Steem Basic Income Giveaway: Justifications....

in #contest5 years ago

Thanks to everyone who took part in the last SBI question about Brand Loyalty. It was quite interesting to see what sort of things that we get attached to... out of comfort or habit!

This week, I was thinking about how we all justify things to ourselves... sometimes, we know that we do something that isn't in the best interests of others (or ourselves...) and to live with our choices, we make a reason for doing what we do.. in other words, we justify our choices to ourselves... and to whomever might be observing. It's the way that we can live with what we do... sometimes, these things are innocuous... other times, they can have far reaching consequences... sometimes, the justifications are worthwhile (mine always are!) and sometimes they are flimsy (yours always are!!!). Heh, just kidding, our own justifications always sound great to ourselves...

So, two question parts to this week...

My Question

  1. What is something that you have done (that might not have been neccessary or good), that you have had to justify to yourself (and others)?

  2. What is something that you have observed someone else do that you disagreed with, and how terrible was the justification?

My sample answer

Unsplash

I LOVE electronic gadgets... but more mundanely, until recently... I liked having and using decent laptops/phones/computers. I still do, but these days I have let the upgrade cycle cool down significantly (after all, we are at a bit of a plateau with these things...). However, when I have wanted to upgrade in the past... I have always justified with the idea that my old equipment would be passed along to my wife whose phone/laptop/computer was even older than mine... and that I should upgrade, so that my hand-me-down would be an UPGRADE for her!

I'm lucky that she doesn't care much for the hand-me-down technology, she's not really big into that sort of thing anyway... but there it is, I want a new shiny toy... and I say it is good for her to get my old toy!


As for a terrible justification that I heard recently on Facebook. Post New Year, there is always a terrible huge clean up that is required... and some of the reactions that I had seen to the mess (I often see people just litter crazily here in Europe... even when they are standing right next to a bin...) were just some crazy justifications for why it was okay to make a huge mess... now, given that it is the internet, and it is hard to discern real justification from trolling...

The justification that I thought was the most mind-blowing was:

If they cleaned up after themselves, then the rubbish collectors would have no jobs... and so it was good that people got paid for doing the work of cleaning up!

WTF!!!?!?!?!?!

Rules

  1. Upvote is optional
  2. Resteem is NOT neccessary.
  3. In the comments, answer as best as you can the questions that are posed in the "My Questions"!
  4. I have added a small Steem-Bounty to the post, so that everyone who replies with a valid entry will get something back. If I give your post a small upvote, it is valid (also, subscribe to @dustsweeper for maximum benefit!).
  5. I will be sponsoring as many people as this post pays out in liquid SBD/STEEM. Also I will kick in at least the required amount to round up to the full number. Winner is by random generator after a shortlisting of quality comments!

Steem Basic Income

One of the first communities that I came in contact with at the beginning of my time at Steemit was @steembasicincome. As a author starting out on your fresh new Steemit account, Steemit can be a daunting and lonely place to be. OFten, it can feel like you are posting into an abyss with no one listening and with no ability to grow out of the situation. A share of Steem Basic Income gives you a guaranteed vote on one post a day, thus giving you a small but over time cumulative support to your account to help grow you out of your initial wilderness!

With this post, I want to help sponsor people who might not even have the spare 1 STEEM that is required for registration. So, when this post pays out, I will sponsor people depending on the payout of this post. Basically, I will round up the SBD payout from this post and then that will be the number of people I will sponsor. (So, if the payout is 2.3 SBD, I will sponsor 3 people). OF course, this is not simply an altruistic move, as the sponsor of a Steem Basic Income share also gets a share, so it is a great way to help others whilst helping yourself!

Last week's winners

The last post paid out 0 SBD and 10.778 STEEM in liquid earnings. So, that would make 11 shares.

The winners by random draw are:

@fredkese

@dswigle (x2)

@ryivhnn (x2)

@redheadpei

@drawmeaship

@chireerocks

@sipahikara (x2)

@gooddream


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones


The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman

Sort:  

It's currently the Harmattan season here and that's our version of winter. We have cold weather but dry and a little dusty, but no snow. Lots of people don't like bathing including me and we justify that decision by saying the weather is cold.

Oh boy.. that must get quite interesting! I guess there isn't quite so much hot water there for showers!

