How does being a "steemian" make you feel? Great prizes for the 3 best answers!

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

I want to ask you all a question and while this is specifically aimed at those who have been around long enough to remember double-figure SBD prices, I also want this post to be of use to the newer members of steemit.

HOW DOES BEING A STEEMIAN MAKE YOU FEEL?

Screenshot_2018-07-25 Feelings Images · Pixabay · Download Free Pictures.png
pic source

Now there will be prizes for the best answer and this will be explained at the end, but first I would like to explain how steemit makes me feel and why...


Screenshot_2018-07-25 Mistakes Images · Pixabay · Download Free Pictures.png
It wasn't too long ago that I re-inserted myself into the steem blockchain, under the new name @article61. I would have used my original profile(@dogtanian), but after a fruitless search for my passwords I had to give up and start again. My efforts have since been rewarded and this has been down to perseverance and learning from mistake, after mistake, after mistake.

pic source

I am the proverbial bull and I have blundered around all parts of steemit. Even my introduction post is lacking the vital tag, #introduceyourself... Not the greatest of starts I could have made.

I've always learned things in my own way and have always retained a rebellious streak against any form of authority. Maybe my journey would have been easier if I would have read the instructions, but it just isn't me. I am impatient and impulsive, in equal measures, but I am honest and have good intentions.


bilderberg tease.jpg
I am also very stubborn and I believe it is the latter that is the reason I have managed to find success on this fledgling platform. I have always concentrated most of my posts to be about exposing injustices around the world and especially in the UK. I initially came here to alert people to my own cause, but since spending an incredible amount of time here I now see that others have valid points to make and I might just have to earn my place at the table.

So that is what I did and I just kept on writing. It didn't matter if the content was personal or just a throw-away article, made to invoke a cheap-laugh, I just new that I had to keep my profile active and stay in touch with those around me.

I enjoy writing and it helps to clear my mind of all the negativity that I am forced to absorb, while being held captive in this "civilised society". Because of this passion to expose the truth I have had plenty to write about and in the early days steem and SBD was trading at around $1. This meant that my early payouts were worth anything from 0 cent, all the way to 35cents. I always remember when I received that 35c vote and the feeling is still the same today.

Recognition, finally!

Or is it...? Soon after this magnificent payout, my posts regained their original covert status, picking up random votes here and there. But then, after a few more weeks of persistent blogging, everything changed and I earned the respect of a very influential and generous friend.

Fortunately for me, this all happened when SBD climbed to $15!!!

$15 dollars!!!! And this was at the point when I had been invited to write for a community that had the support of what I knew to be known as a "whale"...

For the next few months I was being paid hundreds of dollars for each post I wrote and in my defense I have always put the work in. I take much pride in all the posts I write and most of the articles I write for this generous community take me several days to complete. Times were good and this stroke of luck had allowed me to dig myself out of the financial mess I was in. Because of this, I will always have a place in my heart for this special community and will do my best to support their cause.

As I was saying, things were going very well, but, unfortunately, this is the moment when many of us got a little too carried away with the way things were going and a little too accustomed to the high price of SBD.

To cut a long story short, I quit my job and went full-time on the steam-train and for the next 2 months this is how I felt...


For those of you lucky enough to have been around at this time, I want to take a moment to remember those incredibly exciting times. I can only speak from my-own perspective and at this point I had not even worked out how to trade. Once I had realised that SBD was at a high-point I began looking for exchanges. Unfortunately, this was around the time that most sites went into meltdown and all I seemed to come across was...

..."Sorry but we are not taking on new registrations at the moment"

In the end I had to use the original crypto exchange that I already had, named 'Cryptopia'. At this point I was able to release the epic value of my SBD and finally enter the world of crypto-trading. BTC was sitting pretty and 1 SBD was still bringing in $12 to $10 dollars. With a large helping of beginners luck, I managed to make some pretty good investments and it seemed like every coin I invested in just turned to gold...

