You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Got Upvotes? WEEKLY GIVEAWAY #7 [Get upvotes on all your posts for a week]

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

Oh, my dear you picked the tough one although it might not seem like that at first glance.

OK - I could play a smart blond and pick one of those official definitions like the most common one that would show up in Google like...

the state of being free within society from oppressive restrictions imposed by authority on one's way of life, behavior, or political views

Although it's basically true it's still too narrow for me. On the other hand, I can agree a lot with @lastravage as there is not absolute liberty or freedom for anyone on this earth, including me.

No matter if those barriers, chains or even cages are forced upon us by society, government, family or we have been imprisoned by ourselves, unfortunately they exist in our lives way more than any kind of liberty.

Therefore, we are happy when we can grab even the smallest part of that huge idea. For me, sometimes and in some circumstances it would mean to punch some jerks in the middle of their arrogant face. Next time it would mean to choose my working hours and days off without any strings attached.

Some other time, it would mean not being limited by my pocket depth and available money for, e.g. buying a plane ticket to visit my son. But some days it would mean just not being obligated to answer anyone's questions about anything.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Google's definition is too wrong and as you said,narrow. It is not about how others treat you, it is how you treat others.
People always look at it how others restrict me, but it should be looked the other way.
It comes do to individuality at the end, and what one thinks of himself as a person in society.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60791.78
ETH 2917.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34