A PC Upgrade...

in #computers7 years ago

IMG_1782-2.jpg
Recently I upgraded my PC! I had been running an older custom AMD machine I built and had finally had enough so I bought some parts and put all this together!

DSCN4875.JPG

Powered by an i5 3570 @ 3.4 Ghz. I replaced the stock cooler with a Cooler Master Hyper 212 LED with two 120 mm PWM fans! I run 16 gigs of memory, a 500 gb 960 Evo m.2 nvme ssd with a 500 gb 7200 rpm HDD and a 4 tb 7200 rpm HDD. Loading Windows 10 Pro on the ssd gives lightning fast boot times, and the ability to double my memory. (Windows 10 Pro)

To help with the cooling in this fairly large case, I have 2 - 120 mm PWM fans and 1 - 140 mm PWM fan pulling air in. The I have 2 - 140 mm fans to vent out the top. I added a couple RGB light strips controlled via remote.

This is all run off of a 750 watt active pfc PSU which is supposed to regulate energy influxes. It is hidden inside a vented PSU shoud, and has an 80 mm fan inside for extra cooling as the HDD's are stored inside as well.

IMG_1772.JPG

The flagship of my rig, is an MSI 750 Ti OC which enables gaming at 1080p, on ultra settings a consistent 60 fps. The upside is that I now have a large enough case for when I purchase a 1080 Ti!

This PC has been working excellent for me and has been much faster than my older AMD PC. I also play all my games on ultra settings now! Cpu idles at 20 C and under full load, reaches close to 50 C. Gpu idles at 28 C and under full load sits around 43 C.

I have also seen my best Cinebench numbers yet on my own PC.

A note for others running benchmarks or stress tests. A stress test is a good way of ensuring all is working well together, and it ensures the thermal paste on your CPU is spread evenly. You can give a slight twist when installing cooler and have a look, but each time you lift the cooler, you chance air pockets and not transferring heat properly.
Beware, Aida64 has been known to burn up CPUs!

If you enjoyed this article,
Follow Logo.png

And...

Zoltrix Logo.png

All images are my own.

Sort:  

Hmmmmm...i thought the name of the game nowdays is

RYZEN

NO?

I'm undecided on Ryzen. Heard lots of good and bad. But I would like to build a Ryzen 7 build at some point when prices on the over-clockable chips come down a bit.

Hi, zoltrix! I just resteemed your post!
I can also re-steem and upvote some of your other posts


Curious? Check out @resteembot's' introduction post
PS: If your reputation is lower than 30 re-blogging with @resteembot only costs 0.001 SBD

Whatever @resteembot resteems, I resteem too!
I am a new, simple to use and cheap resteeming bot
I will automatically resteem posts resteemed by @resteembot until 2017-10-15 00:00:01 +00:00
If you want to read more about me, read my introduction post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61434.10
ETH 2474.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64