But then it all changed in what seemed to feel like the blink of an eye and I was left feeling a bit like this...

It was the beginning of 2018 and was a year that had somehow earned the title " The year of the crypto". Ha! Well that is one one way of putting it I suppose and nobody ever made the point to clarify whether this "year of the crypto" was referencing a positive or a negative.

As we all now know, 2018 has been the mother of all fuck-ups and I am glad that I am not putting my own money into this game. While the going was good I managed to dig myself out of a financial hole, but my optimism led me to lose a large portion of the crypto I had amassed.

Back to square one

So with nothing but the smell of a few thousand pounds still wafting in the air, like a ruined prawn every time you open the fridge, I expected to feel the steem begin to cool within me...but that feeling never came and I found myself enjoying steemit in the same way as I had at the beginning. I mean I had started with nothing and found the site to be fascinating, so why should I care that I now came back to the same point? The truth is that I didn't care and I carried on doing what I have always done.

I post, therefore I am

I'm glad I came to steemit when I did. My $1 starting point has given me a well-rounded perspective and tempered my expectations to a safe level. I now consider myself a die-hard steemian and I am certain that I have now earned my stripes. I owe much of my success to a few select people and if they read this post they will know who they are. Some of them have great voting-power and others not so much, but you don't get along here if all you want is money...

Steemit is a community and the sooner you come to this realisation, the happier your time will be. Earning SBD is great, but it is a bonus and to think otherwise can lead you down a very steep path. I wish everybody every success while here, but take note that no matter what the price of steem and SBD there will always be people who will remain faithful. To me this means that steemit has a heart and it is us faithful steemians who keep it beating. Here we share experiences and differences, all without the drama. A few flags get waved but generally we keep ourselves in order and all with no one titled as "our leader".

I think they call that Anarchy incarnate ;)

So to keep this love-train rolling along the tracks I want to ask you...

..."How does being a steemian make you feel?"

Please post a comment or a gif in the comments section and I will give 2 SBD to 3 winners!!

This will then be paid in the form of entry to the @familyprotection silver raffle.

Screenshot_2018-07-24 Investigation - Child Sexual Abuse in the Anglican Church - Public Hearing - Peter Ball case study - [...].png

It would be great if you would re-steem and/or up-vote this post, but it is not a requirement to enter the contest.

Thanks very much for reading and I wish you all well. PTYAY

Written by Rebel Dan

All gifs sourced from giphy.com

Sort:  

Being a steemian makes me feel a kind of a hero, the first set of people to ever taste the power of a decentelised social media blockchian, you get it. Like after fourty years from now am gonna tell my son i was one of the first people to ever use it. My son will give me that interstellar out of space look. Ill smaile bavk at him.

Secomdly, here i get to horn my writing skills a lot.

Great answer, that made me smile. "interstellar look" lol.

feels like I'm part of a future industry. greez s. error

Me too and maybe this is our chance to be like the folks in on bitcoin before it all went mental. We ain't really got anything to lose.

lets hodl strong ma nizzl. good chance it will go to 100$ per steem. will follow u

HAHA! Yes certainly will "ma nizzl" $100 would make me more than happy.

look at these dapps they are creating before even the smts came out. with appics we will have new kind of people in the steem blockchain, hipsters :v :D. and there will be more proyects born here, fast, because of the exchange of information like nowhere else

Yes, lots to look forwards to :)

Ha, you always come up with awesome things. I might just post for this one.

Don't need to win anything but I just like to talk about my Steemit journey LOL. Great stuff!

Please do, I would like to hear your take on things as you are someone who was here the same time as me.

While I'm not looking to win any prizes, it must have been good when SBD was $15 each and I'm looking forward to the good times returning.

As someone who has only seen the 'dire times' and taken advantage of the low prices by powering up, then if it happens again I'm guessing it will be like taking an ecstasy pill.

