Recent Big Changes I Made In My Life [Entry for writing contest by @averageoutsider]

in #contest6 years ago

pexels-photo-42153.jpeg

Everyone at some point in their life, realizes two things:

  1. They need to change themselves, and
  2. They need to change the world around them.

For me, I came to realize this a few years ago when I could no longer be comfortable in my own skin and knew that things can't keep happening the way they are, which I talked about in one of my earlier posts.

Now, after a lot of sleepless nights, regrets, fighting my own mind, and gaining a different perspective on life, I'm close to becoming a better version of myself. Though, I'm nowhere near practicing the best of my abilities yet, it's still a noticeable start.

From my experience, I've learned that what you let go of, and what you hold on to, makes the biggest difference in life, determining what you will become in the future.


Career


Figuring out what I want to do with my life is the only question that still gives me anxiety up to this day. While everyone else around me including my friends already knew what field they were going to pursue, I was the only kid who had no idea, not because I had no interests, but the exact opposite, in fact. I had too many.

I couldn't decide which one to go for because most of the things that I was interested in, required a lot of financial and emotional investment, which a broke teenager from a middle-class family couldn't afford. But then my cousin introduced me to Steemit, a place where I could literally get paid to write. A total win-win situation.

Honestly, joining Steemit is the biggest change I've made in this year. I got to meet some amazing people and I learned a lot from them. But the reason why it means so much to be is because I got to do what I love. Writing has always been one of my escapes and to be able to make it a potential career, is nothing but pure bliss for me.


Health


After reading the above paragraph you might be thinking that everything worked out just fine for me, right? Not really. As I began to write daily posts to build up my blog and get more and more attention on my work, I realized that my health started to deteriorate. I started to feel lazy and went from determined to demotivated.

It all happened so fast that at one point it got so overwhelming that I had to force myself to take a break of a day or two. I started to gain weight and eventually had neck pain because I was sitting in front of the computer for most of the time in a day and wasn't really paying any attention to what was happening to both, my physical and mental health.

I knew that if I keep letting this happen, it'll soon start to affect the quality of my posts as I wouldn't be able to think clearly and enthusiastically. So, in order to balance it out, I started jogging and a few other exercises in the morning or evening, depending upon the work I have left to do, with some small yet considerable changes in my diet.


Perspective


I've made some really horrible decisions in my life, and I'm pretty sure you guys have too. Sometimes it just becomes impossible to not regret over the stupid mistakes we've made in the past and think about what would things be like if we did or said something different.

But the way I see it, your regrets polish your perspective. A person who has never made mistakes, has never learned, and thus has never truly lived. We all make mistakes, some greater than others, but if we don't let ourselves make new mistakes, we'll always be trapped in fear, and won't be able to live life the way it's supposed to be lived: fear free.

I know that sounds really dramatic, but it's true. The sooner we realise that regrets are only lessons and nothing more, the sooner we can free ourselves from the chains of guilt. Most people see regret as a sign of failure, when in reality, it is a sign of progress. It's a sign that you are growing as a person and are beginning to learn from your mistakes.

After all, isn't that what wisdom truly is?


This is my entry for the Pick A Topic Writing Contest under the topic ‘Recent Big Changes I Made In My Life’ hosted by @averageoutsider.

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Good post.. thanks for sharing

Thanks for reading :)
It means a lot!

Congratulations; you won the contest with this entry.
Regards,
@averageoutsider

Thank you :)
And thanks again for the resteem. Really grateful!

Great topic

Whether it be a quarter or midlife or old age crisis, we all experience a spiritual re assessment at least one point in our lives, some more than others after experiencing more traumatic events as well. Some call it a meltdown or going nuts, but like in Zoolander it's always the question asked: "who am I?". that's why I like this post. apart from being well written and structured!

Thank you for leaving such an amazing comment!
And thanks again for the compliments! :)

This is such a refreshing post and much needed for where I am in my Steemit venturing. I have struggled with all of what you have said, but I have never gone to the measure to do what it takes to make sure I am thriving in the things I love. You made to sure to start jogging so as to not detract from your true joy -- WRITING.

I can go on, but I will leave it there for now. Thanks for a raw, honest post. And the truth is, I think the career thing is keeping ALL of us Steemians up at night. Hence, we are here :-)

Best @ayushjalan,
@betterbeing

It all comes down to your love for writing. I started jogging because I can't afford to lose the quality of my blog because that's the main reason people visit my blog in the first place. Plus, I think of my blog as a public diary of sorts where I share stuff that means a great deal to me. My ideas, fears, stories, occasional photography and all kinds of other things. If you look at it from my perspective, keeping it real is the best way to thrive in the Steemit community.

Thanks for your honest comment. Means a lot, seriously!
And thanks again for the resteem :)

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Congratulations @ayushjalan! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The semi-finals are coming. Be ready!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations on your winning post...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ayushjalan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63453.92
ETH 3283.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89