Vintage Voices: Entry - With @dreemsteem and @anutu

in #contest6 years ago

20180901_185834.jpg

Good evening my lovelies!

This is my entry to @dreemsteem’s Vintage Voices competition as dreamed up by @anutu. The job is to take a picture of something antique, vintage or sentimental from your home and “tell a story from it’s perspective”. I hope you enjoy this.


We’re not sure where our story starts, because our story starts with stories. So many stories. Some about love. Some about death. Some about dragons. Some about holy men. Some large, some small. Some epic, some forgotten. But we always came together to make stories.

But then the stories stopped and our little lead hearts were heavy. We found ourselves thrown in a box with just one page of old, yellowing stories lining it. Those stories weren’t happy stories.

Then, after many lives and stories had passed us by without us being allowed to tell them, we found ourselves in a high room, full of many men. Some had beards, some had waistcoats. There were women too… in tweed. They were all listening to a man. We didn’t like him. He talked too fast, spilling out words and numbers as if they were worthless, and then banging his hammer down when the numbers got high. We were held high over someone’s head, so were lots of other boxes of shiny things. Then the hammer banged and we were thrown to the ground in our box.

And then we were moving fast in another rattling metal box. We could hear a man called Tom telling stories. We wanted to record all his stories, but we were still stuck in our box.

The big rumbling metal box stopped in a street. Lots of the other things were taken out from around us, but we were left there, but at least the sun was shining. And then we heard a different voice. Tom started to tell the different voice a story and we recognised some of our words in it. Books. And type. And lead.

And then SCRAP.

We knew that word. Were our stories over and never to be told again? The other voice, the girl’s voice was asking about us. She reached in and held some of us. We liked her. She had stories in her soul.

And then we were in her arms, sailing through the sunny street to a new home. A home full of stories. The girl whispered that she would never, ever sell us for scrap. That she would help us tell our stories again. Even simple one-word stories. Like Love. And Laughter. Like Dreams.

We like our new house full of stories. And one by one, we get to stamp our letters again.


Yep, you guessed it. I live in a town full of antique shops and dealers, and I'm friendly with several of them. One afternoon I was passing by Tom's and he had been to an auction. I asked about what this glittering mass was, and he told me it was old type- but it wasn't worth anything, so he was going to sell it for the minimal lead scrap value. I was upset by the idea of this and asked how much he wanted for it. He picked the box up, dumped it in my arms and said it was a present. I love my glorious family of type, don't you? Imagine all the stories it has created!

Hope you enjoyed this.
E x


EVENINGART.gif


Sources: all photographs by yours truly

Sort:  

I upvoted your post.Thank you @yehey for steem delegation, we are helping to promote authors with good content.

Best regards,
@Council

Please vote @Yehey as one of your Witness. Join us at https://SteemChat.com steem community.
Use @automation chat bot for a fun conversation.

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

haha! yay eveningart! the type was saved from being melted down and you're right, just think of all the stories they could tell. wonderful job with this on girl!

Thanks Janton - I love going through them. My OCD side kicks in and I'd love to sort them all alphabetically... but I think that might take me a lifetime or two ;)

haha! your OCD side, that's too funny but I totally understand eveningart, thanks for getting back to me!

I have not only a huge box of lead type, but I have printer trays, for storing the types, and different font sizes, and wood cut and lead image blocks for printing images in newsprint!

Ooh it seems we are oddities of the same variety ;)
I love the printer trays- I have one on my wall with all the things I find stashed in it. It's getting a bit full, so I may have to hunt down another one soon. What are lead image blocks, I've never come across those! I've got a couple of lovely wooden letters too, which I absolutely love.

Plenty of letters, in differing FONT'S and sizes, as well as some images.

Screen Shot 2018-09-24 at 10.58.44.png

Screen Shot 2018-09-24 at 10.59.25.png

neither of these are my images. See the picture block? Above image? I have a few dozen, mostly sea, boats, ships, ocean, waves, etc. When they set type for newspapers, they used lead type letters. They did the same for images. HOT METAL it's called.

Oh AMAZING! I'm going to have to keep my eyes peeled for some picture blocks too!

Very uplifting story. After watching flame war on Minds, this is exactly what I needed.

Hehe- thanks Rhet- I'm guessing that could play havoc with one's sense of sanity ;)

This is so wonderful @eveningart!!!! So good you saved these little fellows from being scrapped. they deserve a better life! Before we left for getting here, I had the matching large wooden trays to sort and store my watch parts for my upcycling artwork. Always wondered how the former inhabitants of the trays would have looked like :)
xx

I've got one of the wooden trays too @anutu, and would like to get more. I like to use them to house all my found treasures ;) I'm so glad you liked the post. It really was like being given a box of treasure! E x

Yes, those wooden trays are amazing cool. I love the post. This is really something I like most ... embracing the little things in life.

Have a most beautiful and wonderful weekend !!!!

xx

oh my gosh - finally getting to this - you took me on an adventure with this one!!!!!!!!!!!! wow!!!!!!!!! I thought that this was going to be easy - and now i read yours. LOL
BRAT!! hehehehehe

i love that you always put so much into your stories!!!!! this was captured me!!!

Ah - how I love being called a brat- it makes me feel so warm and snuggly and part of the family (that's really odd, right?!?!)

Glad you enjoyed it Dreemie x

nope - i actually like it too hehehehehe

its like a little playful term of endearment hehehehehehe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05