Art Prompt Writing Contest #1: ResultssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #contest7 years ago (edited)

Art Prompt Writing Contest.png

My first writing contest attracted many great entries. The authors were asked to write an original piece of fiction of between 500 and 1000 words, using this painting by @yusaymon as inspiration.

DQmQtm6qFYWvHQaotqyoQihGQ3dEvFY7mcUyVML9AerALfC_1680x8400.jpg

The contest closed last night and I waited until then to sit down and read all the submissions. In judging I considered how much I felt the painting influenced the stories. Although by no means a technically adept writer myself, I also examined this aspect in the submissions. The length of the story was the final decider.

and_the_winner_is.jpg

In choosing the winner for this contest, I went for the one that had the greatest impact on me. The story stayed with me and my thoughts kept coming back to it long afterwards. I found the final scene to be very powerful.

I am happy to announce that @lenadr wins!



https://steemit.com/writing/@lenadr/silence-after-chaos-art-prompt-writing-contest



The prize total consists of my original 10 SBD, the 5.325 SBD earned from my original announcement post, plus 3 SBD that @cristof generously donated. I have rounded this up to 20 SBD.

I did struggle over the decision so feel it fair to give honourable mentions to some of the other submissions.

@jasonbu's ENTRY was highly original and heart wrenching.

@sandzat's STORY was so touching, I had a lump in my throat by the end.

@cristof's TALE of rekindled love brought out the old romantic in me.

All three mentions will receive 1 SBD each.


Prizes Sent

Thank you to everyone who took part. Having entered a writing contest myself recently, I understand all too well the disappointment of not winning. This was very hard to judge.

Please try again with my next writing contest. Look out for it next week.

Image Source


Proud member and supporter of the #minnowsupportproject - brought to you by @aggroed, @ausbitbank, @teamsteem, and @canadian-coconut
Click HERE to learn more


Sort:  

OMG thank you so much! I seriously never win anything, like ever. You've made my weekend. A million thank you's!!!

My pleasure.

The end of your story really touched me.

AMAZIIING!!

I was out of town, so missed the contest entirely, but wow! Congrats to @lenadr! Anxious to read the entry! A provocative painting, for sure. Looking forward to the next one.

Thank you!!

I was talking about this very idea with a fellow Steemian, @tattoodjay, just the other day! We had no idea how to start such a contest. I am so glad you are doing this and that you had such an excellent response. Keep On Steeming On! Upvoted & resteemed!

Thank you very much. It was fun and very hard to judge, I had lots of very good entries.

I will do another one next week.

I can only imagine how hard it would be to judge. I tend to get overly invested in such things. I look forward to next week's contest!

Very cool. Thank you for running the contest. It was fun to write for, and I anticipate entering in the future.

Congrats @lenadr. Not sure about you but that painting got me going. This was a fun contest and a great idea. @sandzat and @cristof glad to share the mentions with you both (humbled to share the mentions actually) Congrats to all the entries.

congratzz to everyone <3 keep participating and remember this newbie haha

This post received a 5% vote by @minnowsupport courtesy of @gmuxx from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Beautiful Work I love this painting!

I certainly didn't envy you the judging job having read the entries myself. My congratulations to the winners and especially to everyone who worked hard writing a story and put themselves out there. If you did your best and are proud of what you wrote, you won regardless of your placing or lack of it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62033.06
ETH 3004.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48