Keep on stacking them chips buddy! I can't wait fore the day when I turn on the laptop and find steem had had a massive jump. I will be grinning for a month :D
As least you know the score before it rises, I had no idea and missed a big power-up window because at the time sbd was $15 and steem was around $5, i think. I should have been trading one for the other but didn't. I won't make that mistake again. Looking forwards to sharing the celebrations with you all one day.

It makes me feel like I'm screaming into a void that screams back sometimes.

It makes me feel like
I'm screaming into a void
That screams back sometimes.

                 - tigerlily321


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

also sometimes I speak in haiku and don't even know it, which is cool.

haikubot in love @tigerlily321 :v , s. error

Haha! Very familiar feeling. Are you involved in any discord communities?

Yes, a couple.. my bad though, I'm not very active in them

They have their faults but I do enjoy spending time chatting directly to folks. PAL is my favourite as the radio shows are top-notch.

ooh I'm actually on PAL ha, yeah they were really nice when I first started

I'm on that discord group even.. see i'm just rubbish at new tecchy things, I just like writing stuff ha

Yes they are a good bunch and lots of fun. It has taken me away from writing a little but the trade is worth it. I have decided to try concentrate on my blogging page though and this question popped into my head today.

I suppose I feel simultaneously empowered and exhausted. Most could relate right? :)

I can only speak for myself, but I share your thoughts. steemit has only enriched my life and my-own exhaustion came with my attention to payouts. Now I have stopped thinking about the price of sbd/steem, it seems to have enhanced things again. I love the excitement of what could be and watching the ideas coming from steemit, like steem monsters and steem pool and steem poker, we have a lot to be excited about. Thanks for your thoughts @jameszenartist.

Being steemian makes me feel radiant with happiness, finally I have the possibility to many people who need it, my country is going through a terrible economic crisis and thanks to steemit my social help project @oneopportunity has been able to be carried out by your post with the support of many steemians who support my work, in the end that the less privileged have seen a bit of hope thanks to the good hearts of many people here, and of course to the work we do from our team.

On the other hand it makes me feel free financially I can help my family and lighten the economic burden to my mother, single mother for 5 years. Helping with the greater financial burden of this home sustaining a decent life and with good nutrition despite the situation of the country.
A giant hug I am happy to see your progress in steemit!
love for your daughter.

Now that is a welcome change and hopefully one that will grow and grow. Thank you for this reply @carlagonz and I will come check-in on your project asap :)
Best wishes to you and your family.

Thanks for reply, i think you are a great person grettings ❤️🌻
My friend the "green armour bettle" Say bye too. 😅😅

lol say hi and give him a drink from me :) Hope you are ok @carlagonz

Hello @article61, I would like to read all your triumphs and successes in this platform, that is why those of us who are in a growth phase, follow and learn. Thank you.
From Steemit, I have developed other opportunities that I had not experienced before, that is why more than a new job is a hobby for me.

Thanks very much for the compliments and also for the reply to the question. That has been one of my favourite side-effects of being on steemit, doors open up all over the place :) Funny pic too.

Partly it makes me feel proud and cool to be an early adopter of a new , cutting edge technology, partly (because previously I have never used social media or blogs in a regular way) I am feeling weird and a sort of addicted. A part in my brain asks me, why the hell I spend so much time on Steemit.

I wasn't a fan of social media, but I have to admit I used it. I know what you mean about being addictive and it feels like swapping one addiction for another. If steemit didn't open so many opportunities I would be suspicious but seem the good will is still the driving force. Thanks for your reply and I hope to see you around in years to come :)

Right thoughts you have @article61, and set them cool

flagged for comment spam @steemflagrewards

surikowstepanuk is a spam-comment-bot pls don't upvote him

Steem Flag Rewards mention comment has been approved! Thank you for reporting this abuse, @mathowl categorized as comment spam. This post was submitted via our Discord Community channel. Check us out on the following link!
SFR Discord

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43