Some Big Changes I'm Planning To Make In My Life [Entry for writing contest by @averageoutsider]

in #contest6 years ago

pexels-photo-68562.jpeg

At this point, I am nothing but grateful for all the things that have happened with me and to me in my life. I definitely feel like I have grown a lot as a person and finally have a much clearer idea of what I what to do with my life.

When it came to making change and influencing people, I always knew that I had potential, but I just didn't know a way to prove it. I had no direction. But now, looking back at the person I once was, all I do is smile.

Overtime, I began to see the places where I was wrong but I didn't admit; and where I knew I should've said something but kept my mouth shut. This alone taught me so much that I simply can't imagine myself being that same person anymore.

I have changed, surely, and in a good way, I think. Even though I don't really have a cabinet full of trophies and medals, I still think that the way I've changed myself as a person is still an achievement in itself.

I have learned that one of the keys to a happy and successful life, is to keep making changes, because whatever stays in one place for too long, rusts. I'm positive that these changes will help me become a better version of myself and find my true potential.


Learning How To Play A Guitar


The idea has always been the same: I want to give my voice to the world. I want to see that spark in someone's eyes when they listen to my music. That raw feeling of being so deeply connected with someone that all they wanna do is just stare and listen to you is all I could ever want.

As a young teenager, I used to see artists singing and playing their music and there was this strange and powerful energy in them that screamed out the message they were trying to share with the world. I remember feeling so inspired and I could somehow relate so deeply with their words.

Even though I have developed a lot of new hobbies and interests over the years which I believe have a potential of becoming a career, writing being one of them, I still know in the back of my head that making music is all I truly want to do with my life.


Working On My Body


If you have been following my blog for quite a while now, you know that about a month ago, I made a post where I shared how between all the work on Steemit, my health started to deteriorate and I started to gain weight. I did start jogging to counter it, but soon after I became a freshman in college, my whole schedule pretty much went to trash.

It's gotten really hard to manage time and the few hours that I have spare with me in a day, I try to exploit the hell out of it. Still, if I know that I'm not in a position to write under all the stress, I simply don't because writing while being exhausted will only diminish the quality of my posts, which I can't let happen.

I still haven't figured out a way to balance the three: college, Steemit, and guitar classes. But I'm working on it. As soon as I'm done updating my schedule, I'll start jogging and exercising again. I know how important physical health is and how is it directly related to your mental health, so it's in my best interest if I start soon enough.


Writing More Articles To Build My Blog


This one is fairly obvious. I'm a Plankton and if I wanna grow on this platform, then I'm gonna have to work my ass off. But as I said before, quality beats quantity for me. Even if I'm not able to post regularly, I wanna make sure that whenever I actually do post, I give it my absolute best. Not aiming for perfection, obviously, but still a hard enough push.

I have also started to see some really nice appreciation on my posts lately, and with all honesty, it really helps me to keep going. It drives to keep writing and keep blogging for the platform. I'm really happy with how my articles turn out and also the genuine comments that people leave on them.

I know that these coming weeks are going to be exceptionally hard and I'll be super busy, but I'll still try my best to balance everything and bring you guys (almost) regular articles. After all, this is what I love doing.


This is my entry for the Pick A Topic Writing Contest under the topic ‘Major Changes You're Planning to Make Soon’ hosted by @averageoutsider.

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Hi @ayushjalan ... Nice post, and as usual, well formatted. I received and read this entry into the Pic-a-Topic writing contest quite a while ago, but could not respond due to steemit being a little funky...

Also...This will probably be the last contest of this type that I'll be running; at least for awhile. The fun has waned due to 'low' participation, which is due in part to less activity over-all on steemit for a variety of reasons...

I'll just quietly (in a sense) just let it 'fade' away. 'You' will be a keeper on my 'following' list so that I can keep up with your work through my 'feed' page. I might also 'occasionally' post a contest of some sort periodically.

Even when a bit more people were participating in this writing contest (like most others) the writing quality was 'poor' and a lot of plagiarism was being employed. The 'scammers' and 'spam' comment creators, I could flag and mute, but still had to reward some who slipped by, as well as the poorly written posts, because I had to fulfill my obligation.

Again...Thank you for being a 'great' participant with quality posts, and interaction with 'others' who visited as well by up-voting and commenting on their entries; few take the time to do that.

You're among the best here on steemit...keep writing and posting for the benefit of all.

Regards,
@averageoutsider

You're among the best here on steemit.

I'm gonna add that to my compliments folder hehe. Thank you so much for all the support and kind words from your side for all the entries I've made till now. Even though I'll miss these pick-a-topic contests, I'm still excited for the new ones that you'll drop on your blog soon.

As for the participation rate, I do agree that it has been really low lately. I remember when I posted my first entry and there were a healthy amount of participants with genuine writing skills. It was a real competition. It is certainly one of my best memories on Steemit because that post gave me my first big boost (earning above $10) on the platform which I'll forever be grateful for.

I think the reason for the low participation is the rather small reward system. Don't get me wrong, I'm all for writing even after small rewards, but I think most people aren't. They are after the big bucks. But what they don't understand is that for real writers, money isn't the first priority. If it was, they wouldn't have become writers in the first place. Writing is an art, and artists become artists to express themselves to the world, not just for money.

I'm so glad that you'll still be following me even after being done with the current contest series. I'm so so grateful for that. I'm definitely looking forward to the next series that you'll be hosting and I hope it's soon. No matter if the prize is small, I'll always participate.

:)

That 'first' entry that you submitted I believe was curated by one of the 'human' curating trails here on the platform. Sometimes they come back and hit you up again for a post they like.

Best regards.

Man I always wished I could play a musical instrument good choice for a goal.

I'm relatively fit myself but now I'm a full time dad for the rest of the year I have only gotten to the gym 4 times since June already noticed a drastic decline in both strength and fitness. one thing that has helped me combat this is using a weighted skipping rope Skipping is a far superior fat burner and cardio than joging as well as being better on the joints and improving postire.

Yeah I've heard the same too. Maybe I'll try skipping and see how it goes. The biggest advantage is that you don't have to leave your house to skip so you save more time that way haha

Cutting off some extra weights is also on my to do list in fact ongoing. Though sometimes miss the walk. Nice meeting @ayushjalan

You too @sherbanu.
Thanks for stopping by :)

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

How make bitcoin free without investiment? Vizit my video >

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ayushjalan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99