a nonwriter that writes can now write and be rewarded for it! Sometimes real life can be stranger than fiction. So, my happiness was beyond compare when I saw that you can write here and people would get to see it. I do enjoy the mundane things of life: watching the sunset, knowing somewhere in the world someone would pay a $1m to see the sun. But they can't because they are blind. I am weird, oh yeah! Tell me what I don't already know!

I love DIY, I can spend $10 to do a DIY of $5, most people from my country may call me that typical pennywise pound foolish guy. But the joy I derive in doing it just about pays for the other $5. After all, my Dad used to say that there is joy in madness which only the madman knows.

This is an entry into for the Steemit's Untalented Contests by @surpassinggoogle where every contestant is a winner. The offer is just too irresistible to be ignored or passed up.

Sort:  

I told you and @prettycynthia once: "the best writers aren't writers". You are finding out partly what i meant, by yourself.

I never read books in reality, when it comes to writing stuff. I don't know any of the books i have seen you mention. And when people rhyme their stuff to make poems, i went teoms with t being terry and beauty came out in the form of bizarreness. It is more about the things you can see that even the world can't. So when people go scolding a kid for always wearing their flip flops wrongly, i saw instead beautiful intelligence in that, the kids tend to do the wrong act correctly every time. While people were busy going for the fallen mango everytime, a select few picked up on the study of gravity. Your edge is in your substance. If that grows, you will be writer anyways regardless of language without barriers to entry. I use the example of a may weather and a mohammed ali, both boxers but one is on another level and may weather won't doubt it. Look at a mourinho in his presence and perhaps, a wenger and you will instantly see stark difference and if they have to compete even in writing, i am sure one will stand out over the other, not cos they where writers. As for being your nemesis, you can channel that into advantageousness and bring yourself into world-classness. Look for your edge and hone that and if i speak to you in one solid conversation, i can tell you your edge. "green run already says alot" and that is why i added "drawing your username" into the curriculum of the contest. And i apply your username into the stunts of my tiny convo with you to help you see new ways to play. Thank you for participating. You may not know how much you have learned but i try to pass so much to you in my small comment. Substance when it becomes substance isn't easily swayed. So if twas me, even if everyone says, you are ripe terry, write a book doesn't mean i may write a book, for i may go another route. I thought i was writer. I would sway everyone with my tiny text messages and handwritten letter. i was writing will you marry me proposals and these wives will say yes but i wasn't writer afterall. And you may not be writer either. Now, you may be a writer but pace things. So you doubting mind can be put to good use too. Read this comment closely, understand its concepts and context; look at it, more as life info and you will grasp.

This is deep. The more you look, the more you see. I understand what you mean. It even surprises me that I do get what you mean. That being said, I think I missed the part of the contest requiring drawing a username. But truth be told I've lost my gift of drawing. Used to be pretty good growing up. Somewhere in my teens the gift went poof! My attention to details may be the death of me :)

So fast. The draw part can be bizarre too. More fun. More exploration

I'll give it a shot now :)

Updated. Hehehe

You are one of a kind @greenrun... I met a lot of young nigerian guys in the neighborhood in Apapa, Lagos when we lived there as expats... They were funny and a lot of times very helpful and always smiling. You may never know what´s inside their minds and seldom did I encounter someone who wasn´t smiling. Despite the hardships in those days under Martial Law (mid 80´s), they still had their dreams. You should live your dreams and follow your instincts, a writer to be or not, you are still young and whatever the outcome will be, I know you´ll make those dreams come true. Am crossing my fingers!

Thank you. Nigerians are very cool, happy people contrary to what most media would like you to believe. But I'm glad you've been there and witnessed it first hand. Sometimes the only way out of a lot of things not working right is happiness. You can lose everything but try not to lose that sense of humor. Thanks for dropping by. I appreciate it.

This is really an insightful comment. Over time my improvement has come from some of the comments like this. I even marvelled at how much i am doing on this space which is different from my formal development all along. Thanks.

Yes. Steemit in reality is designed to help you find yourself. You may not be a chemist afterall. Maybe you are suppose to be creating recipes for everlasting burritos. Who knows.

Or taking care of animals. Hahahahaha

I think the right words are; when others are trying so hard to tell tales in pleasing patterns and put poems in rhymes and rhythm,

You just reach out the the scrapy thought of what the world is to you, and the madness forms beauty when written down.

@surpassinggoggle trust me, i grasped.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for being so supportive of @greenrun, and all people on steemit. We need to clone about 2000 of you then there would be no bad karma of any kind on steemit.

I see people against cloning coming for you :)
Thank you.

Real talk about the clone part. You are welcome.

... and then there was steemit... it brought us all together, non bloggers started blogging, non creators started creating, non writers started writing, story telling became monitized, reading started fetching money, commenting became earning... it happened to us all, steemit happened to us all

You are 100% right. I think that's why steemit is the best social media platform for everyone that wants to show the world what he or she could do or accomplish without much fear of being ridiculed. Thank you.

You're welcome Sir.
Really enjoyed reading this post and your resteemed post from @churchboy.
Steem on!

Oh, I like the post by @churchboy. Our culture is very important to us, the people. Going by my grandmother's favorite quote, "Those who don't know where the rain started beating them may never know when it stops beating them." We really need to know our culture to be able to know who we are as a person. I just checked the post and saw you are a person who likes culture too. That's awesome. Steem on✌️

The post was spot on!
When next i get to my village, i will take out time to find out more about the Osu thing in this contemporary age.

That won't be a bad idea. It's good to know such things

Yeah Bro... Thanks for your time and the insightful comments!

You welcome

You're a shining star bro. Keep on shining. Steemit has given you the light.

Thanks. You are far too kind. The camaraderie here is second to none. You guys are really doing it right. I'm humbled by the kind words. Thank you.

Excellent delivery as ever you should definitely write a book , dosnt have to be something too serious or intense , just do it the same way you delivered this post effortlessly, I will buy !!

Cheers mate!

Wow. This is surreal. For real? Thank you.

You're one of the best I have seen here my brother. Keep motivating us Evergreen

I get motivated by others, never knew I have it in me to motivate others. Thank you.

Nice writing @greenrun

Thanks a lot.

U are welcome @greenrun
Don't forget To view my blog

You are 100% right!
I sincerely think you should write a book as well!
This is impressive.

Thank you. Let's see what the future gives. I appreciate your dropping by.

You are welcome

You're such a young girl, I love the way you write, your message reaches the addressee.

Hi, thank you for dropping by, the picture you see on the article was from a free image site, unsplash.com. That is not me. I'm a male by the way. I'm glad you like the article. I appreciate you for stopping by. It means a lot to me when people respond to an article I wrote. Thank you.

jajaja Okay, I love your writing, keep going.
Greetings.

Thank you @samic. I appreciate your greetings.

After all, my Dad used to say that there is joy in madness which only the madman knows.

This is another ingenious word i have read today. And funny enough the mad man is genius in his madness. There is actually no loser.

In the game there is no loser. Best game to be involved in.

Life is not a bed of rose where you sit down, sleep and be expecting someone to just bring you food to eat. If you are not on your toes it will fuck you up real bad because life itself do not want anyone on it to succeed.
Thats an eye opener for us all that we need to put in more effort and be the best in whatever we know how to do even if its rubbish, put in your best and who even tell you that what you call rubbish is even rubbish.

Dirtiness is a great oppotunity for mr/mrs soap to make exploit and be usefull @surpassinggoogle

You've got the message. Do your thing. That's what matters. Thank you for dropping by

Exactly..welcome bro

Steem on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75