Best COMMENT CONTEST#4...Win A SBI Share (Lifetime Up-Votes) 3 Winners

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

The Prompt:"How Can We Help Each Other on Steemit?"

This week's 'Outsider' Comment Contest presented by @averageoutsider is the fourth in a series for which 20 Steem has been set aside to award one participant per week, a share in @steembasicincome ...

                                        

I've been having fun running this project, regardless of the turnout. For me, it's been my little way of giving back to the platform and community of Steemit.com Which I think is sometimes under appreciated at times (steemit) in our various frustrations. Steemit, is a new and 'novel' way of connecting with people around the globe in ways, not easily afforded in the past.

With all the seemingly selfish, self-centered and other devilish activity here, set aside...there also exists a growing segment of the population on steemit who seem to be anxiously, benevolent souls.

So...here is your opportunity to express your own thoughts about the 'spirit of giving' in any way, shape or form you choose.

Special 'Extra Awards'

The only, 'other sponsor' of this contest so far, has generously decided to increase the award pool to 'three' SBI through a contribution of his own. Therefore, we are going to have 3 winners, instead of one...

1st Place = 1 SBI

2nd First Place = 1 SBI

3rd First Place = 1 SBI

Open Dates

Sat. May 5th through Weds. May 9th 2018 (4 Days)

Closed Date

Thurs. May 10th

Rules

None

Suggestions

Try not to write a book...;)

That's it...Have fun.

Sort:  

Steemit is a microcosm of the world. The best way to help each other is to treat each other with compassion. We need to remember that behind every post that we disagree with, every piece of spam, every hateful comment, there is a living breathing human being trying to do their best in the world.

Thanks for the submission.

LETS FOLLOW THE FOLLOWING

when ever i get more people following me i like to take alook at what they are bringing to the community.
I will check there profiles and blogs and see if i like what they are posting.
Then depending on that content i will follow them back and maybe throw in some upvotes and/or resteem's.
That way the people who have took the time to read and follow your work can expect the say kind courtesy in return.
I recon that the my feed tab should be everyone's primary place to go so that you can make your followers,top priority.
my feed.PNG
you are following these people for a reason so use your top dollar on upvoting there. That way we help each other out before using whats left of our upvote on meeting new people and engage in other’s posts.

Thank you for hosting this giveaway and good luck to all who enter
1354.jpg

A nice take on the vetting process for people you might be thinking of following. That is the common recommendation which I think few know the value of.

The up-voting recommendation is on target as well @father2b ...Thanks for your entry. Good to see you again.

But...of the 'following' advice: If we add too many people to our 'follow' list, then it clutters up our feed page which obscures those people who post what we are most interested in so that we can reward their new posts.

One of my favourite contests to enter. thanks for the reply

Great tip! The people on your feed, for one reason or another are there because you saw something to make you smash that follow button.

I think here we have many communities within communities and this will help us move forward together Is there a better way to travel?

Right here is a little community that we dip in and out of regularly, (awesome to see you here again too!) Although I feel a little squeamish saying it, if @averageoutsider wasn't giving a cool community minded reward, would we have stumbled in here? I like to think in time we would yes, but maybe not so soon.

My squeamish disposition is assuaged a little because I know what the aim is here and for whatever reason, we are here and we are contributing to the narrative.

Probably the greatest question to never get asked on the blockchain!

If you'll forgive me for making my own rules as I go :D I'm gonna change it slightly for my answer.

How can we help eachother when we are still plankton?

Firstly we must never disregard dustvotes, every little helps is a slogan which is incredibly relevant I think. By the way would you rather have 1000 0.5 cent up-votes or a single one dollar vote? But up-votes are not merely financial anyway. A single 0.01 cent up-vote with a deeply thoughtful encouraging comment that acknowledges the piece of writing you put your heart and soul into can be worth the same as a couple of whalevotes to somebody questioning if toiling in vain with nobody reading their content is pointless!

Which leads nicely into my next point...ENGAGE and often, everyday if you have the time, the journey is just better with friends right? Proverbs of lonely millionaires are almost commonplace. You will hear a lot that "content is King" The point is valid but to me "community is King" and adds far more value than money ever will.

When you do grow and you will if you stick to your purpose here...Give a hand up to the little guy or gal who comes through the door all wide eyed and naive with an empty wallet.

To any and all reading these humble, heartfelt words May your journey be bloody magnificent!

Image courtesy of the AWESOMETASTICAL Pixabay.

I'm quite a way off from reaching 500sp where I will have a slider. That slider represents being able to upvote (support) more people. Until then I have found it frustrating only having 10 votes a day to use. And my vote being worth less than the dust level, meaning someone has to vote with me for there to be a payout. So, I've recently done 2 things.

  • I've had a couple of contest where the prizes were SBI shares. That means those people get an upvote from me through SBI forever. And for doing that I receive a bigger upvote from SBI, meaning I am speeding up my march toward 500SP and beyond.
  • The other thing I just did this morning was I leased some SP to make my vote worth $0.03. I had won a contest with STEEM and SBD payout, so used part of that to lease the delegated SP. I can now vote someone's post or comment and know they will receive a payout.

Said another way...
If you give, you will receive.
The more you give the more you will receive.
So, you cannot look strictly at giving, you have to spend part of your effort and rewards, growing your account, so you are better able to give.