You can always heat water, but a lot of people also believe hot water causes you to get wrinkles much earlier, so they don’t usually heat water

The winners and the next SBI Giveaway (Your Job...) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steem-basic-income-giveaway-your-job

One of the hardest decisions I have ever made was to start or not a PhD at my university. After many years studying a college´s degree and a master´s degree in chemistry there, I was unsure about what to do next. I liked scientific research at the laboratory, but I also suffered its downsides: being unable to sleep before an important experiment, the long sessions of work, the frustration of not knowing what is not working...

Then I decided I would only have started the PhD if I have got a grant. Almost all my companions doing a PhD only got a grant after at least two years working for free, so I know that was very unlikely. However, if I accepted working for free, I would have contributing at keeping that injustice. Science in Spain is terribly bad funded, even for those that have completed a PhD.

At the end, I didn´t got the grant and I am looking for a job as chemist since july 2019.

About the second question, having a science career it is now worthless for entering forensic police in Spain. Some forensic police officers demanded a wage bonus for their science careers, and they got it after a lawsuit. The police bureau doesn´t want to pay that bonus to new officers, so they don´t consider science careers for the new applicants.

I have some Spanish friends who moved here to Netherlands because of the lack of opportunity for Science in Spain. They are pretty happy here, despite the lack of Sun and the less than great food... so be happy you have great food down there!

It's almost sadly hilarious that they don't want Science graduates for forensics... bleak humour...

The winners and the next SBI Giveaway (Your Job...) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steem-basic-income-giveaway-your-job

I used to grab the peanut butter jar and eat spoonfuls thought the day. I know it's bad because it's so fatty but I would try to justify it by thinking, 'I just want to be happy. Can't I live?' This was a really bad justification and I found myself gaining weight from doing this and making similar decisions.
Now for the other part. My dad likes to throw garbage out the window of the car when he's driving. Things like gum wrappers, napkins, receipts. This makes me mad so I ask him why he does it and he answers, "You expect me to carry that trash around with me until I finally find a garbage can?" Why not? That's what I do. I hate littering. That's just a flimsy justification. I'd give more leeway if it was something organic like a banana peel because then the justification that it will decompose is at least a better excuse.

Holy moly... I thnk I would feel awfully sick if I did that... I'm feeling a touch ill even just thinking about it!

I was taught to just hold your rubbish until you find a bin... after all, there are more than enough of them. It's something that I make my kids do... I refuse to hold it for them, they hold it... or put it in their pocket until they find a bin. I really can't stand the concept of littering... something that people just drop for other people to clean up after them... AAAARRRRGH!

The winners and the next SBI Giveaway (Your Job...) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steem-basic-income-giveaway-your-job

@bengy has set 1.000 STEEM bounty on this post!
logo_for-light-bg_1000.png

Bounties let you earn rewards without the need for Steem Power. Go here to learn how bounties work.

Earn the bounty by commenting what you think the bounty creator wants to know from you.

Find more bounties here and become a bounty hunter.

Happy Rewards Hunting!

Congratulations to the following winner(s) of the bounty!

@bengy, In my case once I've accepted a job which i thought best suiting for me and it was well reputed IT Job but after a while i felt regret on my decision and then I've submitted my Resignation and left that job, so that decision was a regret for me because I've gave my good amount of time to that job.

Once my friend wanted to take my advice for his marriage. And then i got to know that to marry he turned against of his Parents and prepared to leave his old parents who put everything for their only child. Current generation think that they know everything and without understanding anything they take major steps and feel sorry afterwards. Nowadays it reflects as parents are losing the right to give advices to their Children because in a way they are standing against their parents just because they are thinking that they are right and their parents are not. So, when i got to know about my friend's decision i just gave one advice and that is, marriage is integral part of life but leaving your parents behind all alone just because they are not completely agreeing with your decision, will going to turn into most regretful decision of your life. I just shared my opinion with him and never communicated with him after that.

Have a great time ahead and stay blessed.

Posted using Partiko Android

Great advice! It is a pity that you lost so much time to a job that you didn't like... but at least in the end you came to the right choice for you... some people continue until the end...

Thank you. Life is weird journey and we never know which decision will going to bring what kind of experiences. But it's upon us if something is not resonating then we should move towards that aspect which is resonating. Stay blessed.

