You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Vintage Voices: Entry - With @dreemsteem and @anutu

in #contest6 years ago

I have not only a huge box of lead type, but I have printer trays, for storing the types, and different font sizes, and wood cut and lead image blocks for printing images in newsprint!

Sort:  

Ooh it seems we are oddities of the same variety ;)
I love the printer trays- I have one on my wall with all the things I find stashed in it. It's getting a bit full, so I may have to hunt down another one soon. What are lead image blocks, I've never come across those! I've got a couple of lovely wooden letters too, which I absolutely love.

Plenty of letters, in differing FONT'S and sizes, as well as some images.

Screen Shot 2018-09-24 at 10.58.44.png

Screen Shot 2018-09-24 at 10.59.25.png

neither of these are my images. See the picture block? Above image? I have a few dozen, mostly sea, boats, ships, ocean, waves, etc. When they set type for newspapers, they used lead type letters. They did the same for images. HOT METAL it's called.

Oh AMAZING! I'm going to have to keep my eyes peeled for some picture blocks too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57320.16
ETH 2472.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31