Opening Up To Our Isolation

in #connection6 years ago (edited)

pexels-photo-374777.jpeg
source

Isolation and Connection

Today was one of those days where my mind suggested a fair few things to me. Things along the lines of - hey this person is a jerk, and that person is being thoughtless. My mind actually had a few about me aswell. This is how silly I look, and this is how I should be somewhere else and not where I am right now. This is how I am inferior, this is a mistake I made, this should actually be like that, and so on.

There was a possibility today to go with those thoughts, but a kind of feeling made me hold back, ignore it and keep going. As the hours passed my mind and my moods changed. Light heartedness came, even as I got down on my hands and knees to scrape ancient black doughy residue off the bakery floor.

We all have this mind thing, and it says a lot of stuff. When I am balanced and buoyant I don't waste a second sorting thoughts out. But when I am tired or going through change, that is when mind takes the opportunity to isolate me and make me feel powerless. The fundamental thing is mind, it's not all the conditions and the world and the people - it's our internal story and our opinion about those things.

divider-green-01.png

Mind can isolate us and cut our connections to life. Some of us will feel too inferior to connect in a balanced way, and others of us will feel that it would be a waste of our (superior being) time. If power is involved, and there's a hierarchy (even with just two levels - worthy and unworthy) then we know that isolation and separation have come into play. We know that we've gone along with one of minds projections about what life is, and we risk not sensing things honestly and openly.

I'm not speaking from a place of unwavering universal oneness, I am coming to you as a human being who gets tricked into dividing myself against other people every now and then. And I can see how the logic works, having been down that path so many times. We get hurt and we feel fear - then we internalize a response to try and avoid that feeling. The survival mind makes a strategy for outwitting the danger source.

Except there is no real danger source, not when it comes to interaction. We need to get past survival mode and connect from a place of equality, dropping our assumptions. For sure many people can potentially waste our time, or trick us and cheat us. But to start making generalizations and judgments is a slippery slope, eventually isolating us in a profound way.

divider-green-01.png

The 'bad people' of the world are not really bad people. They are actually people just like you and me, who have become closed off to life and connection. So you tell me what will have a real affect on an isolated person's life. Is it responding to them in a judgemental, agressive, or fearful way? Or is it responding with an openness that sees their humanity through all of that shit?

I have experimented with this as I move through my life. People will surprise you with how they open up, once you beam your unconditional attention on them. I won't lie that a lot of people will quickly look away, or will just stare blankly. But that is overwhelmingly outweighed by the people who can't help but smile back at you, who stop to dance and play. Or who simply send a message back to you in the sparkle in their eye - "Yes I am here, I am alive, I am connected".

It all comes back to mind, and an overly mental way of interacting with life. The human body actually has three main processing centres, biologically and energetically. If we listen to only certain parts of one of these centers then we miss out big time on potential connection. Is that a big deal? Yes it is. Because connection makes us feel great. Connection can be with our family and friends, strangers on the internet, just ourselves, or a still space inside us. A state of open-ness, which is a lack of opinions about how things have to be, will put you in a great space to be connected and just generally enjoy life.

divider-green-01.png

So why is this all relevant?

Is it some self help line I am spinning to you before I pitch my one on one coaching sessions? No I want to bring this up not only to add ease to our lives, but because this is potentially underpinning every major issue that humanity faces right now. It all boils down to a lack of connection.

How could it be that vast populations of people can be coerced into going against their basic humanity?

  • Lack of Connection

How can it be that we willingly or unwillingly agree to kill our fellow beings, human and otherwise?

  • Lack of Connection

How can it be that we don't enjoy each day, and submit to a grey misery of making a deeply flawed economy turn over?

  • Lack of Connection

And so on, and so forth. It boils down to us not being connected to each other as humans, and not being connected to our own vast consciousness on the existential level. This is in essense the evolution of consciousness taking place right now on planet earth. We figure out how to run things so that connection is endorsed by our ways of life. Disconnection currently rules a large chunk of our shared information, as if it's in someone interest to keep us afraid and divided. Why would that be? That is not the point of this post - this post is about suggesting that we do a lot better when deeply connected.

divider-purple-01.png

Disconnected was me depressed, disconnected was me trying to be worthy and not knowing I already was and can never not be. Disconnected was me seeking approval, disconnected was me not equating my habits to environmental destruction. Disconnection was me not seeing how my internal state affected everyone around me, and how they affected me.

Connection is the answer, connection to ourselves first and then from a place of balance we connect to life in all its majesty. It hurts when we are not used to being connected, that is called a heart opening. It hurts but we do it anyway because it's a great relief to feel again and simply be a piece of life without a backstory.

As our network of connection grows larger and larger, we engender a culture of support. And as we support each other, we each become more connected and sure of our connections. Don't underestimate the impact you have as a Steemit blogger, a community member, a co-worker, or just being that nice person that people see on the street. You are the shift in consciousness, this is 100% happening and I don't accept dull stories that say otherwise.

Sort:  

Many issues here, and I feel the most important is to connect with one's deeper self. For many people, that simple act of sitting alone meditating is one of the scariest things around - I'll have to write on an experiment that showed most people preferred to electrocute themselves than sit alone in a room! That is a frightening state for humanity to have reached - hyper-connected to an addictive stream of fake media yet disconnected from ourselves and, as a consequence, each other.

You have received an upvote (from @rycharde) and a resteem (from @accelerator) as part of the Minnows Accelerator Project.
You can see your entry here.
You have been added to the Fanbase on SteemAuto and will be supported with further upvotes for a few weeks.
You are also being followed by @accelerator and may receive further upvotes when your article is added to one of our curation posts.
All of this is free and part of MAP's mission to support quality content creators.
If you would like to participate in the MAP community, then come and have a chat at our discord "lounge room": https://discord.gg/rSVcWaH

Great post! Human connection is so important. I really appreciated what you said, that bad people really aren't bad people. I think so many people are fighting battles that we know nothing about which leads them to negative ideas and actions. Why fight negativity with negativity? We should try to give love, reconnect, and encourage people to have faith in humanity.

As always, thank you for your posts!

Thanks brit :) Yes it took me a while to integrate and live that one, I held on to my righteousness for quite a while :P

Trust me, I get it! I work on things every single day :) Have a great day!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61757.83
ETH 2905.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62