The winners and the next SBI Giveaway (Your Job...) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steem-basic-income-giveaway-your-job

The first question is that I have to justify to some people why I am in a band because I am not able to work - but being in my band takes about 3 hours in a week and doesn't compare to working an entire week and it makes me happy - the second question is actually my husband who stopped smoking more than a year ago and is now smoking a few sigarets a day - he says that he is just trying to enjoy life - I don't agree but he is an adult so what can I do :)

Being in a band makes you happy, then that is enough justification! What sort of band? and what do you play?

LOL, I am happy that my partner doesn't smoke... I can't stand the smell of stale smoke... bleah!

I am happy that for now since he knows I hate it he does it outside - if you want to see about my band it was in my post of 2 weeks ago :)

Cool, I will take a look!

The winners and the next SBI Giveaway (Your Job...) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steem-basic-income-giveaway-your-job

Two things that I did have to justify (and probably aren't the best). The first was kind of a major life event where I stayed in the band that I was in long past when I should have. I justified that I should stay because the people were in my friends and I didn't want to unhinge the entire group by leaving. But it was best to leave because I think deep down none of us were really fully enjoying the experience anymore and just holding on because the others were.

The second thing that I tend to justify is bad food choices if I've had a really rough day, though the food doesn't usually make me feel any better, so I probably shouldn't do that lol

Something that I disagree with other people justifying is group mentality to dismiss decisions. For example, "why should I pick up my trash when nobody else is?", "why should I recycle if my friend doesn't", etc. Basically using a generalization to justify not doing something that people should be doing is what I disagree with.

Ooooh... I have been there... staying on out of loyalty to friends... when we all knew it wasn't working. I was listening to a podcast today about how unhealthy peace (in human relationships) is much more debilitating than unhealthy conflict... it's weird, but true enough...

Haha... I "treat" myself to fast food when I feel down... and then I proceed to feel sick... I know it is going to happen, but somehow I manage it every time...

Group mentality to avoid making the moral choice... that is a terrible one... it is basically an excuse to not step up and do the right thing..

Oh that is interesting. I didn't think that the peace option would end up being worse than a messy conflict since I've always been one to avoid conflict whenever possible.

Right? It seems like it's so good in the moment and then half an hour later you start asking yourself why you gravitated towards that greasy fast food burger haha

The winners and the next SBI Giveaway (Your Job...) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steem-basic-income-giveaway-your-job

One of things I have regretted is not saying what I really think. I justify it by saying I don’t like to impose my opinions on others. This thinking backfired on me a few years ago and I regret not speaking up.

A friend I had known since childhood had emailed me that she was having a gall bladder operation. She had a lot of health problems and I remembered her telling me it was dangerous to have an operation because of a blood disorder.

As I read her email, her earlier conversation crossed my mind and I wondered how come she was going ahead with this operation. I had a bad feeling.

Did I ask her about it? No! I replied that a gall bladder operation is quite routine nowadays. I went on to respond with news of what I had been doing.

In closing off my return email I wished her well and said I hoped to see her in the summer. We lived in different provinces but tried to see each other once a year.

I know I could not have affected the outcome but I wish I had picked up the phone and talked to her for the last time and said,

”Don’t do it Linda. I’m really worried about this. The operation it too dangerous for you.”

She wasn’t in pain at the time but had known there were gall stones.

The sad ending of my regret is my friend survived the operation but died a couple days later. Looking back I wish I had followed my instinct and phoned her. Not only to talk but to ask why the surgeon thought it was okay to proceed with the operation.

I know that feeling... I think it is more common than we think. On the other hand, there are some people who have absolutely no problem interjecting their opinion regardless of whether it is wanted or not...

I'm sorry to hear about your friend... medical operations and surgeries are difficult and tricky things at the best of times. There are so many complicating factors... and even the ones with the best chances can go horribly wrong. My brother is a doctor... and they can also get completely blind-sided by something that they would have thought to be routine... in the end, a risk estimate is only a guessed probability... and like all probabilities... you might just get unlucky.

Life certainly is a crap shoot. Being a doctor certainly carries a lot of responsibility and they can’t save everyone but can only do their best.

The winners and the next SBI Giveaway (Your Job...) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steem-basic-income-giveaway-your-job

Thank you for the shares!!! That is awesome!!!

!tip

My pleasure!

The winners and the next SBI Giveaway (Your Job...) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steem-basic-income-giveaway-your-job

🎁 Hi @bengy! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Monochrome Discovers Musing Monday Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63889.31
ETH 2757.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66