Walking Away - A Short Story - Constrained Writing Contest #17

in #constrainedwriting6 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for the Constrained Writing Contest #17. You can find out more here.

Walking Away.jpg

Present Day

“Maggie? Maggie can you tell me where you are?” a feminine voice asks.

My eyes open to a bright room. The light burns them as I try to look around. My sight is obstructed and it feels as though my eyes are protruding from my skull. Pains shoot back and forth across my abdomen. I try to speak, but my mouth is dry, swollen and my throat is sore.

“Here take a sip of water,” she says.

“A hospital?”

“Yes, Maggie, you are at St. Vincent's Hospital.” She sits down on the edge of the bed, “Do you remember what happened?”

Two Days Ago

“Honey, I'm home!” I hollar through the darkened apartment, lit only by the light at the entrance. I set my keys in the bowl on the table by the door. I move to the kitchen, flip on the light and set my bag of groceries on the counter. “Honey?” I open the refrigerator to place the chilled carton of eggs inside when I notice a note under a magnet.

Walking Away_2.jpg

I stand with the note in one hand while I rub my rounded belly with the other. A sigh slips past my lips as I start cooking dinner. I make enough for Ron in case he decides to show up. After putting away my dishes, I plop down on the couch and prop up my swollen feet while I catch up on my shows.

10:00 pm, still no Ron.

I can hear a set of keys jingling loosley in the hall. I stare at the door waiting to see if it opens. The door across the hall slams shut. Not him. I turn the TV off and head to bed. I lay in bed, finding it difficult to sleep. I hope he is in a better mood when he gets home.

It's 2 am and I can hear a noise, but I'm too tired to open my eyes. I can tell it's the squeak of the front door. I hear it latch as it shuts and the tumbler of the deadbolt as it locks. Next, the creak of the floor gives away his location in the hall. The door to the bedroom opens and the light from the hall fills the room. I open my eyes long enough to see a dark figure standing in the doorway. With my eyes closed again I ask, “Ron? Did you have fun with the guys?” No answer. I open my eyes except this time the figure stands over me. My eyes widen as he grabs my neck. I clench at his grip as I gasp for air. I receive a solid punch to the abdomen that knocks the breath out of me. In that moment, his hand around my throat loosens and I can smell the familiar cologne tainted with the smell of scotch. I'm thrown from the bed to the floor as a heavy object is beating me in my face.

“No! Please stop! Please! You are hurting m-.” My voice drifts off and so does my consciousness.

SM Page Break.png

I start to hear rustling around. There is a beeping noise somewhere behind me. Every now and then I can hear voices, but they aren’t talking to me.

I open my eyes to the sound of a nurse calling my name. Do I remember what happened?

“Yes.” Suddenly my memory comes rushing back, “My baby, where is my baby?” I say as I try to sit up in bed, feeling for my bloated stomach.

“I'm sorry Maggie, we weren't able to save him. We tried, but we were too late,” says the nurse.

I start hyperventilating into my palms, catching my warm tears on the blanket below.

The nurse hugs me, “It will be okay Maggie.”

In walks Ron, “Oh, Maggie you're awake!” he leans over and kisses me on my cheek. The familiar stench of cologne thick on his collar makes me nauseous. “We were so worried about you. The neighbor across the hall found you in the stairwell.”

“Ron, would you run do-, down to the cafeteria and get me a coffee?”

“Absolutely. I will be back in a moment.”

The nurse gets up to leave, but I grab her by the sleeve and pull her back down on the bed. “I’m not sure what he told you, but he did this to me while I was sleeping. Please call the police.”

Her mouth gapes open. Taking my hand she says, “I will call them right away. When he comes back, just act normal so he doesn’t leave.” I nod to show her I understand and she leaves the room on her mission.

Two Years Later

“Welcome to the Domestic Violence seminar. Currently in the US, 70% of all domestic violence events, go unreported every year. Today we want to teach you how to spot the signs of domestic violence, so you can help someone that may be caught up in a bad relationship. Please help me by welcoming our first speaker, Maggie Hines.”

Page Breaker.png

From the Author

Everyday, domestic violence goes unreported. It’s not just women who are the victims, it is also men. If you know of someone that is involved in a bad relationship, reach out to them and try to get them help. Most often, they are too afraid to tell anyone for fear of making their situation worse. Things will never be better until they are in a safe place. Here are the signs that someone is a victim of domestic violence:

  • Bruises or other injuries that look like they came from being choked or hit.
  • Trying to hide bruises with makeup.
  • Having only a few close friends.
  • Having to ask permission to see or speak to other people.
  • Being apologetic or showing signs of low self-esteem.
  • Having a drug or alcohol problem.
  • Exhibits symptoms of depression.
  • Has attempted suicide or talks about suicide

The source for the signs of domestic violence can be found here.

Footer2.png

Sort:  

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Dear God what a sad story.. hope you can help all women in that situation, I’m from Venezuela and here there is a lot of domestic violence. I’ll restemm and follow your blogs. Regards

Thanks @anabellaelvir. The story I have written is fictional, however for many people it becomes all too real. Following you back. :)

Wow amazing, great Job.. I’ll invite you to read my post, I wrote what happened with me my husband and children. Regards

That's too bad this ended like it did. So many times it ends in death.

Thank you for sharing.

This is a very good story about a very bad situation.
I'm happy she was at last saved from such a relationship and am sure better things await! Also very happy to hear she was then reaching out and helping other people with similar problems.

Thank you very much for your entry!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97