You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Basic Income Giveaway (I'm a monster....)

in #contest5 years ago

I would love lab grown meat... I think it is really the real viable alternative, at least in the mid term. There are many people who are more like me, we are concerned about our eating habits and the impact on animals and the ecosystem... however, not willing to go completely veggie or vegan. We have switched to a few vegetarian meals a week, and we do use less meat... but I don't think I would be able to give it up completely.

I did see the Impossible Burger in the supermarket just a couple of days ago... I was curious, but wow... it was pretty expensive! Anyway, when the veggie options go on sale, I make sure to pick up a few packs!

Ha... doing chores... I can't wait until that is unethical!

Sort:  

I certainly hope that it becomes a good enough alternative for people. Seems like it would have all of the upsides for people who feel a need for flesh, and a whole lot less downsides.

That's awesome that you're cutting back. It took a me a very long time to transition to being vegetarian and then vegan. I never thought I'd be able to either. What changed for me was a culmination of a ton of different things sort of shifting my perspective on the world. So little separates us from our fellow animals. But, I'll leave that conversation for another time, if it's even one you'd be open to having.

I'd suggest a qrunch burger if you can find them where you leave. They're not meat alternatives, just a very tasty veggie burger that is whole food based.

I don't know if it'd ever be unethical but I could definitely see it being a frowned about activity at some point.

Posted using Partiko Android

qrunch.. I"m not sure if they have them here... but we have had some really nice veggie options, not burgers but really good stuff including "meatballs" for pasta and "chicken" sticks... I think I prefer the stuff that really are vegetarian and don't try to be fake meat!

Yeah, I guess I can sort of see the benefit for having fake meat stuff, but I find the truly veggie ones that just use the same shape are more appealing. Though I have not tried very many, as I stopped eating most kinds of processed food before I went vegetarian.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51