You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Basic Income Giveaway: Justifications....

in #contest5 years ago

One of the hardest decisions I have ever made was to start or not a PhD at my university. After many years studying a college´s degree and a master´s degree in chemistry there, I was unsure about what to do next. I liked scientific research at the laboratory, but I also suffered its downsides: being unable to sleep before an important experiment, the long sessions of work, the frustration of not knowing what is not working...

Then I decided I would only have started the PhD if I have got a grant. Almost all my companions doing a PhD only got a grant after at least two years working for free, so I know that was very unlikely. However, if I accepted working for free, I would have contributing at keeping that injustice. Science in Spain is terribly bad funded, even for those that have completed a PhD.

At the end, I didn´t got the grant and I am looking for a job as chemist since july 2019.

About the second question, having a science career it is now worthless for entering forensic police in Spain. Some forensic police officers demanded a wage bonus for their science careers, and they got it after a lawsuit. The police bureau doesn´t want to pay that bonus to new officers, so they don´t consider science careers for the new applicants.

Sort:  

I have some Spanish friends who moved here to Netherlands because of the lack of opportunity for Science in Spain. They are pretty happy here, despite the lack of Sun and the less than great food... so be happy you have great food down there!

It's almost sadly hilarious that they don't want Science graduates for forensics... bleak humour...

The winners and the next SBI Giveaway (Your Job...) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steem-basic-income-giveaway-your-job

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61141.76
ETH 2438.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56