Constrained Writing Contest #21 + Winners of Constrained Writing Contest #20

in #constrainedwriting6 years ago (edited)

constrained writing contest.jpg


Most writing contests give you a writing prompt or at least a couple of words to work your idea around, which is why I decided to host a slightly different contest.


A constrained writing contest

Instead of being given an idea or a writing prompt, you are allowed to choose the topic completely by yourself. But, varying from week to week, you will face different challenges that limit your writing.

You will be required to omit certain words, use a specific word in every second sentence, use a given sentence unchanged, write a story with a certain amount of words... or a combination of all.


Winners of constrained writing contest #20

The winners of this week’s Constrained Writing Contest are:

svashta’s note: As with all your stories, @spalatino, you managed to really get all the character traits of Gandalf right. An old, wise man who is a local legend (has great respect). I thoroughly enjoy your stories for the character development - and of course the story itself also! I love how you also included his relative - and how you made Grey's words very, very powerful. Robert is, indeed, a name fit for a king. And Bob isn't. :D

svashta’s note: As I already mentioned in the comment on the story itself, I believe there's too much unnecessary violence all around us. Physical, mental, ... ... you name it. It's like we forgot that we're all... human. Who could work together toward great things, not against each other toward nothing but rage and terror. I believe you captured the feel of Don Vito Corleone excellently with the family aspect. That man was all about his family.

@svashta’s overall note: It would appear this week's constraint was too big a challenge and we only had 2 entries. I have tuned down the difficulty for this week to see if difficulty was indeed the issue here.

Proof of payment:



With that out of the way, onto constrained writing contest #21!


Rules:

Last week there were sadly only two entries. I suspect it was because the constraint was very hard, so this week I'm coming up with something much easier!

Here are the rules I've come up with for this week;

  • Write a story where your character(s) can only see 2 colours and don't know any other colour exists. They can be different for each character.
  • White and black count as colours.
  • The story must be at least 250 words long and in English

And as for the usual mumbo jumbo, here's the rest of the rules just about every contest has:

  • Upvote this post
  • Post a link to your entry in the comments below
  • Include tag #constrainedwriting among your other tags
  • Should you wish to help raise awareness of the contest, please consider resteeming this post (it is by no means compulsory)

Prizes

I will pay out this post's payout in full, both SBD and STEEM!


  • 1st place: 45% of post's payout
  • 2nd place: 27% of post's payout
  • 3rd place 18 % of post's payout
  • Judge takes 5 % for his/her efforts
  • I will take 5 % for hosting, writing and editing the contest

*Note: In case I receive any donations for the contest, the payout percentages apply to the donation itself as well.


Judges

This week I am the judge of the Constrained Writing Contest I am responsible for picking the winners on my own discretion, but I promise to try my best and be as objective as possible.

What's that I hear? You wish to be a judge too? Well look no further!
To apply for a judge and make up your own rules, simply send @svashta a hearty hello on steemit.chat.

*Disclaimer: I will only allow fellow writers as judges to keep the competition high quality.


Deadline

  • Entries are accepted until this post's payout
  • Your entry post must be newer than this post

Good luck!


Svashta_gif.gif

Sort:  

I'm surprised so few last week. I will do this one. Last week I was painting instead of writing. 20180307_143038.jpg

Holy damn! This is pretty cool!
Can't argue now when your painting is that good! :D

Hope to see you participate again soon though! :D

heeee [shy smile] thank you. This one's not for sale but I do sell. This is my hubby's birthday present.

I will write shortly.

Very beautiful painting and very creative. I love it!

Thank you. Appreciated. I posted on here a little video of start to end. Look me up and you'll find it.

Thank for the award @svashta - really a tough prompt this week, but that is one of the reasons I always participate in this contest, it is really original and often it gets me out of my comfort zone. You make me think outside the box. Thank you for that. Continue giving us original and interesting prompts and tasks. Excellent contest.

It's exactly the reason I started this contest - to get you out of the comfort zone and try yourself at something new, so I am very, very, very happy to hear you like it! :D

It makes me think outside the box.

YASSSSS! :D That's what it's all about! :D

Thank you very much for participating in each contest! It means a lot to me! It's always a joy to read your stories! <3
And thanks for the kind words! After this week's low participation, I needed some positive feedback ^^"

Don't think about this week too much. This is a great stuff you are creating here, and it really shows how you invest time in each story, every week. A bad week came, so what, never mind. Get back up in the saddle. Like life steemit experience is a rollercoaster

You are so very right! Thank you very much for these words! :D And all your efforts! :D

A rollercoaster indeed. :3

Hi Svashta, Fellow Steemians
My entry is here. Is it #20 or #21? I'm confused. My link is 20 but title is 21 to cover all bases.

A couple of hours research and divine inspiration I get this.
It's here: https://steemit.com/constrainedwriting/@suzanrs/colour-blind-constrained-writing-20-entry

Enjoy.

Oooooh, it's 21 :p I messed the numbers, Ooooops. :3 Editing some more now. haha Thanks!

Ah right. Well i listed it as 20 to start with but edited to 21. The link should still take you to the right place. I really loved this one :)

Resteemed, in the hope you get more entrants this time. :)

[Deleted]

Thank you so very much! :D

Snap! Thank you! Fixed it now! :D

Thanks for seeing to it!

Thanks! It's contest #21. The prior was #20, not #22. It's also correctly listed as #21 in my List ;-)

Yeah, I... was counting up, instead of down, haha :D Ooooopss!
Fixed it now! :D Thanks for pointing it out :D

Thank you for this! :D

@moneyinfant has added your contest to the list Steemit Writing Contests: Issue #42. The list is updated on a daily basis and your contest will remain on the list until its expiration - there's nothing you need to do.

The list was created to save writers the excessive amount of time spent searching through the #contest tag for writing contests. Now they can just come to the list each day, see new contests and use their time doing what they love - writing.

If you'd like to help spread the word about the Steemit Writing Contest List I'd really appreciate a resteem, but it certainly isn't necessary. The project is simply meant to help writers save time and contest creators attract more contestants.

P.S. If you know of any contests I've missed I'd love to hear about them. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57020.43
ETH 3081.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41