You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: POETRY CONTEST - Write Me a Sonnet - Win SBD!

in #contest7 years ago (edited)

I am ALL OVER THIS! And I know some peeps in Poetry Workshop who'll be excited, too!

This is not my entry, but I just happened to write one this morning, so I feel I'm properly warmed up!

All boots and ankles, pranced on avenues,
they tramp department stores in purpled glow.
Their spree of spending hastily unglues
connection to the boiler room below

where tinkers toil for basement-ocean pearls.
A merchant fails his profits to withdraw
and votes away his stake to pretty girls
who write their regulations into law.

His corner store gains interrupted grace,
a grant to trade a claret for a clam,
while senators define his steeplechase.
Oblivious, he's lost a thinker's damn.

Economies of scale, they pit us all;
the government picks giant over small.

Sort:  

Yes! That's what I'm talkin' about! Thank you so much for sharing.

❤ I wish i could write poem like this! 😄 Love it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57529.75
ETH 2571.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44