Laptop troubles

in #computer5 years ago (edited)

Hello friends. I hope you're having a good day. Mines not going great.

I've been having troubles with my laptop recently. The screen has started shaking, or really vibrating is a better description, everytime I start doing intensive processing or have it on for a long time. It gets so bad that looking at it causes me a headache, so it's not exactly usable. I've contacted Microsoft, as I have a Surface Pro 4 and they handle support. Luckily, as this is a known issue and a hardware problem, they're going to replace my laptop for me.

However, I have been having issues feeling confident about my backup. I've made many copies, and system images, and followed tutorials and other stuff. But for some reason, nothing I do brings me confidence that I'll be able to restore my new laptop. I don't know why I'm so terrified. I know all my created data will be safe, and mostly the issue will be reinstalling everything and getting my program settings back for code editors and Unity. I just can't shake my nerves.

I just underwent the reset process. It was very challenging to push that button. I've been using this laptop near daily since I got it 2 years ago, and am apparently way more attached than I knew. Maybe this restarting will be a good thing. That's one of the teaching of Buddhism I can really get beyond, that attachment causes emotional distress. I've learned how true that is many times.

Now, I just have to ship my laptop. Hopefully the UPS employees will speak English, and hopefully my packaging job will be secure enough.

This whole thing has been incredibly stressful. But I guess that comes with the territory of being in a foreign country where you can't speak the language and have no family or friends.

For the time being, I'll be using my phone and girlfriend's laptop for posting and writing. I intend to keep up my daily posts.

EDIT: It turned out to have gone pretty well. I went to a post office, and they gave me a free used box. I was able to protect my laptop with used paper and other packing things I already had around the house, and an awesome local print shop let me use their packing tape to seal it and attach the shipping label, for no charge. The print shop is awesome, and if you're ever in Budapest and need to print something, I highly recommend it. They have lizards and fish in the store, all of whom look well cared for.

Honestly, it's far an away the coolest print shop I've ever been to. I wish all of them were little jungles like this. It certainly made my day.


Part of being a member of the #ccc community is having this footer on my posts. If you'd like more information about what that is, check out @freedomshift, @team-ccc, or any of the links below.

This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)

AND

the latest update <<< please click to read.


Until next time,

Aloha

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I can totally relate with you. I remember very well the day my laptop's screen went from perfectly fine to displaying "TV screen snow" (if you can picture it out). Horrible.

And about your backup. As long as you know you've backed up your files properly and totally, nothing shall go wrong. Yep, we all know how our data is so precious nowadays! (doing offline and cloud storage)

And yes, I can also relate with "emotional attachment and distress". It's hard to let go of the things we love. :(((

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh yeah that sounds awful :/ I'm sorry to hear that happened.

Yeah, I backed up multiple times using multiple backup software systems, and put a copy of my system image onto a cloud storage system. I just can't shake the feeling something will go wrong.

I guess I was just surprised, because I wasn't aware how important my laptop was to me.

Posted using Partiko Android

I hope it all will work out fine. It is a hell of a job je re install everything again.
It gives me a bad mood. I gave up on it. Just a phone, stories saved (not every) wrote down which apps + Google knows.
I do not care any longer about what is lost. It is just a thing or idea or thought.

Kind of sneaky they know about the issue but do not contact their custumors

Posted using Partiko Android

I hope so too. It's currently on the way to the main warehouse. Once they get it and verify it's broken, they'll send me my new one. And then I have the task of reinstalling haha. I'm not looking forward to that.

That makes sense. I can see why chromebooks are so popular for doing basic computer stuff. Just let Google handle all of it.

Right? It's apparently fairly uncommon, so I guess maybe that's why. Or, it's intentional planned obsolescence, and they expect people to throw away the laptops instead of contacting them. Who knows with these Mega corporations anymore.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61785.67
ETH 2891.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54