Constrained Writing Contest #17 + Winners of Constrained Writing Contest #16

in #constrainedwriting6 years ago (edited)

constrained writing contest.jpg


Most writing contests give you a writing prompt or at least a couple of words to work your idea around, which is why I decided to host a slightly different contest.


A constrained writing contest

Instead of being given an idea or a writing prompt, you are allowed to choose the topic completely by yourself. But, varying from week to week, You will face different challenges that limit your writing.

You will be required to omit certain words, use a specific word in every second sentence, use a given sentence unchanged, write a story with a certain amount of words... or a combination of all.


Winners of constrained writing contest #16

This week I myself was the sole judge of the contest and picked the winners at my own discretion.

This week we had 16 writers join us by submitting their entries! I am very happy to see the contest grow in size and reputation, and to be able to read all the stories you've come up with! I sense there are many great things to come!

Although most of you made your story either begin sad and end happy or begin happy and end sad, some of you didn’t quite make the existential question stand out the way I asked it to. I have therefore decided to pick the winners based on how well they incorporated both constraints into their stories – both the sad/happy contrast, as well as the existential question that stuck with the reader long after he was finished with the story.

The contest rules only allow for 3 winners, and to say I had a hard time picking would be an understatement. But, I clenched my butt and made the decisions.
Here they are, the winners of this week’s Constrained Writing Contest:

Judge’s note: In life we always thrive for more, more, more… We’re greedy as a species. Your story perfectly captures the desire for money and fame, the illusion of having everything at your disposal… And it perfectly captures the other side of all that.
For once we do acquire the fame and fortune, once we achieve our materialistic goals… where to then?
Everything loses meaning, you get stuck with having everything and nothing at the same time, and all you’re left with is a memory – a projection of the past. A memory of the time before.
A memory of that burning desire you felt then, but no longer feel.

Judge’s note: When I began reading your story I had no idea what to expect, and the plot hit me harder than a train. Very well done!
In your story you showed us very clearly how far people are prepared to go not to lose what they once had, and further still, how far they are prepared to go when lust and greed blur their judgement.

Judge’s note: In your story you told us how little materialistic goods and money matter. How little the "image" of ourselves that we portray to others matters. How sad it is that we hide behind masks, and how little they actually matter.
Because as hard as we try to keep up this illusion in front of others, when the end comes and the masks fall, we see what truly matters. Your character, for instance, never let anyone near her - so as not to compromise her public appearance. But at the same time, this made her completely alone, and she believed she was saved simply because she had finally made a friend.
We, humans, are social creatures. There's no way around that. ^.^

Congratulations to the winners!

Honorable mentions in alphabetical order:

I would like to point out that the above entries were absolutely amazing! It breaks my heart I couldn't award all of them!

Please check out all the entries, they're all well worth your time! :D

Proof of payment:



With that out of the way, onto constrained writing contest #17!


Rules:

This week I am proud to announce we have a guest judge joining us! Give a round of applause for @metzli!

She’s got quite the creative mind when it comes to ideas, and more than fiction, she enjoys a good real-life experience – in the form of a story, of course.

Here are the rules she has come up with for this week;

  • Write a story about learning (something new) without using a school setting, church setting, or parent/child interactions.
  • The story must be at least 250 words long and in English

And of course the usual mumbo jumbo:

  • Upvote this post
  • Post a link to your entry in the comments below
  • Include tag #constrainedwriting among your other tags
  • Should you wish to help raise awareness of the contest, please consider resteeming this post (it is by no means compulsory)

Prizes

I will pay out this post's payout in full, both SBD and STEEM!


  • 1st place: 45% of post's payout
  • 2nd place: 27% of post's payout
  • 3rd place 18 % of post's payout
  • Judge takes 5 % for his/her efforts
  • I will take 5 % for hosting, writing and editing the contest

*Note: In case I receive any donations for the contest, the payout percentages apply to the donation itself as well.


Judges

This week the judge of the Constrained Writing Contest is @metzli, and she is responsible for picking the winners on her own discretion, but she promises to be as objective as possible.

What's that I hear? You wish to be a judge too? Well look no further!
To apply for a judge and make up your own rules, simply send @svashta a hearty hello on steemit.chat.

*Disclaimer: I will only allow fellow writers as judges to keep the competition high quality.


Deadline

  • Entries are accepted until this post's payout
  • Your entry post must be newer than this post

Good luck!


Svashta_gif.gif

Sort:  

@metzli are you looking for fiction or nonfiction?

Congrats to the winners!

Hi!

Here's my entry. Finally. (This time I don't miss the deadline :D)

Well, it's a 32 pages read at the moment.

(I'm just writing it in a print manuscript formatted file. 1500 characters per page. Courier 10 Pitch is such a nice font. Easier to read; I recommend it.)

It should be at 40 pages in an hour or two and then ready to be judged.

Next week it'll just be chapters 3-4. Might illustrate future parts. As time permits.

(30 minute rough sketch of a character)

Holy smokes! :D I'll go get myself a cup of coffee and have a read :D

Revised some sentences, and corrected typos, before editing expired.

Including the concluding sentences.

Now it's more or less done and has clearly somewhere to go for chapter 3, III, 4, IV.

Visiting now :)

Wow Great turn out last contest!!!! Congratulations to the winners. I might make it this week, I might not- no telling :)

Hopefully you do! ;D

Thank you for the prize. I really enjoyed taking on the challenge and I am so glad that you liked it. I got some great reviews in the comments and hope to try again for the next one. Some of the other stories were so good that I'm sure @metzli will have a tough choice ahead of her for this one.

You deserved all the great comments! It was a fantastic story indeed! :D

Oh boy, so many were good I was gritting my teeth hard picking the winners haha :D I'm somewhat relieved I can just read through the entries without making these crucial decisions this week! :D

I'll be very happy if you decide to join again! :D

I’ll be reading them all and keeping notes ❤️❤️

Thank you so much! I'm thrilled this piece won because I thoroughly enjoyed writing it. :D Thank you for the prize as well!

And congrats to all the winners and freewriters. Looking forward to everybody's entry this week. :)

Very happy to hear you enjoyed writing it! :D I was very happy to read it ^^ And the prize... well deserved! ^^

Hopefully you decide to participate again! :D

Will sure do!

Thank you for the warning. Reading it now.

Hi there. This comment is to let you know that your contest has been included in @moneyinfant's [Steemit Writing Contests: Issue #11](Steemit Writing Contests: Issue #11 February 5, 2018). The list is updated on a daily basis and your contest will remain on the list until its expiration - there's nothing you need to do.

The list was created to save writers the excessive amount of time spent searching through the #contest tag for writing contests. Now they can just come to the list each day, see new contests and use their time doing what they love - writing.

If you'd like to help spread the word about the Steemit Writing Contest list I'd really appreciate a resteem, but it certainly isn't necessary. The project is simply meant to help writers save time and contest creators attract more contestants.

Have a Steemy Day!

P.S. If you know of any contests I've missed I'd love to hear about them. Thanks!

Thank you!

Thank you very much for including the Constrained writing contest! :D

You're very welcome!

Should the something new be based on a "lesson learnt" or be based on how to do something or how something works

Hmmm, Your character(s) has to learn something (new). :p It's up to you what that is. So if you do it right, whichever of the three you mentioned work ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73