The King of the chessboard, the teacher of the classsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #contest7 years ago

The following is an entry to this competition https://steemit.com/contest/@steemit-virus/steemit-virus-contest-8-awarding-creativity based on the following prompt:


Image taken from https://steemit.com/contest/@steemit-virus/steemit-virus-contest-8-awarding-creativity

I work teenagers as a mentor and a teacher to them. I not only teach them academically, but the system is so that I have to follow up with them on a regular basis. I always saw my role as a king on a chess board. I don't see my position as a king that needed protection, but a general of sorts, directing my students to success.

In my class there were very capable students, they were my knights, my queen, winning competitions and scoring the best results in the class. I had also bishops and rooks that helped me charge forward, helping me with events of the class and keeping the class morale up.

And then there were the pawns. The ones that were insignificant, the ones that were deemed expandable.

Or so they say.. As the king, the leader, the teacher of my class, it is my duty to get them to the opposite of he chess board, to change these pawns into bishops, rooks, knights and even a queen.

The same happened with 2 of my pawns. One pawn by the name of Adam was accused of cheating. But I knew Adam, just because he was from a bad family doesn't mean that he was not an honorable man. So I defended him and true enough he was framed for something he did not commit. The people in charge did not bother listening to Adam's side of the story and punished him without much investigation. This pawn has gone on to be a creative director of a company. He has reached the other side of the chess board and transformed from a pawn to a bishop. Now he moves a company in a creative direction.


Image taken from https://goo.gl/images/DCE4dh

I had another pawn, Daniel who was not financially blessed but brilliant academically. When the time came for him to further his studies. He did not have the means. I contributed some of my savings, which was enough to get him into university. That entrance into university helped him secure a scholarship. Daniel has now turned from a pawn to a knight, doing extremely well academically.

My intention of writing so is not to shout of how great I am but for us to always remember the pawns. Often times, it is easy to ignore the pawns because of the bishops, the knights the ones who are more charismatic in class or among the people that we are leading. It is difficult to see the good in the loud, the poor and the ones who did not have a head-start in life. It is the job of the teacher to see that and from there, guide the students towards realizing their potential no matter their background.

Before I end, I have one final word about the king on the chessboard. Do you know why you can never sacrifice the king to win a chess game? That's because the moment the king is taken, all the other chess pieces fall with the king. If the teacher is taken, the class falls with the teacher. However, if the teacher decides to make a difference, the class rises and does well because of that teacher.

For those who are out there teaching, you matter, you are important, now bring your side of the chess, your class to victory.

Dedicated to all the teachers out there. You are doing an amazing job.


Image taken from https://goo.gl/images/Sf5jLW

Sort:  

You are a good man alvin. Not everyone us blessed financially but even they deserve a chance. Education frees us from poverty.

Thanks! truth be told, I was more blessed than he was, nothing beats seeing tears of joy. It was painful coughing out the money, but I'm glad I did.

I think in all cases the giver benefits more than the receiver. Chicken soup 4 d soul.

Lovely Story Man,really encouraging.

Thank you, glad to hear that =)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @alvinauh to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

This post is upvoted by Polsza for 85 %.
If you want help us growing upvote this comment.
Thanks !

This post has received a 1.98 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @alvinauh. Send at least 0.50 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

This post has received a 0.39 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58431.17
ETH 2653.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44