Nicely put @wizarddave. We will all get there in good time and if we can throw even a little love in the direction of those who contribute to our FAB blockchain along the way, then that is cool too.
Remember even a resteem or promoting someone else's post in a Discord curation channel can give indirect rewards to others :)

Sometimes a great comment is quite enough to spur someone on for a new day. Whilst I have only dust rewards to offer (I feel tumbleweed would be a better description lol) I spend a LOT of time writing comments to those whom I believe have great potential in the hope it validates their work even a little.

Take care man, have an amazing journey ;)

Thank you @wizardave for the thoughtful reply...I agree that having only a pinch of dust here early on to share, can be disheartening for those of us who are of a generous nature.

The SBI route helps to remedy this Newbie pain a little, in two directions as stated.

Thanks for sharing. Regards @averageoutsider

Between you and every goal that you wish to achieve, there is a series of obstacles, and the bigger the goal, the bigger the obstacles. Your decision to be, have and do something out of the ordinary entails facing difficulties and challenges that are out of the ordinary as well. Sometimes your greatest asset is simply your ability to stay with it longer than anyone else.

Quote from 'Brian Tracy'...Nice try, but you are disqualified.

I love Brian Tracy! I am such a Dinosaur I still listen to some of his stuff on audio cassette, I know, right?

I generally prefer to take on his inspirational messages, success prompts and chicken soup for the soul from the source.

After all if he has gone to the significant expense of making his work into books, dvd's, C.D's (OK and audio cassettes yes) Then I guess I owe the guy the courtesy of letting him educate me.

I hope I managed to hide the fact that somebody pushed one of my buttons lol.

A new contest you say @averageoutsider? In the enigmatic words of Arnie...

I'll be back!

with a mantra playing on an endless loop in my head...
Try not to write a book...;)

Nice to hear from you Steven, and thanks for interacting with other participants...oh, and the 'upvote' too, helping with the funding.

Fears are a kind of prison that confines you within a limited range of action. The less you fear, the more power you will have and the more fully you will live.
Accountability and transparency is my watchword

Hmmmnnnn...Seems I've read this somewhere else in the past????

We as a community should host more contests for steem basic income to get more people involved

People hosting more contests, would help encourage and support through sharing. Thanks @cryptojiang for your thoughts.

why not write a book ?

okay its 2am and i just got up but i think the best thing that could actually happen right now is someone coming up with an idea to make it attractive for winklevoss-class investors to buy a pile of the coin itself, THAT would benefit everyone, the whales too, but the small fry more, i just saw today for the first time i checked sbd used to stand at $15 usd, thats 5 times the value it has now, it was a peak, clearly dumped short after, i havent done time frame so my best guess would be it fell down on the bitcoin craze last year or something as money got shifted from one asset to another (but thats just a guess and irrelevant) ... people of that money level need incentive and you cant just sell them air, or else you'll have to wait until someone wins a settlement with facebook or google again and they go like "well, its not like we need the money so lets do something crazy"

that would be nice ... if someone could come up with a strategy that WORKS to get the price up, it would mean your vote is worth more, it would mean everything is worth more lol, but it would SURE as hell be followed by a dump from whales cashing out after waiting so long but usually in a case like that they wont sell until its below the original price so there should be a little bump at least, happy storming (is this a book cos this is about the shortes i can manage , EVER i think)
72.png

thats the people you need, believe you me or not, better them than morgan , so ... i don't speak bigmoney and i dont speak boardroom but i do know where it's at. This is a time for the wolf of steemstreet to shine ... polish that armani and sell it , you'll be a national hero in the borderless nation, hell i bet you get a statue on the frontpage lol

i'll leave the compassion and hugging to softer people with less knives in the back and stick with practicalities, maybe i'll heal one day, but i doubt that

huh ? thats an actual way to get steemit to advance ... if you know how to talk to big boys and you can sell it, then you're helping everyone, its just an idea ... what part is confusing ?

It starts with having respect for oneself and the others. Respect oneself by avoiding unnecessary tricks to get ahead and focus on what you are good at. Respect other's opinion it may not be the most popular but you can disgree gracefully if you can't avoid keeping quiet.

Thanks @noechie1827 for your input. have a happy day.

Great people help others become great like them

I have been thinking of running a contest for newbies but no sbd to sponsor it.

Title of contest Learn And Win
How It will work
I have done some posts to help newbies which has being of great help to me and also helping me to succeed on steemit.
So I intend helping newbies to succeed as well on the platform by making them read three old posts of mine so they can learn and here are the three posts

A DETAILED GUIDE TO HELP NEWBIE FROM MY ONE MONTH DEEP EXPERIENCE AND STUDY--PART 2

A DETAILED GUIDE TO HELP NEWBIE FROM MY ONE MONTH DEEP EXPERIENCE AND STUDY--PART 1

FOLLOW FOR FOLLOW, ANY USEFULNESS?

Now they have to read the three posts and then make a post of their own of not less than 400 words explaining what they learnt from the posts they read and what they have being doing that they discover it was wrong.
The contest to run every month so that those who participated in the last one must have gone beyond 40 Rep so that there will be fresh people to also take part in the contest the next month.
Am looking at 10sbd or less giveaway or #steembasicincome

Rules of the game
1 They must resteem the the contest post
2 Upvote not necessary but they can still give it.
3 They must include the three posts links in their post.
4 Their reputation must fall within 25 to 40
5 post their link as a comment to the contest post.

Too many 'rules'...I'm for simplicity my friend...

Oh ok. Just to help others benefit as well. That's what brought the rules

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57709.05
ETH 3100.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33